We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as cute as they are expensive!”

Vermont Teddy Bear Company
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vermont Teddy Bear Company is the largest maker of hand-crafted, American-made Teddy Bears! Embraced by the scenic Green Mountains, Lake Champlain and the Adirondack Mountains, the Vermont Teddy Bear Factory colors the countryside in beautiful Shelburne, Vermont, USA.Visit Us In Vermont - See How Vermont Teddy Bears are Born! Read about our Factory Tour, Bear Shop, Make A Friend For Life(R) program, and upcoming Special Events, all here at our fun-stuffed Teddy Bear Factory.
long island
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not as cute as they are expensive!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I made a special trip here to buy our grandchildren teddy bears. The "classic", 15 inch bear was $50 without clothing. There was a special the day we attended. Buy one bear for $50 and get the other for $15. That's still over $30 for each. Some of the dressed bears were $100 each. I have four grandchildren and was unable to leave with bears.
There was a very nice little tour, and again it was geared towards children. The children really seemd to get involved with questions and enjoyed it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank miapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    157
    65
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Grove, New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“fun for all ages”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

took the family and had a good time. tour is sort of short, but interesting and nice to see toys being made here in the US. I don't know how anybody can leave without a new bear friend, and we were lucky enough to be there for a special promotion on the bears. While we were there they were also having a tent sale outside with merchandise from their sister company, Pajamagram. Everything was one dollar! So we came home with some cute footie pajamas as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank janeonlongisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great kid spot but expensive”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The whole place is cool. But the store is expensive unless they have a special. Great place to take photos. Tour was good also .

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sparky228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of bears”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Not too much to see, but if you love teddy bears you probably shouldn't miss this. Personally VT teddy bears are a little too expensive, but if you know teddy bear lovers, then its worth it. Lots to choose from as far as bear colors, types, clothes. Plus you can make/design your own shirts. Didn't get to do the tour, but plan to go back to do it at some point.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Suki11783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just your average bear”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Pricey and overated. The tour was boring and very matter of fact, not what we thought. Would not go again

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermont Teddy Bear Company also viewed

 

Been to Vermont Teddy Bear Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing