We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique motel experience, like no other”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Shelburne Farms
Ranked #2 of 4 Shelburne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2005

We scrimped to stay in this old Inn built by the Webb/Vanderbilt clan back in the 1800's. It far exceeded our lofty expectations!

You will not find:
-cable TV or TV of any sort
-heat or AC, we went the last weekend of the season and cuddled under luxurious down comforters
-elevators, although it wouldn't surprise me if the competent staff carried the infirm on their back to the 2nd or 3rd floor.
-noise of any sort, you will experience life as it was a century ago
-a jacuzzi
-a sauna
-an extensive list of other modern "necessities" that block you senses
For all that is lacking, they should charge more.

You will find:
-excellent service,
-charming and unique rooms
-cozy terry cloth robes
-functioning modern bathrooms with baseboard heat
-some of the best food anywhere
-a excellent restaraunt devoted to a locally grown philosophy
-beautiful scenery
-tractor rides
-miles of private trails
-interesting exhibits
-a working dairy farm
-a cheese making operation
-gorgeous views of Lake Champlain
-an all too rare opportunity to hear yourself think and reconnect with nature in a very civilized manner
-canoes and kayaks, unfortunately we didn't give ourselves enough time to use these
-a charming library with fireplaces, a great place for a glass of wine

We're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank j7willia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Shelburne Farms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 199 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2005

Let's start with the positives. Fabulous food for dinner - wonderful menu and great tasting, creative and thoroughly enjoyable food. Great restaurant service too. Amazing location - drive for a mile or two into the estate to reach the hotel which is right by the lake shore with amazing views. We were put into what they call the "tree house" which is kind of like a small lodge somewhat distant from the main hotel. What was nice about this was it had steps leading down to an almost private beach area and we could lay in bed listening to the waves - very tranquil and lovely. What was not so nice was the stupidly small bathroom in which you couldn't swing a mouse let alone a cat (for some reason there's a kitchen there too the space of which could easily be used to make the bathroom a reasonable size). Also, presumably because of it's distance from the hotel, they were unwilling to provide any room service - eventually they were persuaded to deliver a couple of glasses of wine. And to get to dinner, meant a treck through the fields and along dust roads in the dark (they did at least provide a lantern). Why not provide a buggy lift? They had one....
Finally, the hotel staff seemed arrogant and un-charming - restaurant servers aside.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank SteppieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
new york, NY
15
Reviewed September 18, 2005

What an amazing treasure! The landscape, the architecture and the food were all amazing! The fall menu in the elegant marble dining room was so good we ate 2 nights in a row. First with some family that lives in the area including 2 children under 5 years old. The service was gracious and accomadating for children and the wine list gave great support to the decadant dinner menu. The second night we decided we needed to try some items we didn't get to, so we made a date for just the two of us. It was a perfect setting for a romantic night. Our waiter from our first meal offered us to have dessert in the near by game room where Dr. Webb once entertained his estemed guests. It was perfect! I recomend splurging and treating yourself to a visit to Shelburne Farms, it is well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 12, 2002

The infor given on this page is not fully accurate. athis ia an old Vanderbilt home that is nearly unchange in 100 years. Yees no telees. but truly authentic and one of the most beautiful locations i've seen. Water and mountain views. prices ramge from $100-$350. Some rooms share baths

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmetic_winnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cllb2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Aangezien er geen lift is, is een kamer op de 1e verdieping aan te bevelen
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kees36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
6.5 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
676 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
760 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Shelburne
Quality Inn Shelburne
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
365 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Shelburne/burlington
6.4 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Shelburne Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Shelburne Farms

Address: 1611 Harbor Rd, Shelburne, VT 05482-7697
Location: United States > Vermont > Shelburne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range: $155 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Inn At Shelburne Farms Hotel Shelburne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing