We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique place-recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shelburne Museum

Shelburne Museum
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum in Vermont that displays approximately 80,000 items of folk art and similar works.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique place-recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Museum is 47 acres & dozens of buildings. Amazing things to see. Can be done in one long day!!
Well worth a visit, totally unique.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BruceMa135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    123
    23
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Level Contributor
550 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“The Great Collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Electra Havermeyer Webb amassed a great and amazing collection of so many things. These fabulous items are displayed in unique buildings throughout this museum. It is fun to walk around, surrounded by history, and look at unusual, beautiful and extensive collections. Admission is a bit pricey, but it allows you to visit two consecutive days. There is a carousel to ride on, trains, a large boat and even a covered bridge. Special showings are held in some buildings. Food is available but of average quality.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Better than I remembered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had not been here in eons. It is beautifully maintained, staffed by people who are friendly, interested and invested in their assignments. We walked the entire property for hours (there is a trolley as well) until we were thoroughly exhausted and still didn't see everything. Only "complaint" was the pricey cafeteria - needed more warm options on a cool, drizzly day - and we would have liked a few more outdoor DRY places to sit down for days like these. Everyone should go!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CalypsoReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Wonderful experience"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

we visited Shelburne museum while staying in Burlington.Prior to our trip to New England this was a "may visit" on our list,I think it may have been "museum" that was putting us off slightly.Are we glad that we decided to visit,it's much more than a museum,the different buildings and themes are fantastic,from the Tincongeroga to the old buildings they are all a must.The volunteers are exceptional, welcoming and knowledgeable in describing in detail all the exhibits on display.Our only regret is that we only allowed one day,we would have loved to return for the second day as the entrance fee is good for two visits.It's an absoloute must see attraction,It's impossible to describe how good this museum is,you have to visit,plan for two days if you are able.If you are visiting New England from the UK or indeed anywhere else this has to be on your "must visit " list.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss this - little known in US, but loved Internationally”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

A remarkable treasure not to be missed. We went up for an afternoon 6 years ago and stayed for 2 full days! This year was our third visit, and now we always budget 2 days for the always evolving exhibits and special events. It's best to go to their site for a description - I could never do it justice in a short review. Btw, every time we go we're surprised by the number of different languages we hear by visitors.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindarosscs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shelburne Museum also viewed

 

Been to Shelburne Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing