We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic and Simple” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Jakarta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic and Simple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

At first we picked this place just because we didn't get any accommodation anywhere else that we want to go around North of Vermont but soon enough we feel comfortable there. Great room for our family of three and quite clean. The Cleaning staff did very well to keep it up everyday during our stay there for 4 days. The only downside was the breakfast room and the breakfast quality but then again we just quite picky to begin with. We were there during Columbus weekend so it was pretty crowded, the entire time we were there. Good friendly staffs and good selection of TV channels for the young ones. Overall, the place was basic and simple but in the good kinda way, we did enjoy our time there.

Room Tip: Room far away from the elevator is always quieter
See more room tips
Green Features: Comfort Inn doing a great job with their recycle program, keep it up.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nkorourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us for four days and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I appreciate you taking time to compliment the hotel's housekeeping team and the overall cleanliness of our property. I'm glad you found my team members to be friendly and enjoyed your stay.

We would love to see you again. Keep us in mind for the upcoming ski season (room, breakfast and TWO lift tickets starting as low as $159.99 per night). We proudly offer New England's best family ski and stay vacation packages.

Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    146
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
226
155
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

A wonderful sight at the end of a long day of touring. We had driven through the White Mountains from Maine, Check in was good, the lobby was impressive, our room was superb, with a blissful bed and great shower. Room to spread out and relax, to recall the sights and to order in the tastiest pizza EVER.
In the morning the breakfast was excellent, great choices, hot and filling, then we were ready to go again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex39_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I have to say, I absolutely LOVE your review. Doesn't vacation food (and drinks) just taste better??? I can eat something on vacation that is "to die for" and if I had it at home...it would be "good". I'm convinced that a great vacation enhances all your senses. I'm glad that your vacation and entire hotel experience set the stage for the best pizza EVER. From my experience, they are all related.

We hope to see you in the future. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Everything was excellent. Receptionists were very helpful. Breakfast was pretty good with multiple options. If something was missing, you just had to ask for it. All personnel was very helful. The rooms were very clean. No complain, just a little pricey.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you SOOOOOOOOOOOO much for being our 300th review on TripAdvisor. As of February 2013, we only had 150 reviews total. Just to be clear...only 150 TripAdvisor reviews over 13 years in operation. Thankfully, the overwhelming feedback was incredibly positive. Earlier this year, I challenged my team members to seek reviews from EVERY guest they came into contact with...and it has worked. In just a few months we have literally doubled the number of reviews and we are not done yet. We have high aspirations for 2014. Is it possible to reach 1000 reviews??? We won't know until we try.

Tripadvisor was actually founded the same year I opened the hotel. We were reviewed for the first time in August of 2003. I personally respond to every review (in multiple languages thanks to Google translate). We are incredibly thankful for ALL the guests we have served during our first 13 years in operation. All the feedback has been used on a daily basis to improve our hotel. Our guests have truly formed what we are today.

We genuinely appreciate you and your valuable time. Please come back for another visit (rates are lower now that the foliage season has passed). Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We ended up here, by chance, after walking out of the awful Colonade Inn at Lydonville. Staff were friendly and polite and rooms were very clean and very comfortable. Slightly expensive but well worth it. Plenty of choice at breakfast. A coffee machine in the room would have been nice but there was coffee available most of the day in the dining room.
My only complaint is even though our bill had been paid we were asked to tell reception when we were checking out, but after 5 minutes of no one appearing we gave up and left.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazydaisy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your overall experience and our breakfast. We've been trying to improve our breakfast selection and have been getting some really positive feedback. I apologize the desk being unattended at your departure. Trust me when I say that the department manager and I will be looking into this. We have a strict policy regarding the desk being attended at all times. There are exceptions to every rule and we will be looking into this matter. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

We would love to see you again in the future. Until then...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
263 reviews
242 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a nice hotel.
The lobby is very well designed and well appointed.
You feel very "cozy" and welcomed as soon as you walk in.
There is a huge center staircase...nice touch.
The hallways were very nicely decorated with mirrors and wall lighting sconces.
The clerk at the desk said that the property is about 13 years old.
I had a room with 2 queens. There was just a small round table and no desk to work at. This is not uncommon in some chains. If I could guess, the king rooms have a desk.
There was a fridge and micro.
Plenty of towels...the water pressure and temperature was good.
The a/c was a bit finicky to regulate. It could have just been this room though.
Steve at the desk was very knowledgeable and pleasant.
I would stay again.
: -)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eulalia_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We really appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. You are correct that all our king bedded rooms do provide a desk and comfortable executive chair. I'm glad that you enjoyed your experience. We hope you will come back in the future and see us again.

Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The #1 Comfort Inn rating is well-deserved. It's the best one we've ever stayed in. (It also was by far the most expensive stay we've ever had at a Comfort property.) The breakfast was excellent, and every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MHS5744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed you visit and that we lived up to our awards and reviews on TripAdvisor. Day in and day out we seek ways to continually improve the hotel. A day doesn't go by that a guest stops me in the halls and mentions reading our reviews on TripAdvisor. It is very rewarding to operate a hotel that is so well received by our guests. Please consider "liking" our Facebook page. We regularly run specials, promotions and provide a lot of information on local attractions/events.

We hope to see you in the future. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were only here one night, but had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The hotel staff was very friendly, rooms were clean and spacious and nicely decorated. The breakfast was nice - plenty of choices of things to eat. It was a little pricey for a Comfort Inn because of it being a fall weekend in peak season for leaf peepers, and it's one of the only hotels around that area. But it was a great choice for our stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rrozan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and the hotel. Unfortunately, foliage season has come to an end. We would love to see you this winter. Please keep us in mind if you like to ski. We proudly offer New England's best ski and stay packages. We also are booking up fast for our peak spring and summer weekends for car clubs. If you happen to belong to a car club, please email me directly. We LOVE car clubs and still have some of the best weekends available.

Thanks again for staying with us. Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Johnsbury
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
13.9 mi away
Burke Mountain Hotel & Conference Center
13.9 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#4 of 5 in Littleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairbanks Inn
Fairbanks Inn
#2 of 2 in Saint Johnsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
6.6 mi away
Rabbit Hill Inn
Rabbit Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Saint Johnsbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
Address: 703 US Route 5, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819-8937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Choice Hotels Gold Award-winning hotel is located in the heart of Vermont's majestic Northeast Kingdom. The Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain is Northern New England's best year-round vacation destination. Your stay with us includes over-sized guestrooms with a spacious living area, in-room microwave & refrigerators, and free Wi-Fi! A complimentary hot breakfast buffet is served each morning with a widespread array of hot & cold options from eggs, to make your own Belgium waffles with Vermont maple syrup, to warm yogurt, cereal, and much more! The hotel's guests also enjoy the large fitness center, whirlpool, sauna, heated indoor saltwater pool, arcade room, guest laundry and 24-hour business center. Vacation packages with Burke Mountain, Cannon Mountain, Bretton Woods, Jay Peak, Kingdom Trails, Santa's Village and the Mount Washington Cog Railway are available throughout the year. Ask us about our family fun packages, we'd love to fill you in! We are conveniently located within 1-5 miles of excellent local restaurants and local shopping featuring many items you will only find here in Vermont. We look forward to having you with us here at the Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain and wish you safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Saint Johnsbury
Comfort Inn Saint Johnsbury
Saint Johnsbury Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing