We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an overnight visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“an overnight visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was pleasant. They had much to offer including guest laundry facilities, an indoor pool, game room that included a pool table and breakfast. The rooms were nice and comfortable. It is easy to find as it is located just off a well-used highway.

Green Features: Yes, there was a bin for recycling bottles, cans and paper. I appreciate this extra.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retirementfun954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you used and enjoyed all our amenities. As you mentioned, the hotel proudly offers an oversized pool, fitness center, sauna, whirlpool, sun deck, guest laundry facility and video arcade.

Thank you again for the review. We will look forward to seeing you in the future. Until then...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    147
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
227
155
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed in St. Johnsbury while visiting Vermont and New Hampshire to see all the fall colors. The facility was very clean. The staff was friendly and the accommodations very nice. Our room was a non-smoking king with a refrig and a microwave. We were able to do a load of wash that evening. The laundry room was also clean -- 2 front loading washers and 2 dryers. The cost was $2.00 per load. We would recommend and return.

Room Tip: Go to the hotel's website and click on the promotions. Many times they have coupons or % off th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for writing such a great review and sharing your St. Johnsbury visit on TripAdvisor! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your business. The hotel has operated an independent website since 2000. It has been redesigned recentlty and offers a wealth of information on planning a vacation to northern New Hampshire and Vermont. It also offers a "seasonal special" (top of the page) for our guests. The special can be for the current week or for a distant time period.

My team members and I love the foliage too! It is the end of the busiest time of the year. We welcome the transitional period after foliage and before the snow flies that allows us to improve the hotel. Starting today we will be remodeling our Presidential and Vice Presidential suites. The rest of the hotel was completely remodeled this past year. The two suites are getting a completely different design. I'm glad you commented on our guest laundry room. We recently added two new washers and dryers. The feedback from our guests is that they are a HUGE improvement over what we use to offer.

We hope to see you back this winter for some skiing. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very nice Comfort Inn. The room was spacious. Breakfast was excellent for an included in price hotel breakfast. The cookies provided in the lobby added a nice touch. The front desk staff was very helpful in answering our questions and giving us the directions that we needed to explore the area and continue our travels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chuck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting Vermont's Northeast Kingdom and sharing your hotel experience on TripAdvisor. Foliage season is an AMAZING time to be vacationing in northern Vermont. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, the hotel and our staff. We hope to see you again in the future.

Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

By far the nicest Comfort Inn we have ever stayed in! Room was spacious, beds were wonderful, furnishings quite nice. A beautiful huge chandelier greets you in the large entry/registration area. The dining area was quite lovely and the included breakfast was very tasty. Home made cookies are available every evening. We really liked this hotel and would highly recommend it to those traveling in Vermont.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelEnthusiast2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I was tickled to read your review. My team members work incredibly hard to be one of the best Comfort Inns worldwide. We actually were the #1 ranked Comfort Inn back in 2003. In addition, we've earned a handful of Platinum and Gold Hospitality Awards over the years. They are a great team that gives 110% on a daily basis.

Thanks again for such a wonderful review. Hope to see you in the future. Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and had a spacious, comfortable room with good facilities. Refreshing swim in the pool and with no restaurant took the receptionists advice and ordered take-out Chinese which was delivered straight to our room.

Negatives were a noisy fridge in the room, lots of road noise from outside and a pathetic breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maritchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate a review from one of TripAdvisor's "Top Contributors". I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. I apologize for the noisy fridge and our breakfast falling short of your expectations. My email is below. If you have suggestions on how we could improve the breakfast...I would LOVE to hear from you. Please know that we are in the process of adding to and modifying our breakfast. Below is a list of our current breakfast items.

- Fresh baked muffins from our kitchen daily
- Make your own waffle station (two flavors) with REAL Vermont Maple syrup
- Scrambled eggs
- Egg patties for making breakfast sandwiches
- Hard boiled eggs
- Bacon
- Sausage
- Three choices of cereal - Fruit Loops, Raisin Bran, and Honey Nut Cheerios
- Whole wheat bread
- Plain Bagels
- Cinnamon Bagels
- Biscuits
- English muffins
- Sliced American cheese
- Two different types of yogurt
- Cream Cheese
- Butter
- Jellies
- Danish
- Fresh fruit
- Cream of Wheat
- Assorted oatmeal
- Milk
- Coffee
- Assorted teas
- Hot chocolate
- Coffee creamers
- Flavored coffee creamer
- Juice

In addition, we also offer a gluten free selection of breakfast items. We will continue to seek improvements by adding more of a variety and new healthier options. My team members and I appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Large, nicely appointed room that looks pretty new. I thought it was a bit expensive for the area but I didn't really see anything close to that quality in the area so I'm sure that's why they're able to charge more. I thought it was odd that there was no bar and they didn't sell any wine or beer in the pantry so BYOB.

Only gripe is the guy who checked us in was completely devoid of charm, never looked me in the eye, never looked up from the computer and almost seemed angry to even have to be there behind the counter checking people in. He was the same way later when I bought some things from the pantry. Dude - find another job already!

Other than that guy, it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fly4Work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I absolutely apologize for the lack of service you received from the person working the hotel's front desk. There is no excuse for a team member of ours being anything short of "overly hospitable". I will be reaching out to you directly for some additional information. I'm glad that you enjoyed your room and found our accommodations to be acceptable. The hotel doesn't provide liquor service. There are several stores within a very short ride that sell beer, wine and alchohol. For guests traveling up through New Hampshire...be sure to stock up at one of their state run stores. The prices are the best in New England.

Thank you again for posting an honest review of your stay. We will certainly be using your review as a training opportunity for the entire team. We hope you will consider us in the future. Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in your hotel for two nights. We had a suite as there are five of us and it was lovely. The room was clean, quiet and spacious enough for the 5 of us to not get in each other's way. The furnishings looked well kept, the carpet did not look old and worn, and the room had all the extras - fridge, microwave, etc. My family took advantage of the pool several times over our short stay and were pleased with their experience. The location is right off the highway and we couldn't hear it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting your first review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience and hope you will consider us in the future. This coming winter we are running a special ski and stay package that might interest you. Starting at $159.99 per night...you get your overnight accommodation, hot breakfast, use of the hotels pool/fitness center/arcade and TWO lift tickets to Cannon Mountain. Cannon is located just 30 minutes (all on the highway) from the hotel. We also offer incredible ski and stay packages with Burke, Jay Peak and Bretton Woods. Please feel free to email me directly if I can answer any questions on any of our ski and stay vacation packages.

Thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you this winter. Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Johnsbury
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
14.0 mi away
Burke Mountain Hotel & Conference Center
13.9 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairbanks Inn
Fairbanks Inn
#2 of 2 in Saint Johnsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
6.6 mi away
Rabbit Hill Inn
Rabbit Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Saint Johnsbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
Address: 703 US Route 5, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819-8937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Choice Hotels Gold Award-winning hotel is located in the heart of Vermont's majestic Northeast Kingdom. The Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain is Northern New England's best year-round vacation destination. Your stay with us includes over-sized guestrooms with a spacious living area, in-room microwave & refrigerators, and free Wi-Fi! A complimentary hot breakfast buffet is served each morning with a widespread array of hot & cold options from eggs, to make your own Belgium waffles with Vermont maple syrup, to warm yogurt, cereal, and much more! The hotel's guests also enjoy the large fitness center, whirlpool, sauna, heated indoor saltwater pool, arcade room, guest laundry and 24-hour business center. Vacation packages with Burke Mountain, Cannon Mountain, Bretton Woods, Jay Peak, Kingdom Trails, Santa's Village and the Mount Washington Cog Railway are available throughout the year. Ask us about our family fun packages, we'd love to fill you in! We are conveniently located within 1-5 miles of excellent local restaurants and local shopping featuring many items you will only find here in Vermont. We look forward to having you with us here at the Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain and wish you safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Saint Johnsbury
Comfort Inn Saint Johnsbury
Saint Johnsbury Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing