We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stay here every year for our annual stay in VT "getaway". We run a seasonal Vermont resort and every fall we go up to "The Kingdom" to relax. We love the Comfort Inn! Brett makes you feel like you're his best friend when you walk in the door..so inviting and comforting. The hotel itself is amazing.. always sparkling clean and maintained!! The lady who does the breakfast in the morning does an amazing job! We will be back next year as we have been for the last four years. From another lodging facility General Manager.. I strongly suggest you try this hotel if you need one in the St. Johnsbury area... you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for letting us be your "get away" and taking time to post such a nice review on TripAdvisor. All our reviews are critically important to us, but when one comes from an industry professional...it is really special. Thank you for all the compliments and recognizing the hard work and dedication of Carol, our "Breakfast Ambassador". She is incredible and does an amazing job representing our hotel and region.

We'll look forward to seeing you again. Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 593 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

For business purposes, I stay every two months or so at this motel. I was more than surprised that this motel from a national chain was anything but. It is homey, comfortable, and very clean with a responsive staff whose pride in providing professional, kind service is refreshing. There are little things, too, that reflect the management's clear desire to break from being just another carbon copy of a link in a national motel chain: that real maple syrup is provided to guests to elevate what is a fairly routine breakfast is just one example of the little nuances that put this Inn eons ahead of others. Somebody (I'm told by the desk staff that it's "Carol") puts a lot of loving thought and energy in decorating the public areas of the Inn to tastefully reflect the season. You will not be disappointed by the warmth and comfort of a stay at this Inn.

Room Tip: The top floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarzansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We really appreciate your repeated patronage and for taking time to post a TripAdvisor review regarding your experiences. I love your review and thank you for noticing our efforts to be more than a "chain hotel". In a recent TripAdvisor review I shared my/our feelings with the world. Franchises are a neccesary evil in many industries...including the lodging industry. We do our best to provide world-class service and accommodations. Our team's goal is to earn a reputation for being "New England's Best Hotel". Thank you for recognizing our efforts.

We will look forward to seeing you in the future. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I've stayed at the St. Johnsbury Comfort Inn & Suites several times now. This hotel never disappoints. The regular rooms are spacious. Two double beds, lounge chair, couch with coffee table, small round table with two chairs. Room comes with a flat screen TV with free HBO. Also includes free wireless internet access. The bathroom is a decent size and always clean. I usually don’t hear much noise from any of the guests. The hotel provides free breakfast and 24 hour coffee. In the lower level there is a good size pool, hot tub, sauna and locker rooms as well as an exercise room and an adjacent game room. Parking is free and there are ample parking spaces. The staff is always friendly, professional and attentive. The interior and exterior is clean and well maintained. The rates are reasonable for what you get. You won’t be disappointed if you choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank_from_upstate_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you so much for the repeated patronage and sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. I'm glad that we have been able to cosistently meet and/or exceed your expectations. We LOVE seeing familiar faces and appreciate you staying with us regularly.

Please consider "liking" us on Facebook. We are focused on providing our facebook fans with information on promotions, discounts and upcoming events.

Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is one of the nicest top rated Comfort Inn & Suites in the country. We definitely had everything we need for an excellent night stay. The room was extra spacious and clean, with tons of pillows and a top quality comfortable bed. Perfect after a long day on the road.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LivingHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate all your positive feedback. Years ago, the hotel was actually choosen as the #1 Comfort Inn Worldwide out of more than 1500 hotel and named "Comfort Inn of the Year". We have gone on to earn multiple Platinum and Gold Hospitality Awards. While all the different recognitions have been very rewarding...guest feedback remains our most important "measuring stick".

We really appreciate all the great reviews our guests post. Please know that it means the world to us and our business.

Hope to see you again in the future. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I, along with my sister and brother-in-law, all from the Boston area, met our sister and brother-in-law from the Montreal area at the Comfort Inn & Suites for a special get-together to toast our 15th, 40th, and 50th anniversaries and our Dad's 100th birthday on Nov. 11. The hotel is about a 3 hour drive from both directions and very convenient to route I-91. We stayed in the double-queen rooms with sitting area which were spacious, nicely decorated and clean. We are young seniors and were pleased with the rate offered for our stay. Staff was friendly and accommodating. There was coffee available upon arrival in the afternoon and coffee and cookies in the evening. Yogurt is only available during specified breakfast hours as the cooler is kept locked at other times. Dinner at Balliwicks on Mill was excellent as was lunch at The Wine Gate on Depot St. Both are an easy drive from the hotel. We highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Congratulations...times three!

Thank you for allowing us to host such a special time in your family. We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and that it was a memorable one.

Keep us in mind for the future. We would love to see you again.

Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I went along with a friend who is visiting the area for a college tour. Room was very clean and roomy. The room had a great tv, refrigerator and microwave too. The lobby was wonderful to hang out for a bit with the fireplace, it made it really cozy. We went to look at the pool and I was pleasantly surprised with the large size. The pool also was a handicap accessible pool, very nice. There is a hot tub next to the pool, and a sauna room as well. There was an adequately sized fitness room which was very clean as well. What i thought was a very cool amenity was the game room which a lot of hotels do not offer. I was impressed with the options of a pool table, video games, and interactive games as well. Then we get to breakfast the next morning. The area was kept nice and clean by an attendant. The options were many, I had trouble choosing what I wanted. Homemade waffles, fresh fruit, cereal, bagels pastry, muffins, toast, eggs, sausage patties, bacon, juices milk coffee and teas.
All of this in a safe convenient location. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and then taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. My team and I appreciate all the positive feedback about our hotel and amenities. I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast...we've been focused on improving it and have been getting consistently positive feedback from our guests.

I hope you enjoyed visiting Lyndon State College and that we will see you in the future.

Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

One if the best place to stay in all Vermont. Located on I-91, just outside of St. Johnsbury. Rooms are large and clean. The hotel is quiet, sleep quality is good. It is a little far from restaurants and internet is sometimes slow.

I'll definitely go back if I have to be in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dav2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed our accommodations and think we are one of Vermont's best hotels. As you mentioned, we do not have an on-site restaurant. Fortunately, the local restaurants are worth the drive.

We will hope to see you again in the future. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Johnsbury
14.0 mi away
Burke Mountain Hotel & Conference Center
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
764 reviews
18.1 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#3 of 5 in Littleton
151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairbanks Inn
Fairbanks Inn
#2 of 2 in Saint Johnsbury
226 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rabbit Hill Inn
Rabbit Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Saint Johnsbury
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain

Address: 703 US Route 5, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819-8937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Price Range: $154 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Choice Hotels Gold Award-winning hotel is located in the heart of Vermont's majestic Northeast Kingdom. The Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain is Northern New England's best year-round vacation destination. Your stay with us includes over-sized guestrooms with a spacious living area, in-room microwave & refrigerators, and free Wi-Fi! A complimentary hot breakfast buffet is served each morning with a widespread array of hot & cold options from eggs, to make your own Belgium waffles with Vermont maple syrup, to warm yogurt, cereal, and much more! The hotel's guests also enjoy the large fitness center, whirlpool, sauna, heated indoor saltwater pool, arcade room, guest laundry and 24-hour business center. Vacation packages with Burke Mountain, Cannon Mountain, Bretton Woods, Jay Peak, Kingdom Trails, Santa's Village and the Mount Washington Cog Railway are available throughout the year. Ask us about our family fun packages, we'd love to fill you in! We are conveniently located within 1-5 miles of excellent local restaurants and local shopping featuring many items you will only find here in Vermont. We look forward to having you with us here at the Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain and wish you safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Saint Johnsbury
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Saint Johnsbury
Saint Johnsbury Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing