We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
11
7
15
11
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
7
15
11
16
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 60 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2007

My husband and I stay at this place. I was not impressed with this place too much. The room was good size which was ok, the bed sucked..it sagged in the middle. It was really uncomfortable. The bathroom wasn't the great either. The shower was tiny. The toilet had no cover. The bathroom door was really hard to close. We were going to stay there 2 nights but sleeping on that bed really suck. The next night we went to the comfort Inn down the road paid $40.00 more for the night and it was so much more worth it. The business card says that place over looks the lake that is false..don't believe that at all. The price was not worth it.

There was internet connection. Which was good. If I had thought about it I would have taken pictures. to post on here. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank robsgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for marathon weekend. It was a weekend where many properties were booked, and I imagine prices were higher than usual. We were glad to find the very inexpensive North Star Motel, and I will start my review by saying that given the same exact set of circumstances, I'd take a deep breath and stay there again. However, next time I go to VT I'll make reservations earlier to avoid it! Our friends were at Motel 6, which they were much happier with, for about the same price (we were too late to get a reservation there).

The best way I can describe the problem is inconsistency.
1. There was NOT internet access when we stayed. We were able to pick up nearby signals for a few minutes at a time, but that's it (not a criticism of North Star, since they don't advertise that, but a clarification of the last review).
2. Our first batch of towels was dingy and had hairs stuck in them. I asked for "extras," and they were perfectly clean. All were of the type you might get at the gym- small and rough. Would've been ok, had I not been grossed out by the 1st set.
3. The place smelled very strongly of bleach when we arrived and after housekeeping the next day, which was slightly unpleasant, but mostly reassuring.
4. The carpet was small-pile, industrial type, and had a worn/burned spot. The chairs were ripped.
5. The mattresses on our beds were very comfortable and seemed new, but a peek into other rooms revealed this was not the case in all rooms.

This place, with a little more care and replacement of worn out things, could be an interesting place with a retro feel. It seems like maybe the owner is on her way to that. At the present time, it still felt just old and worn.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nygirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

I have stayed at this motel for a long time and feel that it provides the best value in Burlington. Why pay for a pool, Jacuzzi, weight room, etc., when you may not want these extras? On the other hand, you get free wireless internet (Wireless G system, up to 54 MB per second, fast and reliable), which I use all the time. If you want a good, nice place to stay that is affordable and comfortable, this place should be your first pick.

The owner is a wonderful person and will do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. The motel is only a couple of miles from the I-89 and I-189 interchange and has lots of places to visit and shop nearby. The Vermont Teddy Bear factory and the Shelburne Museum are just a couple of miles away on Route 7 South. The University Mall is just a couple of miles away going north and Wal-Mart, Best Buy, Circuit City, etc., are just off the first exit on I-89 South.

I recommend the North Star Motel to everyone looking for a nice place to stay. It isn't going to cost you a fortune and you will get good value for your money.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vtfishguy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews