We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dutch Mill Family Restaurant

Dutch Mill Family Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 34 Restaurants in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went to this restaurant on Mother's Day.As we got there,one of the owners arrived at the same time.We exchanged a few pleasantries,and he said he would meet us at the front door.We actually had a $30.00 gift certificate for which we paid $15.00.I ordered steak and eggs,home fries,along with coffee and a large OJ.My wife had panacakes,home fries,ham,and coffee and juice.That took care of the gift certificate.The servings were huge;my steak looked like a dinner steak,and the ham came out as 2 large pieces.Breakfast was also accompanied by a large real Vermont maple syrup dispenser.Our waitress was very friendly and engaging,as well as all of the staff.Definitely will be there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ramhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    38
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinton NH
Level Contributor
287 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Delicious pancakes and a bit of entertainment as well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed up the road last weekend and decided to stop here for breakfast before hitting the road. This is a small restaurant that can get crowded, so be prepared to wait on the weekends.

Despite the crowd our large group of 7 was seated without too much wait. The service was quick, albeit a bit surly (with a smile on her face - we dubbed our waitress "The Pancake Nazi"). The food was delicious! I highly recommend the buttery pancakes with blueberries, and my brother-in-law had a sumptuous eggs Benedict dish. The only downside to the meal was the coffee, which was a bit watery.

As long as you're ready to wait and don't mind a bit of good-humored fun from the wait staff you'll have a blast and leave quite satisfied!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

While on vacation we never eat at "chain" restaurants. I can go there anytime!
We discovered this little gem while on a recent Vermont getaway. Only open for breakfast gives them the chance to focus on one ting and do it well. They had a wide selection and some local specials and everything was excellent. Be prepared to wait if you go during peak periods but the wait is worth it. Friendly staff, good service and easy location makes this place a local hit. To bad other people in my hometown can't duplicate their success! Make sure to stop if your in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DonfromLebanonPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Went here on a Sunday at 10 am because of solid reviews on Urbanspoon but was not particularly impressed - price was ok but breakfast fare was nothing special and service was brusque. Won't be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rakreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“go for Sunday breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The best breakfast around. Family atmosphere- lots of smiles; very friendly. You may have to wait for a table on Sunday but tables turn over quickly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch Mill Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dutch Mill Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing