We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Gorgeous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shelburne Farms

Shelburne Farms
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A nonprofit organization educating for sustainability. Its campus is a 1,400-acre working farm, forest, and National Historic Landmark. Year-round walking trails and programs; seasonal inn, property tours, and children's farmyard (mid-May to mid-October)
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We enjoyed the tour immensely. Lots of history there and and their cheeses are THE best! Looked like a great place for families with kids.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank nobchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    78
    27
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We enjoyed the tour and our trek back to the barn for lunch from the cart. Nice to know that all the food is from either their farm or neighboring farms. Great history and beautiful grounds.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bjrret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful,informative,and spectacular views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Very pleasantly surprised by the tour. It was informative,interesting and the inn and views of Lake Champlain spectacular. The cheese is also excellent and the samples gave you the opportunity to try the different aged Cheddars before purchasing.Highly recommended for all that want a unique experience with breathtaking views

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, MA
Level Contributor
294 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property, Great for Hiking and Walking (and Picnics!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We recently visited Shelburne Farms and hiked around much of the property on the clearly marked paths and trails. A highlight was the climb up the hill behind the Farm Barn (a great place for kids to see and touch very tame farm animals) and on to Lone Tree Hill, where there's a wonderful overlook above Lake Champlain (it's also a perfect picnic spot). As the trail heads up and over Windmill Hill and down towards the lake shore, the meadows and vistas are classic Olmsted designs, with the view changing subtly but clearly around every knoll or bend.

The landscape is gently hilly and not too difficult for walking; only a few sections are real "hills" requiring some effort to climb. For that reason, it's a good idea to wear hiking boots, not sneakers. Most people in reasonably good shape should be able to navigate the paths easily.

Since only parts of the trails are wheelchair accessible, ask for details at the Welcome Center (where the staff were very friendly and helpful).

The Welcome Center also sells several varieties of Shelburne Farms cheese made right on the property, as well as other picnic provisions. Pick some up before you head out for a hike.

All in all, this was a terrific place for taking a long, peaceful walk amid some very pretty scenery. We highly recommend it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DGandSAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England - USA
Level Contributor
398 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Mansion and Grounds; Tea a Disappointment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I visited Shelburne Farms with a women's club for a tour of the mansion and grounds, and the afternoon tea. We had called ahead to let them know our group would be attending. The buildings and grounds were spectacular. The guide who accompanied our tour was full of fascinating information about the history of both the owners and the estate itself. It was a perfect five-star experience. Then there was the afternoon tea which followed. What a disappointment. There were other visitors besides our group, and the staff had not prepared sufficiently for the number of guests. They ran out of both food (finger food, cookies, and canapes) and drinks (lemonade and hot tea and iced tea). What a letdown. All of us were left standing around hungry and thirsty. Many people complained. My women's group was quite disappointed. I was expecting much more from a place like Shelburne Farms. We loved the tour and the buildings and grounds, but were very disappointed with what should have been a high-end tea to finish the total experience. That's why I rated this attraction four stars instead of the five it really ought to deserve. My personal experience at the tea was a two-star event, so it brought the overall rating down. Perhaps they have remedied this shortcoming since I visited. I certainly hope so. Guests who visit have certain expectations concerning the total package, and this was not met.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank KayTee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shelburne Farms also viewed

 

Been to Shelburne Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing