We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay if in the area.”
Review of T-Bird Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
T-Bird Motor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. EXTREMELY clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We were in the area for the fall colors and the shelbourne museum. We dinned in Burlington and shopped around for gifts. We would go out of our way to stay here again and will on our way to Canada. If you are ever in Vermont, for business or pleasure, stay at the T Bird for a night and rest comfortably knowing that there are still places out there that care for the traveler.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patexmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 121 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

This motor Inn is right on the road- loud semi trucks all day and all night. After the first night we bought earplugs! and we had the windows closed tight! Also, It must have been where we were situated but the plumbing was extremely loud- it sounded like everyone was showering in our bathroom- noisy high pitched water pipes. We move to a different room and the plumbing sound was better. Beds were old and too hard. We should have spent the extra money and moved to a room in the newer back unit away from the road!
It was however the cleanest motel we have ever seen!Updated bathroom- very nice.
The voucher for the free continental breakfast at the Windmill was a nice touch--we added an egg to our order for a nominal charge.
They also give discount coupons to the Shelburne Museum.

Room Tip: Either up-grade to a room in the back unit, away from the road,or bring your earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COKAT49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The T-Bird is classic strip motel of the old-fashioned sort, with each rooms opening directly out onto a parking space. Furnishings and amenities are basic rather than luxurious, but I'm giving it a top rating because the owners take such good care of the place and treat their guests so well. The rooms are extraordinarily clean and all of the furnishing are in excellent repair (no torn or frayed blankets or battered bureaus here). The bed was comfortable, and our room looked out onto neatly tended lawn and trees. The owner is extremely helpful and offers discount coupons for all of the local attractions as well as good advice on restaurants. The restaurant next door offers wonderful breakfasts (a coupon for coffee and toast is included in the room price, but we sprang for bigger meals).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back building. The rooms there face into some trees rather than the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This motor inn is right on the road, so rooms are exposed to noise and suffer from a lack of privacy. Because the rooms open directly onto the parking lot, I felt very vulnerable. The bathroom was very clean and recently updated. Everything else was original, or looked as if it dated back to the 60s. The mattresses and bedding were very old, the box springs were exposed (no sheet covered its old frame) dirty and fraying, with holes at the corners. There were rooms in back of ours, visible through the bathroom window. They looked newer, and may or may not have been part of the motor inn. It's presentation would improve if the front were torn down.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLSNapa_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We only stayed here one night based upon TA reviews and they were correct. It is a really nice motel. The room was quiet, it was large, it had a refrigerator, a nice flat screen TV, and the shower was very good. It was very clean.

They gave us a voucher for a free continental breakfast at the Windmill Restaurant next door but we didn't use it as we prefer to have a full breakfast.

You are basically across the street from the Shelburne Museum, and maybe a 10-15 minute drive to downtown Burlington.

i would stay here again on my next trip to the Burlington area.

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms in the back and it was quiet there even though you are on Rt. 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Typical hotel room. Exceptionally clean and convenient to the museum. They don't have their own breakfast but give you a coupon for a continental breadfast next door.
They also have a great $5 off coupon for the museum.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TIC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here on our second night in Burlington after spending the first night at one of the town's incredibly bad competitors. We literally paid half the price for three times the quality. Should have been at the T-Bird both nights. It was the cleanest motel I've ever stayed in, with a nice big room, plenty of pillows, and a very sweet proprietor. Our room was on the back side of the property, so it was very quiet and peaceful. I've stayed in luxury hotels that weren't as pristine and comfortable. When I went to leave a tip for the maid in the provided envelope, I noticed that previous customers had also tucked plenty of cash in there; when people leave a housekeeping tip at a roadside motel, that really says something.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorelei8Oakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shelburne hotels
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Shelburne/burlington
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Shelburne
Quality Inn Shelburne
#2 of 4 in Shelburne
371 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heart of the Village Inn
Heart of the Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
North Star Motel
North Star Motel
#3 of 3 in Shelburne
52 reviews
Show Prices

Been to T-Bird Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T-Bird Motor Inn

Address: 4405 Shelburne Rd, Shelburne, VT 05482-6510
Location: United States > Vermont > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Shelburne
Price Range: $72 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — T-Bird Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meticulously Clean and Well Maintained. Closest to the Historical Shelburne Museum, and Vermont Teddy Bear Factory. Just minutes to Shelburne Farms, UVM, University Mall, and Downtown Burlington's unique waterfront. Access to Lake Champlain is less then 1 mile. Sitting on six beautiful acres with a large outdoor pool. All room are non-smoking. Amenities include hairdryer, CCTV, and some refrigerators. All one level, park at you door. AAA and Mobile Guide Rated ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your T-Bird Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Bird Hotel Shelburne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing