We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charles Town, West Virginia
1 review
“Family Gathering”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our recent stay in St. Johnsbury at the Comfort Inn and Suites helped make our trip for a family reunion a pleasurable one. The hotel is conveniently located and is clean, bright and cheerful, with the rooms that are tastefully decorated. It was extremely hot during our visit but the rooms had air conditioning units that balanced the temperature, making returning to our room a joy! An evening treat of oatmeal cookie was a pleasant surprise. The front desk staff was extremely helpful in providing assistance on several occasions. We would highly recommend this hotel and will return again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ranson2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I was tickled to read your review and very appreciative that you and your family stayed with us. We absolutely love hosting family reunions and weddings. Thank you for letting us be a part of your special occasion. The "Tarzan hot" temperatures have dropped and we are back to our normal high 70s during the day and high 50s at night.

Please keep us in mind for your winter getaways. We offer incredible ski and stay packages with Burke, Jay Peak, Cannon and Bretton Woods. We'd love to see you back in just a few months!

Until then...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    148
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
228
155
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We absolutely loved staying here for the past week! We felt like we were in a little resort. The pool was awesome for the kids in the afternoons/evenings. The breakfasts were terrific and included their favorite little yogurts which was a total bonus. The room was nice and big and with the extra pull out sofa bed, we minimized the sibling rivalry LOL! Last but not least, the staff was super helpful and made us feel like we were home. The cookies in the afternoons were a special touch for the kids that they loved as well. Thank you for making our stay in this wonderful area of Vermont a wonderful family vacation. We will definitely be back (oh, and the Santa's Village package is fantastic too!).

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and with young kids, being closer to the pool and the breakfast room...
See more room tips
Green Features: Great way to help keep our environment clean. Thank you!
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We really appreiciate you staying with us and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Thank you for recognizing the hard work and dedication of my team members. Please know that we appreciate all you positive feedback. Our Santa's Village package is a great deal. I remember going to Santa's Village as a kid and what a wonderful time I had. The amusement park has grown and is a wonderful way to spend the day as a family.

Please keep us in mind for your winter family getaways. We offer incredible ski and stay packages with Burke, Jay Peak, Cannon and Bretton Woods. We'd love to see you back in just a few months!

Until then...safe travels!
Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My recent stay at the Comfort Inn in Saint Johnsbury, Vermont, wasn't my 1st, I actually stayed there twice in the past, and was left with a positive impression of both stays, but I don't recall the specific details as it has been a few years since.

But my recent stay stood out, it was just one big pleasant experience from the moment I got in touch with Mr. Brett L. Loehr, The general manager, till my checkout.

I was looking to get away for a few days to NH, but I couldn't get a decent place to stay for a reasonable price, then I remembered this hidden gem on the border of New Hampshire and Vermont, at the junction of interstates I-91 and I-93, so I goggled for their contact info, checked rates online, and found a page about this "Manager Special" I didn't even notice that it had expired, I just fired off an email saying I have stayed here before, and would love to return, asking if I can get this promotion.

It didn't take long for me to get this friendly and professional response saying, we'd love to have u back, and we'll honor the promotion of last week...!!

In just a few minutes my reservation was booked and waiting for my arrival anytime later that evening, check-in was a breeze, I got a choice of what floor I wished to stay, and was in my room in less then 5 minutes after my arrival.

The hotel was recently renovated, it was nice at my earlier stays, and its even better now, its beautiful and fresh, rooms are tasty decorated, specious nice and big, rooms that size are called a suite elsewhere. There is a big sofa in the living area, furniture is neat, big flat screen, wifi is free and connection is excellent.

Staff were pleasant and served with a smile and friendly attitude,
We asked and were granted a late check out which we appreciated.

Pool & Jacuzzi in the lower level is sparkling clean, pool is big and very well maintained, there is a nice game room which we didn't have a chance to enjoy yet.

Breakfast area and Lobby are very nice and tasty decorated. I noticed a fire place in the lobby, which I guess is lighted in winter.

I cant comment on the Breakfast, as we have slept in, and skipped breakfast.

Add to all that, that the setting of this hotel is on beautiful well maintained grounds and picturesque landscaping, between mountains. in a quiet area, not commercial, just off highway, in an area where highway traffic isn't high. - The view from our window on the 4th floor was beautiful, mountains all around.

All in all this was a really nice experience, and I consider this hotel to be a hidden gem in the area, for visitors to New Hampshire and Vermont.

p.s. when following GPS, as soon as u get off the highway just look out for the hotel, it is even closer to highway then GPS says. you should see it as soon you get off the interstate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuietSmilingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave such a detailed review. I was more than happy to assist you and helping with your vacation. I will share your review with all my team members. We REALLY appreciate your repeated patronage and hope to see you again in the future.

Until then...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondacks
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Clean rooms, good service, an ok breakfast all at a reasonable price. While I did not use the pool it looked clean and would be great for a family to enjoy. The exercise room was small but didn't seem to be used by many of the guests. I did use the machines and a few need to be updated.

Over all it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all your compliments and for recognizing the cleanliness of our hotel. I am currently in the process of writing this coming year's budget. In this case, I will certainly look at what we can improve in the fitness center. Our treadmills, one bike and eliptical are all relatively new. It may be time to replace one of the bikes and I already had plans to replace the stair machine.

Thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you again in the future. Until then...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a nice looking box-hotel. Check-in was easy and while there I asked about the hotels age as the lobby looked so nice and I was surprised to find out that it was 14 years old. They underwent a refurbishing about 2 yrs ago and it still looks great. The room, 2 queen beds, was neat & tidy and neither my wife nor I noticed anything out of place or worn/tattered and it's good to see hotels that have moved to having a wall thermostat rather than the dials on the a/c unit. Our gripe is with the breakfast area (another good looking room). As we were there on a Saturday night the Sunday morning breakfast was busy which brought out a few shortcomings:
1. They should leave a no-stick spray out for customers to use on the waffle irons. The cooked waffles were quite difficult to remove and needed a lot of poking and prodding to coax them out of the iron, This adds greatly to the time every user ties up the waffle iron and while the time is passing the line waiting grows a bit long with each user. Leave out the spray - the cost of lost/wasted spray will pay off in the line reduction.
2. The waffle irons should be moved away from the main buffet counter. As customers wait for their turn at the waffle iron they stack up along the counter which prevents other customers from having easy access the eggs, bacon, sausage, breads and all other food items except the cereals & the coffee station. Much more 'Excuse me' and reaching around people happens than feels comfortable. It would be better to swap the waffles irons with the cereals as the cereal station appeared to be the least used counter of the three.
3. Put the butter near the waffle irons and toasters/breads. This is when folks are looking for it so that is where it should be - not in the refrigerator. If management is worried about butter going bad then leave a smaller bowl in each area and refill it from the fridge as needed. This will also allow the customers to have a butter that spreads much easier, just like at home.
And that is the extent of the improvements we noticed should be done. My wife felt the bed was a bit soft, but such things are a matter of personal taste as I didn't notice it.
Do not let these observations keep you from staying at the hotel though as we felt satisfied with our stay. Just be ready for breakfast to be more of a production than needed when the customer count is up. Good luck; cul8r.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and posting a WONDERFUL review on TripAdvisor. Please know that we use all reviews to try and improve our hotel, but ones like yours really means a lot. Thank you for all the positive feedback regarding our appearance and the overall quality of our hotel. We recognize that an area for improvement in our hotel is the breakfast and breakfast room "flow" in general. It is not from a lack of trying different presentations that we've ended up with the current setup. As noted in one of my responses to a TripAdvisor review a week or two ago, we are currently in the process of reinventing our breakfast. We are currently focused on improving the quality of our products. Guests are asking for less sugar and processed foods. In addition to improving the products we serve we will take into consideration each and everyone of your well thoughtout suggestions.

We will hope to see you again in the future and have implemented changes to our breakfast that you helped make. Until then...safe travels!

THANKS SO MUCH AGAIN FOR ALL YOUR TIME, THOUGHT, AND OBSERVATIONS!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed only one night at this nice, upscale Comfort Inn and Suites. Lovely grounds, clean and well kept. We were picking our daughter up from camp nearby and wish we'd had more time to spend in this very nice hotel. It was much nicer then any other Comfort Inn and Suites that we've stayed in previously. The breakfast buffet was good (typical of most) and the beds, room and lobby were lovely. Would definitely recommend it!

Green Features: Cleaned out our rental car and asked front desk if they'd recycle papers for us-they were great!
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review and for staying with us. We would love to host your family for your next winter or summer vacation.

We are located just minutes from some of the most amazing natural and man-made attractions in all of New England. The truth is...we are Northern New England's #1 summer vacation destination. If you are looking for adventure, consider canoeing or kayaking on our local rivers/lakes, Kingdom Trails Mountain biking, guided ATV rides, zip-lining, hiking the green or white mountains, ride the Mount Washington Cog Railway, or take a swim in Lake Whilloughby. Guests of the hotel rave about the Great Vermont Corn Maze, the aerial Tram to the top of Cannon Mountain, Clarks Trading Post, the Polar Caves or Santa's Village. If you are looking for some culture...check out the historic St. Johnsbury Atheneaum, Fairbanks Museum, or Old Stone House Museum. We also offer a handful of do not miss culinary experiences...Cabot Cheese Factory, Maple Grove Farms Factory, Ben & Jerrys Factory, Cold Hollow Cider Mill, Littleton Grist Mill and my personal "do not miss" Chutters General Store. Chutter is listed in the Guiness Book of World Records for having the "World's Longest Candy Counter".

Each winter we host THOUSANDS of familys that visit the hotel to ski at Burke, Jay Peak, Cannon or Bretton Woods. We proudly offer New England's Best Ski and Stay Packages. We also offer direct VAST snowmobiles trail access. You and your family will love exploring 5000+ miles of "Vermont's Magical Winter Highway".

We'll hopefully be able to host your family on future family vacations. Until then...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very Nice Hotel... super clean nut pricey... really had to pull every trick out to save a few dollars... it is the only hotel in the area... hotel looks like a stately mansion from the outside... nice pool area... super comfortable rooms....

Room Tip: before you sign look at a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NY-Wingrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting a review on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate you pointing out that we are not inexpensive, yet we are a "VERY NICE HOTEL". I believe we offer a world-class lodging experience and our rates reflect this belief. A night's stay at the hotel can range from $139 to as much as $399 for a specialty suite during peak periods. For guests that are seeking a lower rate, we highly recommend the Fairbanks Inn, St. Johnsbury. They are located just minutes from the hotel. Thank you for complimenting our landscaping, rooms and pool area. By the way...I NEVER check into a room without visiting it first (great advice to impart on fellow tripadvisor members).

We'll hope to see you again. Until then...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Johnsbury
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
14.0 mi away
Burke Mountain Hotel & Conference Center
13.9 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairbanks Inn
Fairbanks Inn
#2 of 2 in Saint Johnsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
6.6 mi away
Rabbit Hill Inn
Rabbit Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Saint Johnsbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
Address: 703 US Route 5, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819-8937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Choice Hotels Gold Award-winning hotel is located in the heart of Vermont's majestic Northeast Kingdom. The Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain is Northern New England's best year-round vacation destination. Your stay with us includes over-sized guestrooms with a spacious living area, in-room microwave & refrigerators, and free Wi-Fi! A complimentary hot breakfast buffet is served each morning with a widespread array of hot & cold options from eggs, to make your own Belgium waffles with Vermont maple syrup, to warm yogurt, cereal, and much more! The hotel's guests also enjoy the large fitness center, whirlpool, sauna, heated indoor saltwater pool, arcade room, guest laundry and 24-hour business center. Vacation packages with Burke Mountain, Cannon Mountain, Bretton Woods, Jay Peak, Kingdom Trails, Santa's Village and the Mount Washington Cog Railway are available throughout the year. Ask us about our family fun packages, we'd love to fill you in! We are conveniently located within 1-5 miles of excellent local restaurants and local shopping featuring many items you will only find here in Vermont. We look forward to having you with us here at the Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain and wish you safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Saint Johnsbury
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Saint Johnsbury
Saint Johnsbury Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing