We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!!! very clean new and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in South Burlington
Great Neck, New York, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!!! very clean new and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

The hotel was extremely nice, the building was very new and its located right off of route 7. Each of the rooms have 2 sinks and charging hub at the night stand. Very nice pool!! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Plus the breakfast is awesome!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cfrie1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    167
    124
    42
    18
See reviews for
128
150
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

I travel to the area often for work and I always stay at this property. Lots to do in the area and downtown Burlington is just a few minutes away by car.
Sarah,Kyle, Alexandria and the rest of the front desk staff are extremely friendly and accommodating.
The rooms are always clean,although their suite is just an oversized room. They have both and indoor and outdoor pool and a great exercise room. They have shuttle service, but unfortunately it's only for flight staff. It would be great if it was offered to all guests.
The restaurant has great food and Joanne the bartender is great.
I would definitely recommend this property.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield county, ct
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located to the variety of tourist attractions in Burlington and neighboring Shelburne. Both desk and breakfast staff were friendly and helpful. The indoor pool is considerably larger than at most Holiday Inn Express locations and comparable hotels. Our queen/queen room was comfortable, but it was the first time we've been at an HEI that did not have a refrigerator and microwave as standard equipment. Nevertheless, a refrigerator was delivered to our room with a smile and no charge following a quick call to the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltradealum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear traveltradealum,

Thanks for the review. We appreciate your kind words. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff as they will be happy to hear your appreciation of their hard work. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this HIE several times over the past year. It is a good value, and a bit quirky in its makeup given its location on a hill. Staff are all friendly. Rooms have always been clean though bathrooms are starting to show some age.

Their breakfast is always full, both with food and other guests. It is your typical HIE breakfast options.

Other comments about the pool area are a bit overstated. It's not brand new anymore, but there is not anything wrong with it. The workout room has a couple good treadmills but otherwise is not much to talk about. Their ancient elliptical was out of order on my last stay. For free weights they have just one 15lb kettle bell, but you can do a lot with just that if you have the mind.

While exploring Burlington is always a blast, one night I was simply too tired and tried the restaurant next door. It shares the parking lot and is under a minute walk. Fabulous fish tacos and good beer selection.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NATHANIEL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Not impressed...the room did not seem to be very clean, particularly the bath tub, so we asked for the bath tub to be cleaned and they claimed that the maids have left ad it was only two at the desks so no one could come up Although I went downstairs and it was quiet on a Sunday so anyone could have come up. They offered to change the room but I could not since our baby was already sleeping and stuff were removed from our luggage. I told them they could come within 2 hrs but in vain...
then the pool is ugly the floor is plastic and ripped. Teens are diving and no one is coming to make sure rules are followed. Next time I will stay at the days inn close by looked prettier and so was the outdoor pool!
Not worth the price to me!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchie10451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear frenchie10451,

I apologize that your stay with us fell below expectations. I will share your comments with our staff as we take all guest comments into careful consideration. I hope you will consider staying with us on your next visit to the area as this is not the usual experience at our hotel.

Warmest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Burlington hotels

Hamilton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed at a HIE 1 time before and that experience far exceeded this one.
Pros- good location, quick friendly check in, plenty of safe parking, internet connectivity and speed, decent mattress, has a pool/ hot tub/ sauna, free breakfast

Cons- Room needed much better cleaning (dusty, hairs, bathroom scuffing), pool liner needs repair, not enough seating in breakfast area and they didn't have their world-famous-and-really-delicious cinnamon rolls! (Kidding. . . well, not really.)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bchall5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear bchall5,

I apologize that the breakfast and housekeeping fell below your expectations. I will forward your comments to the housekeeping and breakfast staff. We do appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Check in was a little slow, wireless was hard to connect to as we landed a room on the 5th floor. Room was clean and comfortable...all that we needed. We had a king with a sofa and the sofa was nice instead of a chair and desk chair. Could enter and exit from back elevators which was nice, however, from the lobby you take elevator to second floor and then another elevator in back to fifth floor...a bit of a maze but nothing unmanageable. Nice overnight stay. Sink not inside where tub/shower were.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. I am happy to hear you had a good overnight stay. I have passed along your comments to the rest of the staff as we take all comments seriously. I hope that the next time you are in the Burlington area you will give us another chance to really wow you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
2.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Burlington
Holiday Inn Burlington
#10 of 13 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 13 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Address: 1720 Shelburne Road, South Burlington, VT 05403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Burlington hotel offers great location in beautiful Vermont. Enjoy a comfortable stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel of South Burlington. Our convenient Vermont hotel is located just minutes from Lake Champlain, bustling downtown Burlington, and the Burlington International Airport. When you're ready to travel, our South Burlington, VT hotel offers a free 24-hour shuttle service to the Burlington International Airport (BVT). In addition to being convenient to the Burlington airport, our hotel is also near many businesses such as GE Healthcare, University of Vermont, St. Michael's College, General Dynamics and Goodrich. Both business and leisure travelers love to stay at our 100% Non-Smoking hotel in South Burlington as it's located less than five miles away from many of Vermont's best attractions including the Shelburne Museum, Shelburne Farms, Vermont Teddy Bear Factory, and Church St. Market Place. Other popular area attractions include the University Mall, Cairns Arena, Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream Factory, Stowe, and Sugarbush Ski Resorts. During your visit to Vermont, enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, hot tub, saunas, and fitness center, and try our complimentary 'Smart Start' breakfast bar featuring the exclusive Holiday Inn Express Cinnamon Rolls, eggs, and sausage or bacon daily. Book your Burlington vacation at this Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn South Burlington
Holiday Inn Express South Burlington
Comfort Inn South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing