We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodations without breaking the bank!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Burlington
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great accomodations without breaking the bank!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed at the LaQuinta Inn and Suites South Burlington for a 6 day vacation August of 2013.
I have experience with this chain so I knew what to expect. I knew that it would not be fancy
(in Burlington duiring the summer pay a small fortune for that perk) but it was perfect for my
vacation and sightseeing needs.

First, let me say that the staff was extremely freindly and helpful in every regard. I must single
out Debra the general manager who picked up at the airport on my arrival and drove me to same when I left - a much appreciated personal touch (airport transfers are included in the
stay). Debra and the other staff members hepled me with all manner of questions relating to
my trip, includung sightseeing, restaurants, transportation, etc. Likewise, housekeeping was
on the ball in keeping my room clean and well stocked daily. There was just one exception -
when I first arrived in my room after check-in I found a dead light bulb. When I called down to the front desk, Debra answered and offered to fix the problem herself - there is that personal
touch again!

As to the room, I reserved a deluxe, which you should consider for stays loinger than a couple
of days. The advantage is that the deluxe has a roomy sitting area with a sofa and coffee table
(though the table was too close to the sofa to spread out your legs) as well as a micorwave and
refrigerator, good to store and reheat meals and snacks from Burlington's many restaurants and to store cold drinks, etc. The living area was separated from the sleeping area by a divider
which may serve as a shelf for personal items. The bed was a super comfortable king which
lulled me to sleep every night. There is also a radio (poor reception) and a large flatscreen TV on the dresser - I just wish there were more channels to choose from. But since I was out of the
room most of the day, this was not that big a deal. The bathroom was not fancy but clean and
well stocked with a excellent shower.A/C was powerful but mercifully quiet. As this is not a down-town location and the hotel fronts the main road to downtown and the airport (in the opposite direction), do not expect panoramic views, especially as the hotel is only three or four stories. My front-facing room looked out onto the main road (still very quiet, though) and the rooms out back overlook the pool and the residential neighborhood around the property.

I have read complaints regarding the breakfast, but it was fine for my needs and it is included
in the room rate. As mentioned, it consists of various pastries (muffins, bagels, danish, bread)
as well as coffee, tea and juice, but there are also do-it-yourself waffles and hard boiled eggs.
As I said this was fine for me to start the day, but if others wanted to go out for breakfast, there
are other options nearby, such as a McDonald's, a diner (forget the name) and the University
Center Mall, about a 10 to 15 minute walk away. The property also has a computer in the lobby.

As far as transportation goes, there is a bus which stops across the road from LaQuinta and
goes straight downtown (about 2 miles) via the mall. It goes past the University on the way down and arrives downtown in about 10 minutes. I never had to wait long for it, and at $1.25 per trip it is a great deal. For the trip back at night, I boarded at the central bus stop downtown off the top of Church Street and was back in the same amount of time. And let me tell you the buses are punctual! Unless you are doing a lot of exploring outside Burlington, I would not even consider a car unless it were absolutely necessary. Parking is at a premium and with a couple of exceptions, Burlington is a great walking town with most of what you want see and do within walking distance. There are lots great restaurants downtown as well as in the vicinity of the hotel, so this should not be an issue. The only sightseeing attractions not within walking distance of downtown (or the hotel) are 1) the Ethan Allen Homestead (take a cab) which is OK
but you won't miss much if you don't see it and 2) the Shelburne Museum, an outdoor museum
which is a recreation of a turn of the century New England village - do not miss this, no matter
how you go (the bus goes there but allow time). Otherwise, take a cab of rent a car for the day.
This one of the finest museums in the Northeast or anyhere in the country - trust me. Oh, and the museum admission is good for two days!

So, in sum, the LaQuinta South Burlington is a great place to relax and spend a few days in one
of the most beautiful and picturesque towns and area of the country. Sure you can spend pre-
mium prices for a high-end property downtown or closer, and if so that's your choice, but why would you? Personally, what I look for are comfortable, clean accomodations and a freindly staff
and this property delivers on all counts. I would certainly consider the LaQuinta if my travels ever take to Burlington in the future.

P.S. The airport is the most trouble free I have ever used. My flight arrived from NYC 45 minut-
es early and ny delarting flight lefr bang on time and arriver back in NYC just as early. Can't
vouch for the airport during the winter, but I am told my experience is typical for the summer.
Also, lots of great restaurants downtown, but one I wish to single out is August First Bakery and
Cafe downtown as a great reasonably priced place for tasty baked goods, sandwiches and
other goodies. And yes, the staff is very friendly. And at the risk of giog on and on, there is a
great barnes and Noble bookstore across from the Universit Center Mall, as well as several
charming independent bookstores downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the entrance have more of view but are still quiet due to hotel being in from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intrepidtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    177
    132
    69
    35
See reviews for
187
157
31
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachsetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A former Holiday Inn, the LaQuinta is a low-moderate hotel. The rooms are weary, cleanliness is ok but lack luster. Close to UVM and the highway, it;s OK for 1-2 nights tops. Breakfast is pre packed muffins, plain coffee, juice. Plan to go get breakfast elsewhere - even the coffee chains.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank weR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south burlington, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The room was clean, staff was friendly. Breakfast was served too late in the morning for me to eat it, I work at 6am. It is close to everything, which made finding dinner an easy task. Overall the hotel was just fine, we had to stay while our condo was under renovations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Gina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Kingdom, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We've had good luck here with our little dog. The main problem is the smokers lurking at the front door, creating a cloud through which one must pass to enter the hotel. Also, bright light shone all night through our window with non-light-blocking curtains.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Winter_Bearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington Vermont, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The rooms were very clean and the staff very professional. Airport drop off and pick up was very good also. The attendant also helped clean off my car upon my return from my trip. We were greeted by friendly staff even though I booked through a booking company and the date was wrong for helpful to change them. The only thing on the homepage of this hotel is say's free parking which does not mean for your car to stay while your on vacation. A little confusing but is cheaper than airport parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I reached the Inn at approximately 3:30 pm 1/18/14. The desk attendant was unsure how to process a gift reservation made on our daughters debit card. Lucky the manager was visiting with her baby and care giver in the front foyer by the desk. Once resolved we were given a room on the first floor (rm. 112) which had easy access to the parking lot the Inn shared with a 24 hour grocery store, a hardware store, a buffet restaurant, etc. That was no real issue. The issue was the mattress and age of the furniture. The mattress was extremely old, lumpy, and compressed excessively. I am 5'10" and weigh 160 lbs which should not compress the mattress over half its thickness. The heat/air conditioning unit's fan is loud and runs constantly not on demand. The furniture was likely from the 1990s or early 2000's with the exception of the TV. That was a newer LCD. Too bad it was on the low bureau at the bottom of the bed. Sleeping on such a mattress was painful to say the least.

The continental breakfast was minimal which was OK, but the bagels and bread were stale. That in turn made me pass on the hard boiled eggs.

All in all I would recommend passing on this Inn or at least this room if no others are available.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Burlington hotels

Plantation Florida
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

It's a La Quinta, I've stayed at a few because they allow pets, have the free breakfast, and they're generally above average in terms of being clean. Our room was good enough for one night after flying in. The beds were clean, and we got a good night sleep. Ate breakfast the next morning, and headed out to Smuggs.

The location is not far from the airport or the downtown area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 12 in South Burlington
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 12 in South Burlington
1,003 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Burlington
Holiday Inn Burlington
#10 of 12 in South Burlington
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Burlington

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites South Burlington
Address: 1285 Williston Road, South Burlington, VT 05403-5721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Burlington Hotel South Burlington
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Burlington
La Quinta South Burlington
South Burlington La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing