We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming VT B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elliot House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Shelburne B&B and Inns
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Charming VT B&B”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Truly enjoyed our stay here, in the "Cozy" room. Although the room is small, it's very comfortable, attractive, and immaculate. A recent renovation made the room somewhat larger than it was on our last visit. The grounds are beautiful, with lovely gardens, lawns, & views of nearby fields. Easy to find, and only short drives to Shelburne and Burlington. Ann & George are very warm & welcoming hosts, and they serve very nice full breakfasts. Excellent value.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are nice. Try to book as early as possible to get the one you'd like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jovi1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
32
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

My partner and I stayed in the "Quaint" room over the long Easter weekend. We arrived later than we hoped, but Anne greeted us with cookies and recommended a great place nearby, called Cucina Antica, to eat a late dinner.

Our room's decor was "old-fashioned romance" - it was spotlessly clean and had a nice, big bathroom. The views from both the room and and bathroom were beautiful and relaxing. The breakfasts were delicious and we very much enjoyed the conversations with Anne and the other guests. On Easter Sunday, all guests got Easter chocolates as a treat.

We were very happy with Elliot House and with the surrounding area - there are many things to do in Shelburne and in nearby Burlington. Ann's recommendations were wonderful - even though last Saturday was cold and rainy, we had a fabulous time at the Vermont winery as well as the teddy bear factory in Shelburne, and then explored the pedestrians-only Church Street in Burlington. I also highly recommend Shelburne Farms, which is interesting for adults and fun for children. If you want a really great view of Lake Champlain and the Adirondacks, go up to Shelburne Farms' Lone Tree Hill.

In a nutshell...we need to go back soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IzkaWalizka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I knew beforehand that the rooms (there are 3) would be "cozy" so I was prepared for feeling cramped in the closet sized bathroom, but I didn't care at all because the rest of the experience was so delightful. All 3 rooms were rented the night we stayed, so the breakfast table was full and we enjoyed such stimulating conversation that we lingered long past the appointed breakfast time. If this was an inconvenience to our hostess, she never let on, allowing us a relaxing morning before we all headed out into the world.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phcatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford CT
Level Contributor
291 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Great innkeepers -- friendly, helpful, welcoming, knowledgeable. Clean, comfortable rooms. Convenient but quiet location. Great views from the two guest rooms at the back looking out to the orchards, fields, mountains. Tasty breakfast, yummy cookies and tea. Excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Elliot House will not disappoint you. From its location near many of the best attractions in Vermont to the wonderful breakfasts to the delightful hosts, this B & B is top notch.

My wife and I spent 5 weeks in New England and the 5 days we spent here were among the highlights. Ann and George were extraordinarily gracious and warm; just wonderful people who know how to run an inn! Exceptionally well furnished -- both attractive and comfortable. We slept in over a dozen beds during our journey and the one in the "Quaint Room" was the most comfortable. Nice location: quiet, yet we enjoyed five great days seeing the attractions in the Burlington/Shelburne area without much driving time.

We would surely enjoy another stay when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhawkeye65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyor kcity
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at the Elliot House for four nights. We were pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful home on a beautiful property. The house is beautifully decorated and spotless. We stayed in the "cozy" room which was charming. The hosts, Ann and George Volund, are gracious hosts who share their love of their home and Vermont with all their guets. We even had the pleasure of hearing George play trombone with his jazz group one evening. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone visiting this wonderful area!!! Oh, I forgot to mention that the breakfasts were splendid and lovingly prepared by Anne.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speechrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

What a lovely experience we had at Elliot House. The hosts -- George and Anne -- are two of the nicest, most interesting people and they do an impressive job of running a comfortable and accommodating B&B. The house itself is quite beautiful, and sits on picturesque property with panoramic views. Our room was sparkling clean, with a comfy, high quality linens and tasteful decor. Breakfast was out of this world! In addition to fabulous coffee and juice, we were served a huge freshly prepared fruit salad packed with a wide variety of juicy, sweet fruits. We were then offered our choice of a variety of specialty pancakes, waffles, eggs prepared any way (including elaborate omelets), maple sausage, and some of the most delicious whole grain bread we've ever eaten. Our choices were not only made on the spot, to order, George and Anne were kind enough to serve us an hour earlier than their normal serving time to accommodate my early appointment. They set the standard for how a B&B should be run, and I'm sad we could only stay one night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Shelburne
Quality Inn Shelburne
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
5.0 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Shelburne/burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elliot House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliot House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Elliot House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5779 Dorset St, Shelburne, VT 05482-7099
Location: United States > Vermont > Shelburne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing