We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”
Review of Anthony's Diner

Anthony's Diner
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Glenville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It was ok, just not quite all that I anticipated from the other reviews. Meatloaf was so so, garden peas from a can, cole slaw soupy, french fries bit better than the norm. Definitely a local diner, the opposite of a franchise place. The attraction, past breakfast, would be the deserts, especially pies and cobbler. For a do-over, I would do a chef salad and blueberry cobbler with ice cream.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetireeTraveler33715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    103
    40
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“A reputation well deserved”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had read reviews and heard by word of mouth of Anthony's Diner and we were not disappointed in the quality of the breakfast and the service we experienced there. Everything was first rate and our waitserver could not have been more attentive and cordial.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lucky we found this place!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

After having spent some time in Montreal, we were heading to Maine and needed to stop for gas. We ended up in St Johnsbury and began driving around after gas for a place to grab a quick bite. Anthony's was the first non-chain we came across and thought we'd give it a try. We were craving some good comfort food after our time in Canada. I got the roast beef open faced sandwich and the wife got a pulled chicken sandwich. They came out quick and the portions were huge. You could tell the food was made fresh and it was absolutely delicious. Wife and I devoured our food and wanted more, so we ordered dessert. We got a huge plate of blueberry pie and it was the best one I have ever had. It really hit the spot and is exactly what we needed/wanted.

I just love it when we find places like this on accident, so I wanted to come on here and recommend it so others will be sure to check it out. The staff was also very nice. We gave our waitress a bit extra on the tip and the happy look on her face was priceless.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chichitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great diner”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

great little small town diner with excellent home made food. we were pleasantly surprised by the quality, the staff was friendly and made us feel like locals.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicaedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A warm and comfortable experience while on the road”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We drove from NJ to Maine and needed a delicious meal that would be convenient to the highways and comfortable for us and two kids. Anthony's met all of our needs. Lunch was delicious with hand cut fries, homemade cole slaw and hearty portions. They use local ingredients where they can and that was evident. The service was friendly and the environment very appropriate for a diner setting. Only caveat is that they don't serve breakfast all day, so if you want their delicious breakfast, get their before 11!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Diner also viewed

Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
 
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
 

Been to Anthony's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing