We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another average hotel in Burlington” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Burlington
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in South Burlington
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Another average hotel in Burlington”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

One great thing about the hotel is the 24 hour shuttle to and from the airport. Another great thing about the hotel is the location. It is less than 5 minutes from the airport, less than a 5 minute walk to the University Mall, and about 5 minutes to downtown Burlington where the Lake Front and Church Street Market Place are located. They also have a beautiful indoor pool, although we didn’t have time to use it.
The vibe I got from the hotel was that it was a bit out of date. The evening receptionist was wearing a vest that looks like she may have worn since 1990. Not that it matters, but it just carries over thoughout the hotel, the rooms, and the bathrooms. The room we stayed in had a faint smell of smoke even though we asked for a non-smoking room.
Overall, with some minor renovations and small upgrades and this would be a great hotel to stay in at a wonderful location!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairchild84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear fairchild84,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences and we are glad to know that you appreciated the shuttle as well as our location and the indoor pool. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations with the condition of our hotel. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    158
    104
    45
    19
See reviews for
104
121
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A good location for our purposes but the room was small. The bathroom very small. No closet other than a wardrobe sort of thing which housed the TV. We thought the bed was uncomfortable (way too soft for us) and my wife did not like the pillows. Also, my wife did not like the fact that there was no hot tub-just a sauna that was out of order. My son lives in Burlington so we go up often and had never stayed in this hotel and will not again. Many other far superior choices although the pricing was good compared to the other hotels. Best bet is still the Sheraton across the highway unless you want to be downtown overlooking the lake. But you will pay for that

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginiaA794, Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear jdinct,

We are upset the you did not enjoy your recent stay with us and your comments have been reviewed by our management team to make corrections.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Burlington hotels

New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here with our teenage daughters while visiting the University of Vermont. The staff was excellent. So helpful and polite. They even gave us our choice of rooms depending on noise level, proximity to pool, ect. We found the rooms clean and comfortable. Beds were a bit small, but we made do. Great coffee makers in the rooms. Would have liked 4 towels and 4 coffee cups for 4 people, but a lot of hotels kind of skimp here. Pool was very nice with a lovely atmosphere, if a bit cool. Fitness room looked clean and well-appointed also, but we were too busy shoving our faces with Buffalo Wild Wings to use it. Room was so conveniently located...easy to unload and pack up. Hotel itself was also conveniently located. Near the University, mall, food, downtown, ect. Nice, late check out time allowed us to have a swim before leaving. Breakfast looked and smelled great but we didn't partake. Great value. We would stay again!

Room Tip: Bottom floor is best for pool and easy in/out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginiaA794, Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Laurie D,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad you had the opportunity to enjoy many of the hotel's amenities and next time you visit us hopefully you will get the chance to try Harper's restaurant. We look forward to your next visit to Burlington.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend away in Burlington. No issues with check in - offered us a choice of floors as we were travelling with a baby.
Rooms very comfortable, clean - bathroom had nice marble finishing.
Initially thought that the hotel might be a little far out - but we had our car & the drive into town was just 5 minutes - so its a very convenient location. There was a gift shop across the road but never made it as far as that. Overall a very reasonable & convenient place to stay if you want to visit Burlington.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginiaA794, Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear longbeaches,

Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us and your kind words. I am happy you enjoyed our service and location and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
549 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located at a alarmist corner lot. There is nothing really around it such as shopping mall ( there was apparently a small mall across the street but I. Would name it a mall), some places where you can buy maple syrup and other fast food places.

The hotel itself was nice with two elevators located in different sections of the hotel but regardless of which one you take, you still need to wall the long walk to the lobby.

They have two pools, one indoors and outdoors, medium size gym and a sauna!!!

The restaurant also provides a private reception for some guests but once open, they have pretty good dishes (somewhat pub like ).

My room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff was friendly and has cookies on a tray when you check in in the evening. I think I also saw coffee dispensers in the lobby area. Overall nice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginiaA794, Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear CecibelB,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your recent stay with us. We are very proud of both our staff and facility. I am happy you had the chance to enjoy our restaurant Harper's and hope you will visit us again very soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went with a friend to do some shopping for the weekend. The location is perfect because it is right off the highway and walking distance to University Mall. Lots of free parking was available. Check-in was easy and the staff was very friendly. They even had cookies available! The room was quite comfortable and clean. The bed was really great. Had a really good sleep after shopping all day! The restaurant in the hotel offered a wide variety of choices that were reasonably priced. I noticed that there was an indoor pool. However, I did not use this facility. The only negative I have to mention is that although the bathroom was clean it was not very spacious. Other than this, I would definitely stay there again. The drink machine ate up my coins, but I was promptly refunded by one of the saff. I also got a really good rate for the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nilora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginiaA794, Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear nilora,

Thank you for your great review! We are proud of our cookies and our staff, we are happy you were comfortable with us and our great location. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next shopping trip.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergennes, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were taking an early morning flight out of Burlington International Airport and we were expecting a significant snow storm. Last minute we made arrangements to stay at the Holiday Inn Williston Rd South Burlingtion overnight. Holiday Inn took the stress out of our travel. We checked in and went to the pool area it was like we were on a tropical vacation. Don't miss the fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. Dinner was great. I recommend the switch back ale fish and chips yum! My husband had the meat loaf it was tasty and the portions were huge. The beds were very comfortable and the pillow selection great, I found one that was just right. We did the extended travel parking on site and were shuttled to the airport in the morning.We would have had a white nuckle ride from home as we got about 6" of snow that What a great service. night. When we got back from our trip we called and were picked up in about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 997MaryR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginiaA794, Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear 997MaryR,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am happy we could take some of the stress of winter travel off of your shoulders. Thank you for your kind words about both our hotel and Harper's restaurant.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 13 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 13 in South Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Burlington

Property: Holiday Inn Burlington
Address: 1068 Williston Road, South Burlington, VT 05403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel, in Vermont's scenic Champlain Valley, is a centrally-located, full service hotel. Only minutes from Lake Champlain or the Green Mountains, we are located off exit 14E on Interstate 89 at the junction with U.S. Route 2. The Burlington International Airport is a short one mile ride in our 24-hour courtesy shuttle. Just one block from our front door, is Vermont's largest shopping mall, the University Mall. The award-winning, historic, Church Street Marketplace is a five minute drive from the hotel. The Fletch Allen Medical Center, University of Vermont, Saint Michael's and Champlain College are all less than 5 minutes from the hotel. Traveling with children, if so kids 12 and under eat for free. In addition, the Hotel is close to the ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center, Lake Champlain Chocolate Factory, the Shelburne Museum, the Flynn Theater, Vermont Teddy Bear Company, Champlain Valley Fair Grounds and other local area attractions. The Ben and Jerry s Ice Cream Factory is a 25 minute drive.Any time of the year, if you are traveling on business or exploring Vermont, make the Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel South Burlington
Burlington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn South Burlington
South Burlington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing