We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some kids never grow up”

Vermont Teddy Bear Company
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vermont Teddy Bear Company is the largest maker of hand-crafted, American-made Teddy Bears! Embraced by the scenic Green Mountains, Lake Champlain and the Adirondack Mountains, the Vermont Teddy Bear Factory colors the countryside in beautiful Shelburne, Vermont, USA.Visit Us In Vermont - See How Vermont Teddy Bears are Born! Read about our Factory Tour, Bear Shop, Make A Friend For Life(R) program, and upcoming Special Events, all here at our fun-stuffed Teddy Bear Factory.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Some kids never grow up”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Upon deciding to go to Vermont,my girlfriends first question was are we going to be anywhere near The Vermont Teddybear Factory. The answer being yes we stopped.The tour was cute and to our surprise they had a special promotion. After 57 years she finally got her childhood dream and a second one for her future daughter in law. It just just proves that good things come to those who wait

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    151
    60
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Overpriced”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Bears are high quality but overpriced. Of course the kids wanted one but couldn't justify spending $70+ on a bear. They used to have custom made bears but no longer do this. Build-a-bear is better for young kids.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank m M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I don't really know what people expect from a tour like this. If you have no interest in the construction of teddy bears, you probably shouldn't be touring a teddy bear factory. Similarly, I would avoid touring an auto factory if you have no interest in how cars are made.

Our tour guide was very well informed about how the bears are made. She answered some pretty specific questions including the type of stitching used for different aspects of construction. As far as a factory tour goes, this was a excellent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank enlil2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cute factory tour”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This place is really cute for kids, and parents. The tour is very cute, get to go through the factory where the Teddy bears are made. They make it funny. The Teddy bears are not cheap, but they stand behind them 100%, so this is a lifetime teddy bear for your child. We bought one for each of our daughters and they love them. They are the perfect bear for dressing up, having tea parties etc. because of the movable limbs/head.
If you take the tour with children I dont' think you would be able to leave with out buying a teddy bear. they have a little area where kids can make their own bear and dress it up as well like the stores in the mall.
They also have a discount area where they sell pajamas (another part of the company is an online pajama website). They have really good deals, but check the whole item, most of them have names embroidered on them someplace. My husband almost bought a sweatshirt that looked good, till I happened to look at the underneath of the hoodie part and saw a name on it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable But You Will Want A Bear”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Rarely have I seen a tour better designed to make you want to buy their product - Teddy Bear cuddling, Teddy Bear hospital, Teddy Bear clothing, Teddy Bear games, etc.. By the end of the tour, even my teenage boys wanted Teddy Bears. The kids loved the tour, and it is fun, but be prepared to buy a Teddy Bear if you go on this tour. The Teddy Bears are rather pricey.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermont Teddy Bear Company also viewed

 

Been to Vermont Teddy Bear Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing