We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint and quiet retreat in an interesting part of Vermont”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elliot House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Shelburne B&B and Inns
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A quaint and quiet retreat in an interesting part of Vermont”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hospitality is warm and genuine; the rooms, facilities and setting are welcoming and relaxing; the breakfast was quite good. The location is a bit further from town than anticipated, but worth the drive.

Room Tip: all rooms are well appointed with attractive and modern baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seawitchflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
32
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a delightful experience we had in Shelburne, Vermont the second week of October! As we drove down beautiful rolling hills and farmlands, the beautiful Elliot House was heralded by huge orange and yellow trees and we were greeted by a wonderful couple at their Bed & Breakfast. It felt so homey to find chocolate chip cookies on the table when we arrived. The bedrooms were cozy and pretty, suggestions and directions for sightseeing were readily available and the morning breakfast at at the big kitchen table was delicious! Anne made whatever you wanted, but had homemade hot blueberry scones fresh out of the oven that no one missed.

Room Tip: Very pretty and cozy rooms, we are just used to a king-sized bed, so it was a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twostogners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
181 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This small B&B - only 3 guest rooms - is a very pleasant place to stay. It is a nicely maintained old farm home which is cozy, very clean, and quite comfortable. The owners are on site and very welcoming without being overbearing. With a full breakfast it is a good value for this area and just what a B&B should be.

Room Tip: Only two rooms have an in-room bath. We stayed in "Charming" which I think is the nicest o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful weekend at the Elliot House and we had one of the best, most relaxing stays ever. Anne & George are such lovely, caring people and make you feel right at home.

The common rooms include a library that overlooks the front yard, and that's also where we spent most of our time when downstairs. There is also a comfy TV area with a DVD player. The dining room is off the kitchen, and the breakfasts every morning are communal with the other guests (depending on when everyone gets up!).

The breakfasts are delicious! The choices vary every morning, but there are always eggs and toast available for those who don't want to over-indulge every morning. Anne also whipped up some yummy pumpkin pancakes, strawberry waffles and other yummy treats as options. Everything was awesome!

The rooms aren't huge, but I've been in smaller. We stayed in Quaint, which is probably the best (we saw all the rooms since our family members booked the other two). Quaint has a spacious bathroom (although no tub, just a standing shower) and it was impeccably clean and well-maintained. The bed was comfy and the room mostly overlook the back yard area with beautiful views of the mountains. There's no TV but we didn't need it - there's wifi in the Inn and we streamed things online if we were really bored (which rarely happened). If you stay in Charming, keep in mind that your bathroom is be right next door, so you do have to leave your bedroom to use it, but it's still your own bathroom and Anne provides a screen you can use to keep it very private.

Elliot House is a great location. We like to stay somewhat secluded when we vacation in the country, and we were so happy with where we were here. You're still only 5 mins from downtown Shelburne, and 5-8 mins or so from the Shelburne Vineyard and Shelburne Orchards. But the road is very quiet. They also have walking trails in the back of the B&B, and they're absolutely beautiful! It was such a great way to start every morning, and you can walk to Shelburne Lake with stunning views and scenery.

While Elliot House is a bit of a no-frills B&B, for the price, it's incredibly reasonable and we felt like we were treated incredibly well. It's so warm and cozy, in a great location, very peaceful and overall, a wonderfully relaxing vacation. We loved it so much, we've already booked another getaway at the Elliot House!

Room Tip: Quaint room is the best! Cozy also has the same great views, but has a smaller bathroom. Charming ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamTravels926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, CA
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband, daughter and I recently visted Vermont for a wedding/vacation trip and spent several days at the Elliott House in Shelburne, Vermont. What a lovely discovery. Although the bed and breakfast is well located being an easy distance from the airport, downtown Burlington, and Shelburne, it is still in the glorious Vermont countryside with easy access to bike trails, hiking trails and Fall colors. In fact an afternoon sitting in the backyard enjoying the view is time very well spent. Breakfasts were excellent with a slightly different menu offered each day. The hosts, Ann and George, were charming and accommodating sharing their recommendations for places to go and sites to see. (I particularly enjoyed the restaurant "The Bearded Frog" that they recommended .) This is a prime loation for enjoying New England autumn which means that Elliott House is frequently fully booked. Plan accordingly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuseSantaAna_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Busy wedding weekend for friends of ours Anne and George provided the quiet we needed for rest between events and great breakfasts to help us recover from the festivities. Great location in the country, close to Shelburne village and Hinesburg. Would love to stay here in winter!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquonkTrailHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We had an early morning flight at Burlington Int'l airport so we decided to stay near the city of Burlington over night. We could not get a hotel room and this B&B is just over a 10 minute drive to the airport and is reasonably priced so we booked it.
Anne the owner was very nice & met us in the evening with a plate of home made cookies. They were very tasty.
The B&B only had 3 rooms. Our room was quite tight as we had expected but it was fine for one night. The decor looked new and was charming. Just like staying in someone's home.
The bed was very comfortable.The bathroom in our room was quite large and very clean and had all we needed.
Since it was Fall we just opened the window for some air , but I would think if it was summer, the room might be very hot as I did not see any air conditioning. There are also no TV's in the room. Just one downstairs in the living room.
There was a lot of noise outside coming from the home across the street. It was either a party or a bunch of kids just sitting outside, but we did hear them until quite late. Also, the B&B is not soundproof and we could hear someone walking around in the hall.
There is a long stairway in the house up to the rooms and unfortunately the stairway is very narrow and we had a hard time carrying our luggage up to the room.
Since we had an early morning flight we were not able to stay for breakfast. We left when it was still dark out (5am) and it was very dark at the door where we left. Finally a few feet away to the parking area the sensor lights came on. I would recommend to the owner to put sensor lights by the front door entrance for safety.
The owners live in the house connected next door and have an intercom in the kitchen where you could call them if you needed anything.

Room Tip: Very small tight room. I don't recommend staying here if you are more than 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiegoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Shelburne
Quality Inn Shelburne
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
5.0 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Shelburne/burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elliot House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliot House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Elliot House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5779 Dorset St, Shelburne, VT 05482-7099
Location: United States > Vermont > Shelburne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing