We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went up to St. Johnsbury for a quick getaway and stayed at the Comfort Inn & Suites. The hotel was super clean and well maintained. The room we stayed in was even better than we could have imagined. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was very spacious.

The hotel is very close to Burke, where we skied one of the days we were there and had a fantastic time! Next time we’ll have to try Jay or Cannon since they’re both close to the hotel too. After skiing all day, the hot tub was the perfect place to relax.

Everyone from Carol at breakfast to Sophia and Steve at the front desk, were outstanding and went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect for us.

Overall, we couldn’t have asked for a better, or more welcoming place to stay. Thank you to each and every one of the great people working there, we can’t wait to come back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy90five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and skiing at Burke. We really appreciate you posting a review on TripAdvisor! I will certainly share your praise with my team members. We'll look forward to seeing you on your next ski vacation. Keep us in mind for any summer vacation plans that you might have. We are a great family vacation destination and would love to book a return trip in a few months.

Safe travels,
Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 598 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stay in Hotels from Virginia to New England over 250 Nights a year. I can say with Certainty that the Comfort Inn & Suites is by far the best. From the staff to the rooms to the Pool, Sauna and Hot Tub this is truly a fantastic Hotel. Carol does a fabulous job with breakfast and whether it is Sophia, Steve, Nick, etc etc. working the desk you will be treated like royalty. I could not recommend this facility more. My Kids absolutely love it too on our weekend trips to ski Burke Mountain which is a hidden secret of the North easst Kingdom. You will not be disappointed! I Guarantee! Robb Trussell a long time satisfied and delighted customer of the Comfort Inn & Suites in Saint Johnsbury, VT

Room Tip: If you need adjoining rooms make sure you let the staff know and they will accomadate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you Robb...what an incredibly nice review! We love hosting your visits and really appreciate you sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Your ability to name a handful of my team members just highlights how special they are. I am surrounded by an amazing group of dedicated people. My team and I have a goal of once again earning Choice Hotel's most prestigious award...the "Comfort Inn of the Year". We earned it back in 2003 and once again have it in our sights. We will look forward to seeing you in the future. Please know that reviews like yours mean the world to us.
Safe travels,
Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked a weekend getaway at the Comfort Inn & Suites of St. Johnsbury. All aspects of our stay were above exceptional. The bedding was something you'd see in an Omni or a Westin which provided a very comfortable night's sleep. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding which included omlettes, sausage, bacon, housemade muffins...the list goes on. I stayed at another hotel last week and this complimentary breakfast put to shame the breakfast buffet I spent $14 for at the other hotel tell. I see other reviews mentioned Carol, whom I can say really brings the breakfast experience together with her award winning service. The hotel is in close proximity to Burke, which we skied and had an awesome time, Jay, Cannon, and Bretton Woods. They also have an indoor pool, sauna, hot tub with some powerful bubbles, and fitness center. Bottom line: cleanest hotel ever, friendliest staff ever, and best breakfast ever. See you all soon and thank you for an amazing weekend!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank joevazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

We really appreciate you staying with us and then taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Your review will be shared with all of our team members. It is a great example of what we strive to accomplish on a daily basis. Our overall success has been built on "exceeding our guests’ expectations". I opened this hotel from the ground up thirteen years ago this June. Nothing brings us more pleasure than when guest of the hotel thinks we are “a year or two old”. We have made it part of our culture to always look for ways to improve. We regularly enhance the hotel's guest rooms. We improve training daily and weekly. We constantly are looking for ways to set the bar higher and never quit looking for opportunities to make our hotel the perfect escape from the "real world". We hope to see you again in the near future.
Again, thanks for staying with us.
Safe travels,
Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Driving up from CT, late at night, approx 2am, our friend fell asleep and therefore we could not stay at his place. Called around and this was the best option for sleep (since we needed quality because we were not getting quantity). A friend had thought she stayed here before, the rooms were exceptionally comfy and homey and we even had a sitting area. slept well, no sounds were heard and breakfast was well stocked. Late night check in was seamless including buying discount tickets to Jay. I would come back here in a heartbeat. Price was a bit steep but it was Presidents day week.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience, felt at home and would return. As you mentioned, our pricing does climb during holiday periods (Christmas week, MLK Weekend, and President's Week). The rest of the ski season our package pricing remains the same. Guests love our Ski and Stay Packages which start at $189.99 per night. Our package includes your room, breakfast, use of the hotel's amenities and TWO lift tickets to Burke, Jay Peak and Cannon. Bretton Woods is also available, but starts at $229. Four incredible mountains from one hotel!

We hope to see you again in the future. Unitl then...safe skiing/traveling!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here after GOOGLE searching the city. We loved the look from the internet and we promptly booked a room. Once we got into the hotel we even upgraded our room! We could not be happier with the service. Steve (Manager In Training) was outstanding. He had new of the exact places we were looking for and gave us directions on how to get there. He even recommended a good place for us to eat at. The morning staff was just as wonderful. They were happy, smiling and very nice to be around. If we are ever in this area again, I can assure you we will be staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Presidential Suite and we were more than happy with the room. The beds were extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and then taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I will certainly share your review with our entire staff and especially with Steve. He is our most recent "manager in training". Our company, Linchris Hotels, consists of 29 hotels located throughout the northeast. Each year my team and I take pride in recruiting one special graduating senior from Johnson & Wales University. We take the student through a twelve month long "real world" training program and at the conclusion we promote them internally to one of our sister hotels. We have very high expectations for Steve and are excited to be working with him.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then...safe travels!
Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Big room, comfy bed, hot shower, hot breakfast, excellent location, friendly staff, fridge and microwave in the room, and quiet. Quiet even though all the rooms were full and kids were all over the place.

We'd come up for a great trip with NEK Adventures, the snowmobiles were fantastic. And apparently if you are there to use the VAST paths the hotel offers an amazing discount. Take advantage of it. The staff is so helpful and kind, the breakfast was great, and there's just a really friendly vibe with all the folks there to enjoy the snow.

Room Tip: The view from the fourth floor is pretty great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsMely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We love snowmobiling and the vacationers that come from all over to experience Vermont's Northeast Kingdom. For years and years, we have been New England's #1 snowmobiling destination. Unfortunately, Mother Nature has not blessed our region with normal snowfall totals for the past few years. We know better than to question Mother Nature, so we will happily embrace the limited snowfall totals that we've received this season. Who knows...the rest of February and March may end up offering the best conditions we could ask for. Thank you for recognizing the amazing job that my team members do on a daily basis. Our goal is simple...we want to be the best year-round family vacation destination in all of New England. We hope you will consider coming back this spring for "sugaring season" or this summer when both the Green and White Mountain ranges come alive. Consider visiting our brand new website which offers a list of the area's amazing attractions. Please feel free to add reviews to that site and for snowmobiling from the hotel...I believe you might be the first to post a review for snowmobiling. We are also running a contest right now on our Facebook page. Feel free to post vacation images on the hotel's Facebook page and "like" us to be entered in to win a complimentary weekend at the hotel.

Safe travels and thanks again!
Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Kudos to Kellie, front desk, and Carol, breakfast (even gluten free breakfast provided). Excellent pool and exercise areas. Big rooms. Great mattresses. Pleasant decor. Easily accessed from freeway. All around excellence

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VtNhMetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. As always, I will share your feedback with our team members. I'm glad that you enjoyed our newly remodeled guestrooms. All the feedback has been extremely positive. Thanks again for posting a review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Safe travels!
Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Johnsbury
14.0 mi away
Burke Mountain Hotel & Conference Center
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
771 reviews
18.1 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#3 of 5 in Littleton
152 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairbanks Inn
Fairbanks Inn
#2 of 2 in Saint Johnsbury
230 reviews
8.1 mi away
Colonnade Inn
Colonnade Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyndonville
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain

Address: 703 US Route 5, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819-8937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Price Range: $147 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Choice Hotels Gold Award-winning hotel is located in the heart of Vermont's majestic Northeast Kingdom. The Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain is Northern New England's best year-round vacation destination. Your stay with us includes over-sized guestrooms with a spacious living area, in-room microwave & refrigerators, and free Wi-Fi! A complimentary hot breakfast buffet is served each morning with a widespread array of hot & cold options from eggs, to make your own Belgium waffles with Vermont maple syrup, to warm yogurt, cereal, and much more! The hotel's guests also enjoy the large fitness center, whirlpool, sauna, heated indoor saltwater pool, arcade room, guest laundry and 24-hour business center. Vacation packages with Burke Mountain, Cannon Mountain, Bretton Woods, Jay Peak, Kingdom Trails, Santa's Village and the Mount Washington Cog Railway are available throughout the year. Ask us about our family fun packages, we'd love to fill you in! We are conveniently located within 1-5 miles of excellent local restaurants and local shopping featuring many items you will only find here in Vermont. We look forward to having you with us here at the Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain and wish you safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Saint Johnsbury
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Saint Johnsbury
Saint Johnsbury Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing