We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to see!”
Review of Shelburne Museum

Shelburne Museum
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum in Vermont that displays approximately 80,000 items of folk art and similar works.
Valley, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a great place to see!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was in the Shelburne Museum in July this year and what a wonderful experience. It is so large it takes a whole day to really see it and they also have a little tram that will take you around if you get tired of walking, which I did. They also have a nice place to eat, either inside or outside and I chose the outside under the trees. It is beautiful there and so much to see, I don't think they forgot anything to draw your attention and to take you back to years ago. I recommend it to anyone going to Burlington and the kids will love it also, there is a lot there for them. It's also a great photo shoot place to be.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 315gypsytraveler315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    736
    134
    24
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinckney, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“What a fun way to spend a day”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a great time exploring all the buildings and exhibits over acres of land. A shuttle bus will take you around if you want to do an overview and then go back and get off at the various spots around the complex. Larry, our bus driver was a hoot and added to the experience with his continual chatter about the different buildings and how they arrived there. The Ticonderoga, a side paddle wheeler was awesome, Hard to believe it took 65 days to move it 2 miles from where it was originally docked. The quilt collection in the textile building is awesome. A working vintage carousel you can ride on as you like included I. The entry fee, which, by the way, was good for two days! The miniature collections are unbelievable and must be seen to be believed! Fun for the whole family.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not enough time”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were at awe with the scope of things to see in this "museum.' It is far more, let us say a time capsule of life in early Americas rise to the top. The steam power lake boat Ticonderoga, fabulous art collections, a private train, buildings and so much more. We are an older couple but there is so much here that it would take at least two days to cover and enjoy it all. There were plenty of staff with knowledge of the exhibits and they took as much time as one required to answer question and in some case anticipate what the next question was going to be in completing the answer. A destination worth every cent of the price of admission. Tickets are good for two days.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank harold66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Be prepared to walk...a lot!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a fantastic place with many preserved buildings moved there from all over housing collections and some very impressive artwork. There's a steamboat, a carousel, a new gallery, a covered bridge, blacksmith, a train and train station....so much to see they allow a second day's admission when you buy your ticket. There is a tram that runs the perimeter good for when you've had it for the day. I also highly recommend the pulled pork sandwich at the cafe on the grounds.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jktran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A "Museum" Apart”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

For something different and very well done, try the Shelburne Museum. Just seven miles south of Burlington, the museum sits on 50 or so acres, housed in 38 exhibition buildings, mostly period-style barns. You'll see Impressionist paintings, folk art, beautiful quilts and textiles, early motor-driven carriages, decorative arts, American paintings (including a Wyeth exhibit), and a wonderful array of early American artifacts. Additionally, you'll find a transplanted lighthouse and perhaps the last side-wheel passenger steamboat in existence, Ticonderoga - a National Historic Landmark. You can spend a few hours or a whole day here (admission actually entitles you to return the next day). We were there on a rainy afternoon, so going in and out of the buildings was a little unpleasant. But the following morning sported a bright blue sky when we returned to complete our visit. This is very interesting and unique place, offering a diverse and unusual array of exhibits that you simply don't see at most traditional museums.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank boomerfit65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shelburne Museum also viewed

 

Been to Shelburne Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing