We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Shelburne Farms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Shelburne Farms
Ranked #2 of 5 Shelburne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Elegant and beautiful, a trip to this inn is truly like going back to another era. While there are no televisions, pool, spa or room service it is very luxurious in it's own way. Afternoon tea, meals in a lovely formal dining room, large library, spacious rooms filled with antiques and a breathtaking lake view all make it a special place. The service is excellent and the food, all farm-fresh, is delicious. Canoes and kayaks sit at the edge of the lawn on the shore of the lake and the long, wide, winding roads are perfect for walking or running. We enjoyed sitting on one of the wide covered porches near the end of the day and just poking around. We also spent quite a bit of time in the billiards room. We're looking forward to another visit before the Summer is over.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kvweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    28
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
57
81
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

This is a one-of-a-kind property, an ideal destination for people who want to unplug and relax. They don't have television, radio, and limited cell and wifi service. The service is excellent, without being imposing or aloof. The Inn and grounds are beautiful, and perfect for exploring and walking.

Room Tip: Rates vary, most rooms have private baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerTeam667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

Shelburne Farms is a miracle - and a most enjoyable one. The Webb family built magnificent barns (the breeding barn must be a good 300 feet in length) - looking more like Norman castles! These are positioned on a beautiful landscape, with plan designed by Frederick Law Olmsted. And all this sits on the shores of Lake Champlain. On previous visits we walked the miles of trails. On this one we took the Cheese Makers Tour: fun and educational to sample the range of Cheddar Cheese made there and then be taken through the whole process, working backwards, and ending with the little calves and finally the more than 100 Brown Swiss cows ambling to the barn and being milked. This tour is given only on certain days - the Farm Tour is available most everyday.
The Inn itself is wonderful with broad lawn stretching to the Lake, lawn chairs, a comfortable sitting porch, and splendid interiors from the turn of the 19th Century. Our room was over the top. The wait staff, largely college students, are bright and accommodating. The food features locally grown vegetables and meats - I loved my breakfast omelette with fiddle head ferns and ramps.
My wife and I were there for a board meeting I was attending - and she was free to enjoy everything. The Lake was at record highs, but all was high-and-dry except for a newly created pond in a grassy area, now full of scores of Seagulls. Truly one of America's most special places - in fact, a National Historic Landmark.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view of Lake Champlain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Ma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed at the Inn on Father's Day weekend and ate a wonderful dinner in the Inn's restaurant one evening. The Inn is on the shores of Lake Champlain with views of the
Adirondack mountains and extensive gardens. There is so much going on there that a weekend is barely enough time to see everything. We saw cheese being made, a children's camp with baby animals for the children to interact with, wagon rides around the huge property, tours of the farm buildings, bread at the bakery. We had afternoon tea and a tour of the Inn, which was built as their home by a very wealthy family. In nearby Shelburne there is an amazing museum with many buildings. The town also has excellent restaurants. We didn't stay in one of the gorgeous rooms. We stayed in the Pottery which was right on the shore of the lake. Wonderful! Sitting on the lawn overlooking the gardens and lake at sunset with the other guests was like being in the middle of an impressionist painting.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

We were looking for somewhere to stay while visiting family and grandchildren. We toured the Inn as part of a farm visit and found a vacancy that coincided with our return trip and booked immediately. We were very lucky as the 24 guest rooms fill rapidly at this time of year.
This is an old Vanderbilt family summer home that has been operating as an inn since 1987. Profits from the Inn and restaurant go to the educational foundation. Guests can book various rooms and tour those that are not occupied. Many of the guest rooms (probably one third) have shared bathrooms. Robes are provided. This is very much like going for a country house weekend. Snacks and books are provided in the rooms. The beds are comfortable but make no pretense of high thread count linens.
Breakfast and dinner are served in the restaurant for both guests and the public. The food is really, really good and the bulk of the material is supplied from the farm. The lamb is to die for and I have every intention of kidnapping the cook who made the butternut squash grits. Guests may order a picnic lunch (plated or portable) which is also excellent. Tea is served in the afternoon and is coordinated with tours of the breeding barn, garden, Inn and other educational presentations given on the farm. Tours are free for guests. There is a stunning playroom but the Inn is not really for children.
There are no televisions (YES!) The sound of the waves on Lake Champlain are the only noise polution available. Fare to the Burlington Airport is just under $30. The staff is helpful and charming.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gnarfle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

Attentive, gracious welcome by all to a marvelous gilded age estate. Our "Brown" room facing the lake was lovely with elegant period furnishings and artwork. The welcome basket was abit skimpy but acceptable. Our evening in the locavore emphasized restaurant was high lighted by attentive service and delicious food. BUT, back at our deluxe room($380), luxurious amenitys were compromised. Our mattress felt like a lumpy trampoline...only fatigue put us to sleep. The towels were threadbare and aged. Even the toilet paper and tissues were local gas station vintage. Surely the Vanderbilt-Webb family would have been embarrrased. Overall the spectacular expansive lakeside setting outweighed these room negatives

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belmonte5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Very rarely have my expectations in a hotel been exceeded so much. From the minute we pulled up to this historic house to the moment we left, I truly felt we were privileged to stay in such a fantastic place. The star of course is the unbelievably beautiful lakeside setting which I just wasn't expecting. We spent much of our three days (and every evening) watching the sky and the mountainous landscape change colour from the terrrace and lawn - breathtaking. The house itself was beautiful - we've stayed in a number of historic hotels in England and this is certainly up there. We stayed in the Grey and Violet rooms which were lovely. It felt so tranquil not to have any TV/Radio etc. We were greeted in our room by a lovely basket of cheese made at the farm and biscuits - a really nice touch and an example of the hotel's attention to detail. Only minor complaint is that the plates and gallses we used were not cleaned up by housekeeping otherwise everyting was spotless ane we loved the claw-foot bath. The house threw up a number of surprises including the Games Room (which the kids loved) and also, the most wonderful kids playroom with 2 large-scale dolls houses - I wish we discovered it earlier in our stay. The service was second to none and the Dining Room Manager was particularly helpful - we had only booked one night for dinner but she managed to find slots in the very busy schedule for us and kids on the terrace. Despite the grandness of the hotel, kids are amde to feel very welcome by both staff and guest - our 5 year old twins made lots of friends at dinner and went off exploring the grounds! A truly relaxing and special stay - we fully intend to come back here one day

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sazzlesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
5.5 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 9 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Shelburne
Quality Inn Shelburne
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Shelburne/burlington
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Shelburne Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Shelburne Farms

Property: Inn at Shelburne Farms
Address: 1611 Harbor Rd, Shelburne, VT 05482-7697
Location: United States > Vermont > Shelburne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Inn At Shelburne Farms Hotel Shelburne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing