We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I almost drove by not thinking this could be the comfort Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 5, 2010

I had the need to stay here for many years as I had a college student that was going to a nearyby college. When coming up to this hotel I was shocked to see this hotel as it looks like it should be a 5 stars accomadations. Not your typical comfort Inn. As you will see if you happen to stay here as we have for years.

Very friendly and helpfull staff, and this is on repeat visits so this can't be just by chance. I would recommend this clean, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packupupandaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager and Regional Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2010

Thank you so much for taking time to review the hotel and staff. Our favorite customers are our repeat guests. Seeing friendly faces over and over throughout the year is a great feeling. I'll be sure to pass your comments along to my team members. Thanks so much!
Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 585 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2010

i stayed at the comfort inn in st. johnsbury, vermont last week. i went with a group of friends to ski at burke mountain. our trip was organized with a group of friends by the extremely helpful and knowledgable sales director david. we hit the jackpot. the staff was wonderful, the rooms were immaculate, the beds extremely comfortable, great breakfast, the saline pool was beyond my wildest imagination, the front desk staff went above and beyond. i can't wait to find an excuse to come back to my now favorite hotel. why can't the new york city hotels learn something from my now favorite vacation resort hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puttycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager & Regional Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2010

I'm thrilled to hear about your group's experience. If you had that much fun this season you should come back when the snow is several feet deep. Thank goodness that mountains can make snow. This has been one strange winter. David, the hotel's sales manager is one of a kind. He treats each group like family. I'll be sure to pass your comments along to David and the rest of the staff. Thank you for taking time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We just returned from staying at this beautiful hotel and skiing both Burke Mountain and Cannon. We are a family of five and have been vacationing here for the past five years. When our girls were younger we would stay in the summer and take them to Santa's Village and Six Gun City. This year we are all taking up mountain biking and plan to come up once or twice to ride on the local trail system in Burke. Each winter, we stay during school vacations, Christmas and President's week The hotel is super family friendly and is always being improved. My three daughters LOVE the pool and arcade. I love the rooms and the fact that the hotel is incredibly clean. Another plus is the hotel takes being environmentally friendly to a whole new level. Our room had two queen sized beds plus a pullout sofa. Everything in the room is spotlessly clean and well kept. From front desk staff to the young girl in the breakfast room, everyone you come into contract with is friendly and knowledgeable. The girl in breakfast was handing out luggage tags to the guests. The tag read "relax and rejuvenate", that is exactly what we did. Great place for families and couples to getaway from it all.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southerngirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager & Regional Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2010

Thank you for repeatedly bringing your family to vacation in Northern Vermont. Growing up in southern New England I fell in love with this region. When the opportiunity to relocate here with my family became a reality...I could not pass it up. I really enjoy skiing both Burke and Cannon. If your family is anything like mine you will fall in love with Kingdom Trails. My two boys got me hooked on mountain biking several years ago. Thank you for staying with us and please feel free to spread the word.

Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

This is a very nice business class hotel, however, the front desk day staff is quite unprofessional in their treatment of guests and how they behave. I noticed that the daytime person had her shoes off behind the counter and her socks were not clean. I don't think this is acceptable or professional and the management must be blind to not see this or to let it go. Also, the pool needs some repair and attention. Overall, clean and the housekeeping staff is great but the front area desk staff could use some training without any doubt.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager & Regional Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2010

Thank you so much for taking time to share your observations. Having opened this hotel from the ground up, I can honestly tell you that I have never witnessed an employee without proper footwear. This has been addressed with the department manager and passed down to our guest service agents. We strive to operate a world class hotel and anything short of that gets scrutinized. The pool was shut down for repairs on January 11th for 24 hours as we had already scheduled repairs to the pools tiles. The holidays made getting these repairs completed sooner next to impossible. Again, thank you for taking time to review my hotel. We'll hope to see you in the future.
Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

If you are like me, you hear "Comfort Inn" and hope that it will at least be clean. Think again! This is such a great little hotel. The staff is always helpful and polite, you would think they sent them to charm school. The rooms are just as they are pictured, spacious, very nicely appointed and the bathrooms are great. The breakfast is better than most continental breakfasts offered at hotels. There are two waffle makers along with eggs, bagels and pastries, coffee, tea and juice. The pool is very clean, small but perfect for a quick dip, and the hot tub is great too. The fitness center has up to date machines that are in good shape, and there is a view of the pool. Small, clean and useful. There is a sauna there too which is nice. I have to travel to the area every few months and I always look forward to my stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahWesternMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, Regional Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2010

Thank you for being a repeat guest of our hotel...it means a lot to us. I guess in some ways we do send our staff to charm school. The ultimate secret to our success is that every person working at the hotel knows the importance of their individual job. We all care deeply about the hotels success and I believe it shows through in everything we do. Thank you again for the great review. We'll see you on your next visit.
Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Great room, breakfast, and front desk personnel in beautiful St. Johnsbury. The pool and spa area needs a little updating, but I imagine that will be done soon since the management seems to try to please guests. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papasponies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, Regional Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2009

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to give us a positive review. As noted in your review, our pool area takes quite a beating during the summer and fall months. To avoid closing the pool during our busiest time of the year, we schedule regular renovations and updates (throughout the hotel) in late October and November. Everything has to be perfect before all our skiers and snowmobiliers start arriving. Again, thank you for staying and spreading the word about your experience at our hotel. We'll look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

a great hotel in a small town. staff was very helpful. hotel was one of the cleanest i have ever stayed at. cant wait for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheech711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, Regional Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2009

Just wanted to thank you for taking time to review my hotel. We strive to be the very best and we're always thrilled to hear when we exceed guests expectations. We will look forward to seeing you next year.

Thanks for vacationing!
Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Johnsbury
14.0 mi away
Burke Mountain Hotel & Conference Center
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
758 reviews
18.1 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#3 of 5 in Littleton
148 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairbanks Inn
Fairbanks Inn
#2 of 2 in Saint Johnsbury
222 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rabbit Hill Inn
Rabbit Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Saint Johnsbury
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain

Address: 703 US Route 5, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819-8937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Price Range: $156 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Choice Hotels Gold Award-winning hotel is located in the heart of Vermont's majestic Northeast Kingdom. The Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain is Northern New England's best year-round vacation destination. Your stay with us includes over-sized guestrooms with a spacious living area, in-room microwave & refrigerators, and free Wi-Fi! A complimentary hot breakfast buffet is served each morning with a widespread array of hot & cold options from eggs, to make your own Belgium waffles with Vermont maple syrup, to warm yogurt, cereal, and much more! The hotel's guests also enjoy the large fitness center, whirlpool, sauna, heated indoor saltwater pool, arcade room, guest laundry and 24-hour business center. Vacation packages with Burke Mountain, Cannon Mountain, Bretton Woods, Jay Peak, Kingdom Trails, Santa's Village and the Mount Washington Cog Railway are available throughout the year. Ask us about our family fun packages, we'd love to fill you in! We are conveniently located within 1-5 miles of excellent local restaurants and local shopping featuring many items you will only find here in Vermont. We look forward to having you with us here at the Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain and wish you safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Saint Johnsbury
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Saint Johnsbury
Saint Johnsbury Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing