We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely chance to stay in someone's home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed in a number of B&Bs around New England this fall. This was the most "authentic" of them, in that it was the owner's home and she let rooms to guests. The owner has restored this house and I must she's down a wonderful job. It's gorgeous. There's an especially lovely grand staircase. There are also several lounges to sit in.

Because it is a home rather than a hotel (as is the case with some other B&bs we stayed in - this is not a criticism), there are perhaps not all the features you might wish for (no air conditioning - it was unseasonally warm, it isn't en suite (but doesn't claim to be and the bathroom is good) and the door to our room was a bit tricky (because it is old it has warped so it was difficult to shut properly and then difficult to open) and we weren't given a key (since we were travelling from Scotland we perhaps had more valuables with us than others might and therefore this bothered me more than it might in other circumstances).

Breakfast is at a communal dining table - whilst not generally being a fan of these, it did work well and the other guests were friendly and interesting to talk to. Breakfast was a fruit plate followed by a hot entree (omelette, I think), which was good and changes.

There is a large carpark at the rear of the house. Note that the guest house is a little difficult to find - the satnav took us almost to it, but there is no sign outside (I think because of restrictions in view of the historical nature of the neighbourhood) and the houses are set a bit back from the road so it is difficult to see numbers. Moral: pay more attention to the detailed map before you go!

The owner was also very helpful with e.g. restaurant suggestions.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Larklight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

We arrived Sat afternoon to this grand house to stay for 2 nights. We had booked via Internet from Australia. Maureen welcomed us & we shown to our room, big comfy & nice. Breaky was yummy & fresh. We sat both afternoons on the porch in the afternoon sun rays which was relaxing. A good place to come and rest awhile thanks Maureen

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bothofus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

The rooms & decor are very authentic at this Victorian b & b. We stayed in the Rose Room which had a beautiful turret and antique double bed with huge wooden frame. The only downside is that there are no private bathrooms...we went over a Sunday & Monday night in mid September so didn't have any trouble but I can see it being an issue if the house is full. The innkeeper, Maurine, says she doesn't like to book it full usually - but future travelers should check ahead of time if bathroom availability is key for you. We found Estabrook House to be a great home base for exploring the NE Kingdom.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Estabrook is a beautifully decorated and restored Victorian in a PERFECT location in the elegant historic section of St. Johnsbury.

Our room was large and very comfortable, and had a window seat with a gorgeous stained glass window that looked out over a peaceful stretch of park. Wow! Just beautiful. We were in town during a freakish heat spell in Vermont, but we slept very comfortably with the two very quiet fans that were strategically placed in the room. (I don't know what kind of fans they were, but they were excellent -- very small, very quiet, and very effective.)

The large bathroom was just down the hall, but we had exclusive use of it. There was a very comfortable "family room" on our floor, complete with air conditioner and tv. It's only for guests, so it didn't make us feel that we would have been intruding on anyone else's (host's) space. The home was so beautiful that I wished that I could have toured the entire three-plus stories.

The breakfast, too, was excellent. We had very tasty french toast, freshly-picked garden berries, and fresh-squeezed OJ. (We were also offered real cream for our berries, but we didn't want it.)

The host is very warm, friendly, informative, and passionate about where she lives. She's very involved in her community, and is happy to share recommendations and ideas with travelers. Had we known ahead of time how much St. Johnsbury has to offer, we would have planned to stay in town longer. She has a lovely B and B, and we enthusiastically recommend it to anyone traveling through St. Johnsbury.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suelovesbaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Lena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deninnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaMaria62Argentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Johnsbury
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
12.5 mi away
Burke Mountain Hotel & Conference Center
14.5 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairbanks Inn
Fairbanks Inn
#2 of 2 in Saint Johnsbury
222 reviews
7.2 mi away
Rabbit Hill Inn
Rabbit Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Saint Johnsbury
1,258 reviews
5.4 mi away
Maplewood Lodge
Maplewood Lodge
#4 of 4 in Saint Johnsbury
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1596 Main St, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819-1845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Johnsbury
Price Range: $102 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing