We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Night Stay”

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Shelburne
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Shelburne
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Shelburne
Reviewed August 7, 2013

When we checked in we knew this was an older motel. We have stayed at Econ Lodge before and found the room clean and acceptable. The first night we arrvied at 6:30 then settled in after dinner.
The bed was comfortabe but the floor seemd soft, the carpet felt damp to the bare foot. There was no clock/radio or hair dryer, the sink drain didn't work well. I tried to charge by cell phone in the bathroom outlet but when I turned off the light the outlet had no power. Breakfast was meager, free, so I got what I paid for.

The fawcet in the tub had hot water where cold was supposed to be. That was the first night, our second night the tub had cold and colder as did the bathroom sink. Yes, a stone cold shower in the morning! That's day two. Breakfast at McDonald's. When we came back that evening the room had been 1/2 cleaned, the bed not made up, but we had hot water so we showered before bed. We did get a hair dryer from the staff and a clock radio. There was no fridge or coffee maker. The air conditioner did work, but one of the control knobs was broken so it was plug-in on and un-plug off. it was noisey but worked. I couldn't adjust the fan speed so it was bake or listen to the noise.

Room Tip: Try the back seat of your car instead.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Shelburne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 90 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a suite with sofa bed, which we intended on using as we are not a couple! When we saw the condition of the room we asked to change rooms, and were told the hotel was full for the weekend! The sofa bed mattress was moldy, and possibly chewed by rodents? The seams were open and stuffing was missing, and there were huge yellow stains on both sides of the mattress. Unfit for sleeping. The bedding for the mattress was one flat sheet and an old brown frayed, matted blanket ! When we asked for a mattress pad, more sheets, and a nicer blanket, the manager gave us 2 sheets....he didn't have another blanket that night! WE had to share the bed for the weekend as all the other hotels accepting dogs were full as well! The non smoking room was definitely smoked in furniture was filthy and smelly. The windows did not open and were filthy and full of moisture, you couldn't see out. The sidewalks were cracked and caved in. The bathroom sink's faucet was difficult to use.Had to use both hands to turn on and off. The kitchnette had no utensils, plates, paper towels, pots, glasses, cups or dish strainer, not tht we could have stomached having a meal there. The swimming pool was closed and it was obvious it had been that way for a while with all the water and debris on top of the cover....
I reported this hotel to the Shelburne Board of Health on the 25th. The Manager? came to our room at 9 PM that evening We couldn't understand him. Our other friends also staying in other rooms had equally gross rooms with the same problems of filth and similar sofa beds. They too had booked NON smoking rooms and got filthy smelly disgusting rooms.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel!!!!!! wish I had known about trip advisor prior to staying at this hotel...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUSAN U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The owner was working at the desk when I checked in. He wasn't unfriendly, but wasn't welcoming either. The property is spavined across the board, not well maintained at all. The pool has obviously been closed for a long time despite the sunny pics and the wireless Internet didn't work. When we called the front desk about it they told us it did work, hung up, and then didn't pick up when we called back. Oh well.

Overall, I think this is a fine motel if you're seventeen years old and want to go somewhere to do some underage drinking and/or get knocked up. It would also be an appropriate place to bring a low-rent denizen of a street corner. It wasn't for us. And I was astounded at how much we spent to stay at such a hole; motels this poor should be about forty bucks a night.

But at least we could bring our dog!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toddworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The worst motel I've stayed at in years. Their advertisement stated "recently renovated" and "outdoor swimming pool". Both are lies. The rooms haven't been updated since the 50's. While there is a pool it hasn't been open in years. The management will say anything over the phone. This place may be acceptable in the slums of Calcutta, but not in Burlington or anywhere in the US. Stay away!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garbsantafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights , the hotel wasn't horrible , but the tubs/showers needed a lot to be desired . We had 5 rooms and all the shower/baths were different and sub standard . The breakfast was very meager . Only Hot items was make your own waffles . Very limited other choices . The staff were very helpful and pleasant though .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosalie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Seriously, Just was up on the 6/15 weekend and this place is a complete embarassment to the motel/hotel industry. Rooms were horrendous and most items were broken. Fridge freezer was a solid block of frost ice, the termostat control busted off and when my family arrived there they had to clean their own room. We even booked a room with two queen beds and It only had one.

When we went to the downstairs lobby they refused to resolve any issues and said all the hotels are booked because of the soccer torunament and a large fishing derby in the area. Their response to my wife was good luck finding a place. This hotel is run by a bunch of India folks and they were disrespectful to my wife and kids. They are lucky I didn't take the 4 hour ride up there to settle it.

The pool was not even open nor did it look like it ever was. Covered in green slime and looked to no longer retain water. THey charged us $149.00 a night because they jacked up the prices 3 months ago knowing there would be no way to get out of the experience. THey told my wife they would not give her any money back. I'm currently prusuing a lawsuit against these folks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Where to start? All the other negative reviews are accurate: the service is surly, the room is stinky, dirty and rundown; amenities and facilities don't exist, the pool is closed. Walls are paper thin; luckily the guys next door and their two hunting dogs kept quiet all night. I guess it's a "pet-friendly" hotel. I wish I'd checked TripAdvisor before booking this place. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Room Tip: There are none.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Shelburne
Quality Inn Shelburne
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Shelburne/burlington
3.9 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Smart Suites Burlington
Smart Suites Burlington
#5 of 12 in South Burlington
351 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
671 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 12 in South Burlington
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Shelburne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Shelburne

Address: 3164 Shelburne Rd, Shelburne, VT 05482-6847
Location: United States > Vermont > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Shelburne
Price Range: $39 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Shelburne 1.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hotel Shelburne
Econo Lodge Shelburne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing