We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay with one caution” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in South Burlington
Wakefield, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to stay with one caution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

This motel is super clean; has a great staff, and good hot breakfast. The rooms are neat and very comfortable. The location is convenient for anything in the upper Champlain Valley. We chose a room identified as " disablities accessible" in order to meet our needs. I am not sure the room meets ADA standards. It was on the fourth floor and 91 steps from the elevator. To get to the breakfast room was over 150 steps to another elevator that serviced the breakfast area. The bathroom had been retrofitted with wall bars. The toilet was not the 17 to 19 inch high generally placed for handicapped people. The tub had a high side, no bench, and a standerd fixed head shower. The sink would not allow a guest in a wheelchair to access it. Fortunately, we were able to survive due to the nature of our disability.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear David K,

I am happy to hear that the room cleanliness, breakfast, and staff met your expectations. I apologize that the room location and set up failed to meet your expectations. I hope to see you in the future and allow us to not only meet but exceed those shortcomings.

Warmest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    167
    124
    42
    18
See reviews for
128
150
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was our 4th stay in Burlington and we found this hotel to be very clean and comfortable. Our room was a few floors up on the side overlooking the hotel parking lot. It was actually a nice view out to green space and even out towards the lake. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful and our king room was clean and well laid out. The hotel has a bright and sunny indoor pool area but it was usually pretty busy with families. They have a nice breakfast room and breakfast was included. This was very busy too but we took advantage of it the last day we were there. We found this hotel quieter than the others where we had stayed before. Even though it is located a little further south of the university it was still just a few minutes drive from shopping areas and Church Street. It was nice to hear birds instead of highway traffic. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: There was a couple of tractor-trailer transport trucks who left their engines running for most of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Margot D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff. They will appreciate hearing the acknowledgement of all of their hard work. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Every time I come back to Burlington I will always stay here. Excellent service, clean rooms, and has a nice restaurant as well. Also, very close to Magic Hat Brewery. I would highly suggest staying here if you are coming to Burlington area!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Kenny222_13,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. The staff will be happy to hear your high praise and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

my son & I had a very pleasant stay. the personal was all right. the room was as described. the hotel is neat. breakfast was o.k. did not use the pool, too many people in it... thank you for asking...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Anny T,

I am happy to hear that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully the pool will be a little less busy on your next visit. It is a very popular amenity here. Thanks for the review and hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here as it is reasonably priced for a family with a young child. We have a infant and we have never been let down with the crib standards. The crib was ready fr us when we entered the room.

We arrived to a clean room, a nice comfy king sized bed (bonus!) in a lovely big room. This was perfect for us with a baby who needed the space to crawl and stretch their legs. The toilet was immaculate and it was the perfect hot shower you needed after a long drive. It is luxurious, but it definitely felt like it! The only thing I would have to say is that we were kept in the 'family' section, as we could hear through the walls and we definitely heard a few kids all around us. It didn't bother us for long as you just forgot about it.

Breakfast is pretty standard to all the Holiday Express chains, a hot and cold buffet style was available. It was always kept well stocked and the breakfast room was kept clean.

I would highly recommend staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keshala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear keshala,

Thank you for the review. I appreciate you kind remarks. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff as a reward for all of their hard work and dedication to ensuring our guest have a memorable experience.

Kindest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed the night before at the Best Western in Lynwood. The BW is very convenient and close to everything. This HIE is relatively isolated which is not a bad thing. Front desk staff is very accommodating and friendly.

Rooms were very clean, remodelled. HDTV is standard with many premium channels like HBO.
Rooms have decent HVAC. Rooms are remodelled and everything worked as it should. The hallway signs designated were the rooms are is stupid. See the pic.

The only minor complaints is one staff member told us breakfast ended at 10AM, she even wrote that down. However, the fact is breakfast ends at 9:30 during the week. It's 10AM on the weekends only. They occasionally have home baked cookies in the lobby. Elevators are newer and run well.

Beds are comparable to the Best Western, but the pillows at the BW win hands down despite HIE indicating the type of pillow they give you: firm, soft, etc. The pillows at the HIE are way too soft, even the firm one.

Breakfast in some ways is better than the BW, but worse in others. The bacon was very very crispy. Too crispy actually. The dining area doesn't have 24/7 coffee or tea like the BW does.The scrambled eggs wasn't as "wet" as with the BW. They also had hardboiled egg instead of scrambled but it was in the fridge. They had their "home-made" cinnamon buns which were surprisingly tasty.Even at 9AM. the food staff abandoned the food stations.Cream was empty, coffee was from the day before (cold), and most importantly the food staff exhibited signs of poor morale.

Overall, this hotel is worth staying in our opinion. It further adds an indoor pool and hottub. However, know the issues and don't pay too much if at all possible.

Room Tip: Read the info book and know what's included, what's not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KC_Sosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear PSAC,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Basic and comfortable. Comfy beds and pillows. Air conditioning a tad loud, rooms on the small side. Entire building a bit tired but clean. Breakfast, regular fare ( and included). Front desk very friendly. No complaints, pricing was very reasonable ( used AAA).

Room Tip: Ask for top floor as you can hear noise from rooms above. Ate dinner at restaurant next door, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha37_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Martha37_13,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you on your next trip to the Burlington area.

Kindest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
2.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Burlington
Holiday Inn Burlington
#10 of 13 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 13 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Address: 1720 Shelburne Road, South Burlington, VT 05403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Burlington hotel offers great location in beautiful Vermont. Enjoy a comfortable stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel of South Burlington. Our convenient Vermont hotel is located just minutes from Lake Champlain, bustling downtown Burlington, and the Burlington International Airport. When you're ready to travel, our South Burlington, VT hotel offers a free 24-hour shuttle service to the Burlington International Airport (BVT). In addition to being convenient to the Burlington airport, our hotel is also near many businesses such as GE Healthcare, University of Vermont, St. Michael's College, General Dynamics and Goodrich. Both business and leisure travelers love to stay at our 100% Non-Smoking hotel in South Burlington as it's located less than five miles away from many of Vermont's best attractions including the Shelburne Museum, Shelburne Farms, Vermont Teddy Bear Factory, and Church St. Market Place. Other popular area attractions include the University Mall, Cairns Arena, Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream Factory, Stowe, and Sugarbush Ski Resorts. During your visit to Vermont, enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, hot tub, saunas, and fitness center, and try our complimentary 'Smart Start' breakfast bar featuring the exclusive Holiday Inn Express Cinnamon Rolls, eggs, and sausage or bacon daily. Book your Burlington vacation at this Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn South Burlington
Holiday Inn Express South Burlington
Comfort Inn South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing