We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place we go back to.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of One Federal

One Federal
Ranked #7 of 48 Restaurants in Saint Albans
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Swanton, VT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place we go back to.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Not an huge menu, but varied enough to appeal to most tastes; food is prepared well, and we enjoy sitting in the "library room" when it's available (makes conversation easier). Service is very goo.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    53
    26
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food big portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Based on other reviews this looked to be the best restaurant in town and i wasn't disappointed. Nicely decorated and not overly busy on a chilly Wednesday nite i sat at the bar where service was quick and friendly. At first glance the menu seemed a little pricey but on seeing the large portions i would say they were good value. My chicken pasta was very tasty and it was difficult to finish the large bowl.
There was plenty of choice on the menu and other dishes i saw coming out looked equally large and tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steveg2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best place in St Albans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We go at least 4 times a month if not more. We are never disappointed. Great staff, great food, local options when available, great tasting food and variety. You can get nacho's, burgers, amazing local beef, scallops, pasta, something for everyone.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelsjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, Vermont
Level Contributor
239 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Two excellent business dinners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had the pleasure of dining twice at One Federal with out of town business colleagues in December. Went with a special each time - a stuffed pork chop one night and a maple chicken the other and both were brilliant. Paired them with the cheddar smashed potatoes and a nice side salad. Wonderful meals in a comfortable setting with a great staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pub food with flair”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Set in an historic building a block West of Main St, One Federal is well worth the short side trip. The dark intimate pub room, rambles into a large dining room with plate glass windows and high ceilings, and a small, interior dining room lined with mirrors and antiques for semi-private dining for eight. During my trips to the area, I've eaten in all of them, both lunchtime and evenings, about a half-dozen times.

The food is mostly traditional pub grub, but uses local ingredients where possible. Maple syrup, beef, cheese and beer (among other items) from VT sources are featured throughout the menu. Generally, I've had this type of items instead of the more elaborate entree items, though I am sure they are also well done. The burgers, fish & chips, salads and wraps have all been consistently good. Whoever does the frying knows what they are doing. The fried fish is crispy, dark golden outside and still tender and delicious inside. Frickles, fried pickles, once ordered on a dare, turned out to be a salty, tangy crunchy delight.

The dining experience can be loud and pub-like, pretty refined or even intimate (I love that private dining room!), so you can adjust your food and ambiance to your needs. Service in all areas, and different dining times, have all been friendly, fast and knows the menus offerings. One Fed is definitely part of my itinerary when in the St. Albans area. A big thumbs up in all categories!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Federal also viewed

 

Been to One Federal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing