We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Blandon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Top Notch Staff”
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Stayed here after a day at several Vermont attractions, including Vermont Teddy Bear Factory. Great place to stay - right off the main road, near lots of place to eat, and across the street from Magic Hat Brewery. Rooms were very nice and clean. Staff went out of their way to help us with any questions we had about the area. This was probably one of the friendliest staffs I have ever come across in all my years of traveling. You could tell that their friendliness, help, and concern was genuine - not just because they had to do it as part of their job. If you have to stay somewhere in South Burlington - look nowhere else - this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaceTrackHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! Our highest priority is the absolute satisfaction of each and every one of our guests, so we were all so very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay! Whether you're traveling to Burlington for business or pleasure, there are so many wonderful area attractions and we always try our very best to provide our guests with the most helpful and up-to-date recommendations, so we're glad you were able to take in some of the sights! Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review, and we'll look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    169
    126
    42
    19
See reviews for
128
151
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I recently stayes at this hotel prior to leaving for Manhattan. Our flight was rather early and to avoid problems at customs (as I am a Canadian) my spouse felt it adviseable to stay near the airport where free parking and a shuttle was offered free of charge. In their advertising, the hotel contended that it was a mere 4 mile distance to Burlington Airport.
To make it plain, it was dreadful! The room was cold at night (it was January) as was the (hot / advertised) breakfast the next day. The ride to the airport was uneventful. The return however was quite another matter. The Holiday Inn Express driver had given us a business card with a number to call for the return trip. I called as soon as I got out of the plane. We waited 45 minutes outside if freezing wheather. The airport staff outside were wonderful. But the return trip did not show up for 1 1/2 hours. I would have gladly taken a taxi if we had not been promised that the van would arrive momentarily. It was all a big lie. The poor driver that picked me up was a student ( I tipped him anyway, as it was not his fault ) and the hotel contended that they had not even been told that we were at the airport until 1 hour had passed. The telephone number that the driver had given me services 5 hotels. The staff at the airport told me that this often happened with Holiday Inn Express at South Burlington. They did say that if we had been staying at the hotel that night, they usually arrive quicker. Let me tell you that I 1 1/2 hour wait in freezing weather with a 10 year old girl is a challange. Had the hotel been truthful with us, this would never have taken place. BEWARE!A

iF YOU MUST GO, THE RESTAURANT LOCATED JUST NEXT DOOR IS VERY NICE!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. While I see you were satisfied with the luxury, comfort and cleanliness of your room, I certainly apologize for not providing you with the service and convenience you've come to expect from our hotel and staff. There's never an excuse for any extended wait as you described, and anything less than timely transportation is unacceptable, as we are located just a short drive from the Burlington International Airport and have several vans in our shuttle fleet. We have taken all actions necessary to prevent this from ever happening again, and hope for another opportunity to provide you with the kind of experience you deserve, one filled with both the luxury found in our rooms and amenities and the very best of service and convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Burlington hotels

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

The hotel reception, rooms and public areas were exceptionally clean.

We received excellent service from 'Seanan' at check-in and nothing seemed too much of a problem.

The location is good, an easy 45 minute drive to Stowe; it is close to shops and the Burton Factory Store / Museum.

Overall, I thought this hotel was good value for money given that it includes a very good hearty breakfast - good for a day of skiing.

The rooms were large, clean and had comfortable beds.

My one and only complaint would be IT IS VERY NOISY ! ! ! We had a room that faced inside (looking over the pool and hot tub) and it was VERY VERY VERY NOISY. We called to have loud, obnoxious people be removed from the pool and hot tub at 11.10pm, 1.28am, 2.45am and 3.32am - on the last occasion the receptionist who answered said 'she would try to ask them to leave' at which point I lost it - 'she would TRY???'

I would get this hotel at 5 rating if it were not for the noise level (the floors are also very thin and you can hear the person above you tip toe).

I would stay here again and would recommend it, however, only on the condition that we could stay on the top floor.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DVS4017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your in-depth and well-conceived review of our hotel. Our ultimate goal is the absolute satisfaction of each and every one of our guests, so we were all very pleased that in your stay with us you found such luxury, convenience and cleanliness. While it reads that your overall experience was overwhelmingly positive, we certainly do apologize for the commotion you witnessed on each of those occasions. Clearly defined in our policies, we have set hours for our pool, sauna and fitness center, and any variance from those hours is unacceptable, as these are set with only guest experience in mind and in place to ensure the overall comfort of all our guests. We apologize for this aspect of your experience here and will take any and all actions necessary in the future to more clearly enforce our policies. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to rewarding your loyalty in the future with the very best of experiences here at the Holiday Inn Express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
214 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Big rooms, complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool. Somewhat noisy with skiers in the morning, slamming doors and talking in the hallways. Overall a nice place though

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirrabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Our overall goal is always to provide the very best in experiences for each and every one of our guests, so we were pleased that you found that within your stay with our hotel. While your experience was mostly positive, we certainly apologize for the noise throughout our hotel that you experienced in the morning. We do have many policies in place to ensure that instances such as this do not happen and will continue to take any and all necessary steps to enforce such policies. We thank you for your stay and look forward to rewarding your loyalty in the future with the very best and most comfortable of experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Stayed here for our shopping trip to Burlington with child and friend. We booked a suite so the child was able to be in bed before the adults. Was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room. The king sized bed was in a room by itself with a locking door, television, dresser, comfy chair and two bedside tables. With all this furniture there was still plenty of room to move around. In the other room was a double bed, pull out couch, coffee table, bedside tables, television, dresser, microwave and fridge. A separate sink from the full bathroom was helpful. Beds were extremely comfortable with embroidery on the pillow cases indicating whether the pillow was firm or soft.

The only negative about the room was the vibration that occurred a few times during the night. The whole floor and bed was shaking. I thought it was the heating and mentioned it to the front staff who was quite willing to have someone come up to look at the heater but the next night the vibration was still there and the heater was off. Forgot to mention to the front staff before leaving.

The pool was too cold but hot tub lovely. Very clean pool area with towels on each chair.

Breakfast included worked for child and friend. Being gluten-free the selection was limited to fruit (which was fine since I always travel with food).

All in all, a lovely hotel with very friendly staff. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slender1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starksboro, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I got the room as a gift for my father's birthday so he could visit for my young son's birthday. We went out for lunch and our plan was to take the kids swimming after. We got to the hotel, the room was cold. We got into our bath suits quickly and headed for the pool. The pool room was FREEZING. The pool temp was even worse. No one would go into the pool except for my son and in 5 minutes he was shivering. So much for for a heated pool! I thought maybe the hot tub would be OK, but the water was a nasty green/brown color. No one wanted to go near it.
I ended up calling the front desk after I got home and all I got was an apology. I got a room there just so my kids could go swimming with their grandfather, but no such luck.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vtmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
I am very sorry to hear that you were uncomfortable in our indoor pool. You and your family are valued guests and your comfort is extremely important to us. After investigating this matter once it was brought to our attention, it appears that the pool heater was in fact malfunctioning the night you used the pool. We deeply regret the inconvenience that this caused to your family, particularly on such an important occasion. Our indoor pool is kept at a heated temperature of between 82-86 degrees. Once we were made aware of the problem, we immediately fixed the heater and it has functioned properly since. I appreciate that you have stayed with us before and are delighted to hear that you returned. Equipment is subject to malfunction; however, we do keep all of our equipment well maintained and very infrequently experience any problems. Our hot tub is also maintained daily and was again deep cleaned as an added measure upon hearing your opinion. In the future, if the pool is central to your visit with us, we invite you to contact our desk ahead of time and we will happily assure you of its correct operation. Problems with our pool are very rare! Again, we appreciate your feedback, your business, and the time it takes to express your opinions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We booked this hotel off Hotels.com & then couldn't remember which one we booked (couldn't access our email after we left cafe with wifi in upstate Vermont), so we were pleased when we turned up & had the right place.

Check in was quick & efficient & the room clean & tidy & as expected. Great range of cable stations. Went to the Lakeview Resteraunt next door which was excellent and would highly recommend.

Only comment on the negative side was that the toilet seemed to be placed to far back under the vanity shelf making for shall we say, an uncomfortable sitting position! (room 220)

Other than that good value & comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisvegas_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
I appreciate your review! As part of our re-launch as a refreshed Holiday Inn Express we have upgraded all of our bedding packages. Our beds are indeed comfy! We were delighted to find out that you agree. Our hotel strives to offer a quality product that is of good value. We strongly believe that the best way to grow our business, is to take exceptional care of our guests. Again, thank you for your kind words and we sincerely hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
2.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 12 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Burlington
Holiday Inn Burlington
#10 of 12 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smart Suites Burlington
Smart Suites Burlington
#5 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Address: 1720 Shelburne Rd, South Burlington, VT 05403-7718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Burlington hotel offers great location in beautiful Vermont. Enjoy a comfortable stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel of South Burlington. Our convenient Vermont hotel is located just minutes from Lake Champlain, bustling downtown Burlington, and the Burlington International Airport. When you're ready to travel, our South Burlington, VT hotel offers a free 24-hour shuttle service to the Burlington International Airport (BVT). In addition to being convenient to the Burlington airport, our hotel is also near many businesses such as GE Healthcare, University of Vermont, St. Michael's College, General Dynamics and Goodrich. Both business and leisure travelers love to stay at our 100% Non-Smoking hotel in South Burlington as it's located less than five miles away from many of Vermont's best attractions including the Shelburne Museum, Shelburne Farms, Vermont Teddy Bear Factory, and Church St. Market Place. Other popular area attractions include the University Mall, Cairns Arena, Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream Factory, Stowe, and Sugarbush Ski Resorts. During your visit to Vermont, enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, hot tub, saunas, and fitness center, and try our complimentary 'Smart Start' breakfast bar featuring the exclusive Holiday Inn Express Cinnamon Rolls, eggs, and sausage or bacon daily. Book your Burlington vacation at this Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn South Burlington
Holiday Inn Express South Burlington
Comfort Inn South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing