We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pet Lovers Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dog Chapel

The Dog Chapel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built by renowned artist and founder of Dog Mountain, Stephen Huneck, this unique chapel, welcoming both parishioners and their dogs, is styled in the manner of a 19th-century village church in Vermont.
Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pet Lovers Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Unbelieveable sentiment portrayed by humans for their pets. The founder wrote some great childern's books about pets. Their are pocnics for pets and other celebrations worth the time of visit.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Len R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    17
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“If You're Passing Through...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

When my family and I visited the Dog Chapel, on a road trip, and needed to get out of the car for a bit, and St. Johnsbury was that place, and as per TripAdvisor, I found the Dog Chapel! And I'm glad we did. We were in a week in to our two week trip, and missing our pets greatly, and seeing all the people with their dogs made us happy, but my mom and I had to leave the actual chapel bit before we started crying (people's tributes to their deceased pets were on the wall.) The art they have there, of course, is lovely, albeit expensive.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank devontastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardwick, Vermont
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a great place to stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I thought the place was pretty cool, the first time I saw it, but then I realized that the stained glass was just inserted with dog art into old glass. It certainly is a unique experience, even after the artist Stephen Hunek has passed away, but personally, I didn't have the desire to ever go back, once I had seen it all. I can't afford any of the artist's carvings or furniture and his marketing to the public is a bit overdone.

Helpful?
4 Thank NEKArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Respectful space for dog lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is a beautiful, tiny chapel dedicated to the memories of dogs past and present. To see the multi-colored pastel notes all over the entrance is very moving. Each contains a tribute to a beloved family pet.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancyzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you have a soul...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Then you absolutely must visit Dog Mountain. We didn't even plan to stop here, but turned in at the last minute after seeing signs, and we agree it was the most moving part of our entire sightseeing adventures. Dog lover or not, this is a MUST see place!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog Chapel also viewed

Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
 
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
 

Been to The Dog Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing