We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's alright”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites South Burlington
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It's alright”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hotel is easy to find. Breakfast is ok, but better at Holiday Inn Express next door. Smelly elevators. Dated but roomy suites.

Nothing to brag about but functional and not too pricey if bought via PL or Hotwire.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pharmacistking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Comfort Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Pharmacistking,
Thank you for taking the time to write a survey. We have ordered new bedding and furniture and it will add a luxury to our spacious suites. I have brought the idea of new breakfast foods to my manager and discussed the elevator issue with the Housekeeping manager. We hope you will return to stay with us and see how we've improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    119
    49
    14
    8
See reviews for
100
111
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

good location,rooms needs updating,halls excellent,no continental breakfast served,self serve coffee in room,no fridge,big parking space,generally good,fast check-in check-out,nice swimming heated pool

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tostig_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Comfort Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear tostig_12,
Thank you for taking the time to write a survey. We're glad you had a good time here and were able to use the pool facilities we share and hope you were able to also enjoy our 24 hour on premises fitness room. We do have new bedding on order. We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Burlington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My family and I stayed here one night while visiting Champlain College and we were very satisfied with the accommodations. The suite was very large and very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel. Especially to families with children.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMBLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Comfort Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear AMBLF,
Thank you for taking the time to write a survey. We are please to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our suites. We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Champlain College and Burlington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

While planning a fall trip to Burlington, dithered between super-expensive right-downtown hotels in Burlington, or this much cheaper one south of Burlington. So happy to have picked the latter; this hotel room was so great I want a lot more excuses to go to Burlington, and the drive to downtown was not bad at all. If you're a night owl, this is a great arrangement. You can stay up and not disturb the sleeper because the bed is in a separate room with sliding doors, and in the morning, light and noise will not disturb you from either the "living and dining room" or the hallway beyond.Nice, dark, quiet, clean, beautiful room with different spacious sections. Clerks were very friendly; breakfast area looked very spacious but I never get up in time for it; waffle my spouse brought back was too chewy and eggs too salty, though. But with a fridge & microwave and sink, one can bring back homemade donuts from Bayside Bakery or organic meals from Revolution Kitchen or localvore food from The Skinny Pancake, and relax!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back facing the woods are probably quieter (and definitely more scenic) than the ones f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibi811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Comfort Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Bibi811,
Thank you for taking the time to write a survey. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the roominess of our suites. We hope you will stay with us again next time you're in Burlington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed one night here as a result of a Hotwire selection, so we were never sure what to expect, although the Hotwire rating showed 90% recommendation rate.

All to say that this is decent accommodation at a good price. Room was spacious and comfortable, although not elegantly furnished. A few signs of wear and tear. Internet and parking were free. Breakfast buffet was unexciting but fine. Staff helpful.

Location not ideal for us. It's located in the south end of Burlington and not close to much of interest. Nothing within walking distance (e.g. restaurants / shopping / attractions).

Having said this, this is perfectly adequate accommodation at a decent price.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room facing the back (away from parking lot view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RexT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Comfort Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear RexT,
Thank you for taking the time to write a survey. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary parking, wifi, and breakfast. We are currently in the process of upgrading some items in our suites such as new bedding.
We hope to see you again next time you're in Burlington to check out our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Easy access to/from airport and downtown Burlington, and the bonus was the great view of Lake Champlain (near the hotel, you can walk to it or drive to an awesome city park with outlook). Parking was easy and close to main entrance. I was pleased with how clean the room was, including furnishings. It seems that it was recently renovated, because not everything is new. Bathroom is old style, but clean with new tiles, and TV is not flatscreen...these were no problem for me, just signs of the age of the place. The lobby is very cozy and the eating area, while same food as most chains, was much bigger and nicer than most. Free wifi worked great. Two things that kept this being 5 stars for me: my room was next to stairwell and elevator, which was NOISY early in the morning! And, the pillows...awful! They feel like they have stuffing from build-a-bear, rather than actual pillows. ROOM ADVICE: the queen rooms (we reserved 2, on 2 different floors), seem to all be located right next to stairwell/elevator...easy access, but noisy as I said before. Might be worth the upgrade to a king to avoid that.

Room Tip: Queen rooms were located near the elevator/stairs...which meant they were noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Comfort Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear tinatalker,
Thank you for taking the time to write a survey. The hotel has been recently renovated and we are in the process of upgrading our bedding and getting flat screen tv's for the Queen rooms as our King Suites already have them. As all the Queen rooms are next to the stairwell it can be noisy and I apologize that this an issue during your stay.
I hope that you will stay with us again during your next trip to Burlington to witness the ongoing improvements we are making here at the Comfort Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Comfort Suites in South Burlington provided a great place for easy access to Burlington shopping, Lake Champlain cruising and lots of other sight seeing to be had. The Comfort Suites was clean, the staff very accommodating and friendly. Continental breakfast was 'okay' and we did eat there most mornings, but lacked that 'going out for breakfast' feeling. All in all, a good value for the price and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: End suites are quieter on the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Comfort Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Carolyn1120,
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey about our hotel. I'm glad that you had a great experience here at the Comfort Suites. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Burlington, VT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#6 of 11 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#8 of 11 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites South Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites South Burlington

Property: Comfort Suites South Burlington
Address: 1712 Shelburne Road, South Burlington, VT 05403 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express South Burlington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Burlington
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites South Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites South Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites South Burlington Hotel South Burlington
South Burlington Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing