We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
94
186
138
48
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
186
138
48
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expresscinnamon rollslakeview restaurantfront desk staffpancake makerindoor poolrestaurant next doornice staymagic hat brewerybed and pillowsbreakfast staffbusiness tripfree breakfastconvenient locationair conditionerbagelsstaff was friendly
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 490 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2018

Stayed here with our 2 kids.

Positive: Comfortable bed, and extremely nice staff. When we arrived, our air conditioner was frosted over. The front desk moved us to another room with no problem. Beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was a great deal for a family of 4.

Needs improvement: Our room, overlooking the indoor pool, had a chlorine smell. The a/c worked, but had a loud squeaking to it to the extent that we could not sleep with the fan on high. With the fan on low, the temperature was tolerable, however not pleasant. With a room adjacent to the pool, every word spoken in the pool area was amplified. It was disappointing that the staff did not enforce the pool hours and the pool noise continued past 1130 pm. Unfortunately, our room phone didn't work, and it wasn't worth the hassle to walk to the front desk.

Overall, a nice hotel in a nice area with plenty of potential. With a bit of work and attention to details, this would have been a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeliciaCharland, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at Holiday Inn Express. I would like to start by apologizing to you for not meeting your expectations with the phone not working in your room and the pool hours not being enforced. We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, and we will use your comments to coach our team in order to provide a better experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018

We stayed here for a quick stay before continuing on our journey to upstate NY. This hotel was in the process of renovation and our room had a very modern décor, which I'm not really crazy about. But that's ok - everything else was fine. The staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. The beds and pillows were comfortable and the continental breakfast was one of the best I've experienced. The location is fine with just a hop & a skip into downtown Burlington! I'd certainly stay here again...

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SuenDon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeliciaCharland, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express SOUTH BURLINGTON. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the newly renovated rooms and the pillows and bed were comfortable. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

We quite frequently overnight in the Burlington area en route to Ogunquit, Maine and again on the return journey to Ottawa. Many hotels in downtown Burlington and in Colchester just north of Burlington we found both expensive and disappointing. So we started to stay at the Green Mountain Inn in Stowe and really enjoyed it but in May, the last time we stayed there the road to Stowe was being repaired and was in a very rough condition. So we decided to try the Holiday Inn Express in South Burlington and found that it exceeded our expectations.
The reception staff were pleasant, the rooms were well appointed and clean, and the breakfast (included in the room rate) exceeded expectations by a wide margin. There was good WiFi reception and a safe built into the closet wall. We paid $100 less than we would have in Stowe so this hotel will be our choice on future travels.
From Interstate 89 there is a short spur termed 189 that ends on Route 7 just a few blocks north of the hotel providing easy access.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

We were very pleased with the quality of the room. We had three adults sharing the room and it was clean, fresh, comfortable and roomy enough for us to House our belongings. Only thing that would have made it better was having the mirror/sink outside the shower/toilet as we had three women trying to get ready at the same time and there was no way to do hair and makeup while someone else used the shower. Also the outlet between the bed wasn’t working so it was impossible to charge 3 phones at once.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

Nice basic comfy clean room. Aircon a bit noisy as usual. Breakfast was ok. Juice machine and pancake machine broken. Staff during the day were friendly and attentive. Price was quite good. Overalls pleasant stay for one night

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank Koushik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews