We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most Japanese in Burlington”
Review of Yama Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

Yama Japanese Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Steakhouse
Description: We are in Jcpenney Plaza.Between Rite Aid and Video King.
Restaurant details
Description: We are in Jcpenney Plaza.Between Rite Aid and Video King.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Better than most Japanese in Burlington”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'm not sure what made this husband and wife team start a Japanese restaurant in St. Albans, but I'm glad they did. They craft very good sushi and hibachi food. I particularly like their teriyaki chicken and their udon noodle dishes. It's a little pricey but I have had much more expensive Japanese food that was the same quality. They always treat us very well when we go and are extra nice to our children.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nathanf1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, with some adventurous options!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

A nice little restaurant hidden away in a shopping plaza. Yama had some very interesting options on the menu, that might appeal to the more adventurous. At mention of the Funky Monkey roll in a Yelp post, we decided to give it a try. It's a cooked roll with Eel and bananas inan eel sauce, sounds wierd, but turned out to be surprisingly delicious! For the less adventurous, there are still the usual options that are quite tasty. We'll be coming back often to this delightful gem.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mardenvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I love this restaurant! Food is great, incredible flavor. Sushi, various fried rice dishes and they will make what I ask. Clean, professional and fast. A hidden gem in St. Albans.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BorisMurchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gem in St Albans!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I really wanted to try sushi and heard Yama was the place to go. I was a little skeptical since, let's face it, it's St Albans VT in a strip mall. One of my bucket list goals is to eat food created by Morimoto of the Food Network. I thought before we do that I better make sure I can eat raw fish. OMG, the sushimi at Yama was incredible. It was creamy and not at all fishy. We got a sushi and sushimi app. We figured no great loss if we didn't like it. The problem is that we loved it and I have discovered my new favorite food. We also got the hibachi shrimp and scallops. That was ok. The vegetables and seafood were well cooked but have had better in the usual Japanese steakhouses. And really, how could it compare to the sushimi??? Our waitress was adorable and was interested why we chose now and Yama to try sushi. How could I explain Morimoto?? We will definitely go back! There were only 8 tables but we didn't need reservations. I expect that will change. I hope this little gem can make it!! Everyone I have talked to who has eaten there has raved about it. Good luck Yama :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VTgeocahewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“great value at the Yama”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have passed by Yama many times but never inside. It is in a strip mall and rather plain from the outside. The inside is plain also. The food was very good. My wife and I both had hibachi specials; I had the shrimp and she the chicken. We liked the shrimp dish the best; it had 9 decent sized shrimp, veggies and noodles. The food was tasty. The service was very efficient. We will go back to try the sushi. If you are in the area, give this place a try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miltonman196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yama Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing