We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our food was just not that good.”
Review of Chef Leu's House

Chef Leu's House
Ranked #21 of 34 Restaurants in Shelburne
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Well Known Best of Asian restaurant in Chittenden County.
Middlebury, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Our food was just not that good.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We are Vermonters and had heard good things about this restaurant from other locals, but were disappointed in our experience. Our meals, that is. It is a very nicely decorated restaurant, with plenty of comfortable booths and good lighting....and our waitress was top-notch and very attentive. Varied menu as well, including sushi and tempura dishes in addition to the traditional Chinese fare.

Our food was just not that good. The eggrolls, both meat and vegetarian style, were dry. However, my vegetable fried rice was fairly greasy, and the odd, sticky white sauce on my vegetables and tofu dish was a little disconcerting. My husband said that his sweet and sour shrimp were greasy and odd-tasting.

Given the variety of reviews, it could just be a matter of people liking different kinds of oriental food. For some, they are pleased here. For others, like us, we came away knowing that we would not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzinvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ordinary Chinese-American food”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Not the real thing, but not bad. Good facility with a patio out back. A wide variety of dishes and sushi for such a small place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wish we lived closer to this restaurant”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food here is top shelf. 4 of us ate there with different dishes, all with so much flavour & decent size meals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Better than average”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We picked up a menu at the Essex ferry, a smart move by the restaurant owner as it meant we could peruse the menu as we were travelling. It looked inviting and we came to the place at just the time we were ready to eat. We both started with a very spicy Hot and Sour Soup which was delicious and served very quickly after ordering. After finishing the soup our entrees arrived within 4 or 5 minutes and showed no signs of being pre-prepared, it was delicious. My wife had Shrimp Pad Thai and I had Szechuan Lamb, both cooked and presented really nicely and the sort of smaller portion size that we prefer when travelling, so that we were each able to finish. Service was good, food was good and although it looked a little pricier than it's peers, you got what you paid for with extra quality. We would make a detour to go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a great meal here - salt and pepper shrimp and cashew chicken were very tasty. Spring rolls were delicately fried with good flavor. Service was attentive, even though the waitress seemed to be the only one working all the tables.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Leu's House also viewed

 

Been to Chef Leu's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing