We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A great family hotel. Rooms are spacious, clean, and well-appointed. Full cooked breakfast with many options included with the room. Nice pool area. Close to highway, shopping. Great value- but check around for the best price; the hotel's online reservation system quoted several in our group prices of ~$450 per night. A call to the hotel gave us a price of $135. We booked with Expedia at a price of $117.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 687 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

I travelled with my 3 children (ages 9, 13, 15) because we were taking my older son to visit colleges. We also wanted to make a mini vacation out of the trip when we were not on the campuses. The parking is free and there was plenty available. Check-in upon arrival was super easy and fast. The front desk people were very friendly and courteous. The check-in area is right near the great room where breakfast is served and the managers reception occurs. I only waited in line for about 3 minutes to check in. We were given as many room keys as we needed and our room (1 bedroom suite with 2 double beds) was spacious and comfortable. Our room had a kitchen area with microwave and stove top and regular fridge with freezer. All utensils and cooking\eating items were readily available. There was also a dishwasher and disposal. They provided soap and cleaning items for dishes. The eating area doubled as a desk area and was next to the living area that included a pull out sofa and sitting chair. The living area and kitchen had wood flooring - a blessing to a person with allergies. A flat screen tv complete with cable was available in both the living room and the bedroom. The bedroom was able to be closed off to the living area by double doors and had a large closet and a dresser. The closet doors were mirrored, which I appreciated for getting prepared in the morning. The beds were comnfortable and clean. Our room faced the courtyard interior of the hotel, so we had a very quiet and restful sleep. We did not hear any noise from neighbors at all. There was a door off of the bedroom and one off of the kitchen that each led into the bathroom. The bathroom has a nice granite counter and all natural, biodegradable bathroom products. There were plenty of towels and places to hang them. Housekeeping was standard but you could opt out by leaving a do not disturb on the door. They also leave it up to you whether you want them to replace the towels or not by whether you hang them or drop them on the floor. WiFi was included and worked very well in the unit. The bedroom floor had carpet, which was the only downside. Heating worked well and customer service was very responsive to our needs (a clogged toilet). We called about pool towels and we were alerted that they were available poolside. Other wonderful items included, especially when you have children, were the breakfast - both hot and cold foods. Typical fare included eggs, bacon, home fries, fruit, yogurt, french toast, a pastry, cereal, english muffins, bagels, juice, milk, coffee, and tea. Of course condiments were a plenty. Another bonus was the included managers reception hosted every Monday through Thursday evening. Each night a different hot meal was offered and a calendar of what would be served was posted in each room so that you could choose to opt out or eat in. We chose to stay and eat for these because it was cheaper for our family than eating out. The food was satisfying. Some of the items offered were italian sausages, chili nachos, and pasta alfredo. The hotel has a pool area. I was afraid that it would be crowded because it is such a small area, but it wasn't too crowded. The kids had a good time swimming about. There is also a small hot tub area and a small fitness room. The fitness room has a good variety of equipment in great condition and good quality, modern equipment. It looks like they take good care of their property. Everywhere was clean, well kept, and in excellent condition. The decor throughout the hotel was rustic but not overly so. It felt like you were connected to the Vermont outdoors and atmosphere but still with all of the amenities and comfort of a hotel environment. The hotel is close to the highway (89) and within a very short drive to Church street, Champlain college and UVM. The check out process was just as easy as check-in. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Khi_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our family of 4 (2 teens) stayed here for 2 nights in Feb. 2013. We brought our dog along as well. Many guests here with their dogs yet never heard barking. Staff is very friendly and attentive. Clean, comfy suites - ours had 2 dbl beds and pull out sofa. Living area is spacious and included kitchen. Nice but small pool. Great breakfast every morning (included)-eggs, sausage, bacon, homefries, yogurt, cereals, bagels, danish, juices and coffees, french toast, etc. Also, managers reception M-Th eves is great - free wine & beer, italian sausage with rolls, onions and peppers, fries, salad bar. The staff called it a 'snack' - it was a meal for us! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayesEhideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I went there on January 2, 2013 with my neighbor and 3 young ladies. The purpose was to shop for clothes for the young ladies.
The managers cocktail hour is great. The food is hot and plentiful
Breakfast is really nice as well.
The lobby with the fire place is a wonderful place to sit when you don't want to be in your room.
It is very close to all the major shopping.
There is always coffee, tea and hot chocolate available in the lobby.
As it is so close to Montreal it is a great spot for a mini vacation.

This is a wonderful hotel---clean-friendly.

I hope to go back soon

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mokadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We are from Montreal and go to Burlington on regular basis for our company. For years we always went to the same B&B in Jericho Vt . About a month ago the B&B was completely booked, and that is when we pleasantly discovered this hotel! The service is amazing ! Very helpful front desk and reservation manager. The rooms are extra large and very, very clean, and the bed and pillows are so comfy.The breakfast is delicious and the staff always makes sure you have everything you want.
Just called to make another reservation for next week, the person I spoke to was Olga. I have to say, from making a reservation to checking out everything is absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andybern020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Service is great, they have complementary breakfast, on the afternoons they had things like fruits and chicken wings. Nice fireplace, big rooms, it was a wonderful stay and the price was better for me it was great, I would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gio25_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with our 4 month old. Check in was quick and friendly. The hotel is split into two buildings, connected by an adjoining corridor on the 2nd floor - our room with a fireplace was in the 2nd building.

The room was a little dated, especially the kitchen area, but comfortable. The free breakfast was decent. We also enjoyed the manager's special evening with free drinks. The lobby is very comfortable with an open fire. We also used the swimming pool and gym - small but perfect.

The hotel is located in a quiet residential area, a short drive to downtown Burlington. We'd stay again if we return to Burlington.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AK_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
691 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,417 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
773 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 12 in South Burlington
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Suites Hotel

Address: 401 Dorset St, South Burlington, VT 05403-6273
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Business Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range: $140 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Mountain Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the charm of a Boutique Vermont Country Inn. Green Mountain Suites Hotel has been recognized by savvy travelers from all corners of the globe for award winning service, premium amenities and impeccable accommodations. As the only independent all-suite Hotel in the Burlington area, we are proud to offer our guests a truly genuine Vermont experience that is second to none. Each finely appointed one- and two-bedroom suite features a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room and separate bedroom(s). Our Fireplace and Jacuzzi suites are popular with guests looking for something a little more special during their stay with us. Each morning, wake up to our Fireside Breakfast, where you'll find delicious omelets, Vermont-inspired Quiche, maple sausage, bacon, pancakes, and healthy options including a yogurt bar, fresh fruit, oatmeal, and much more. Each weeknight, wind down after a long day at our popular Fireside Reception, with a selection of domestic and local craft beers and wines, paired with a delicious meal. Other featured amenities include WIFI, Exercise Facility, Fire Pit & Barbeque Courtyard and indoor Swimming Pool & Jacuzzi. All of these premium amenities and services are included for no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Green Mountain Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel South Burlington
Hawthorn Suites South Burlington
Green Mountain South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing