We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a good decorator and to be modernized!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Shelburne/burlington
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shelburne
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs a good decorator and to be modernized!”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This Days Inn is not crappy or a dump, but I have definitely been in better hotels/motels. Let me think... in the past week alone, I have stayed at 4 different motels (North Star, Belair, Red Roof Inn, Champlain), and I would have to rank them from best to worst overall as follows: Red Roof Inn, Belair, Days Inn, and North Star. This hotel has poor craftsmanship - take a look at the wood and mirrors in your rooms, the AC is ANCIENT, the heat thermostat ancient and radiators rusty, art/decor ancient (80's/early 90's), wallpaper cheap (it's peeling), "gold" and "white" decor out of style (it reminds me of something my mother would have enjoyed in the 80's or that an elderly couple would taking a liking towards). The TV is relatively modern (not a flat-screen, but that is unnecessary), the windows open (some places are single pane and sealed shut; this one allows you to open it, which is great for getting fresh air and keeping juice cold since there is not a refrigerator or microwave in the room), the walls are VERY thin (I have been here for only a few hours and already heard people down the hall having sex and heard another mother/family's baby crying, staff, etc.). The soap/shampoo is absolutely DISGUSTING (Red Roof in has the best - smells the best and is of great quality), there are unfinished paint jobs in our room, the bed is not very comfortable, LIMITED outlets in bedroom (Red Roof has ample outlets - this place has VERY FEW, and most are inaccessible, ie: behind the bed, furniture, etc). The place needs to be better maintained, updated (renovated, etc), decor modernized (it's 80's/early 90's -ish), etc. On the plus side, the bathroom is a nice size. Good luck!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back; the view is prettier! (You get a view of the lake, and there are picnic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Not2bforgot10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    215
    98
    52
    37
See reviews for
205
176
47
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We were on the bottom floor which smells musty like a basement<room was spscious had a kichenette which was nice .Beds were not comfy,bring your own pillows.
We only stayed one night on our way to montreal,close to burlington and Lake Champlaine

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruziks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Came here with my girlfriend for a weekend away at a reasonable price. We didn't need a whole lot, and this place was perfect for us. If you're looking for all kinds of frills, spring for someplace else. If you're like us and you just need a place to get away to without the bells and whistles, you could do a lot worse than the Days Inn.

The man working the front desk was very nice and helpful. When we called down for extra towels, he was there in about 35 seconds flat.

The complimentary breakfast was great as well. Not a huge spread, but it was everything you really need to get up and going for a day of exploring Burlington.

The hotel was very clean, and I really have no complaints. Any negative reviews you see on here are from people who were expecting the Days Inn to be some sort of five-star grand hotel. If you have realistic expectations and book your hotel accordingly, the Days Inn will suit you very well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Real nice location on the south end of Burlington, about 10 minutes from the downtown area. Hotel is set off from the road, looks nice on the outside and isn't too bad on the inside although it does show signs of wear. Rooms are adequate size and clean with little outside noise. Breakfast is provided in a small area - get there early for a good seat overlooking the field and woods behind the hotel. We've been here 5 times and have paid a variety of rates - many are good deals, others aren't depending on the time of the year. Negotiate if possible. We will be back and use this hotel whenever in the area.

Room Tip: avoid rooms near the stairwells as the open/closing of doors makes a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaorVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2011

1st bad sign was the hotel manager arguing with a past guest on the phone.
2nd was, while waiting to the arguement to end so we could check in, found a seat in lobby. on the table was a used needle, empty insulin bottle and dirty tissues.
3rd: put the placard for clean sheets; returned to made bed, same sheets ( which has a distinct stain) . confronted the housekeeper and was told they did not stock king sheets on their cart but she would get some. STILL WAITING! the place is a rathole and should be removed from all websites!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamdebadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed here in June coming back from a road trip to Bar Harbor, ME. We stayed here after reading several positive reviews. I can say it was very affordable, clean and friendly. Love the long driveway for a nice power walk after breakfast. Only complaint is, I wish we could have had a room on the ground floor. Picnic tables out back by the pond and ducks would have been more enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valorie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This hotel is neither one to rave about or hate as some of the other posters have suggested. I recommend this hotel if you want somewhere that is clean and functional while charging a reasonable rate. It is less that 10 minutes to Burlington by car so when all the hotels in Burlington sell out, this is a very good alternative. I found the young man on the front desk to be both polite and helpful. When I travel, I am not looking for an amazing hotel. I just want a comfortable bed, a clean room and some peace to get a good night's sleep. The comment about the pool being cold is correct. You have to be made of neoprene to use it. If you want a hotel to rave about, then go and pay an extra 60 bucks in Burlington. Otherwise, this one will do just fine for the average traveller. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpionfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Shelburne
Quality Inn Shelburne
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
3.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 12 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Smart Suites Burlington
Smart Suites Burlington
#5 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Shelburne/burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Shelburne/burlington

Property: Days Inn Shelburne/burlington
Address: 3229 Shelburne Rd, Shelburne, VT 05482-6829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Shelburne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Shelburne/burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Shelburne/burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Shelburne/Burlington Hotel Shelburne
Shelburne Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing