We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Rutland
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever stayed in”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Well travelled visitors from UK.

This "hotel" is so dirty sat on bed all night rather than in it. BAthroom no better. Agree with other reviewers about bugs. Dirtiest and worst "hotel" we have ever stayed in.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    9
    9
    26
See reviews for
12
12
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
m
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The room smelled and had bugs in the bathroom and room. Bugs in the tub on the floor and the walls. TV not on English channel. Outside trash was overflowing and the pool looks to not be in service for some time. Nasty I wished I saw the reviews before I booked. I did not stay and I think that they even know they have bugs. Bad Bad

Room Tip: Read reviews and call the place and check the room before you stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank twinsdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Poor front desk service. Room so so but need serious need update! Weird little bugs all over bathroom. Management a chiseler. Also practices bait and switch! Its OK in pinch but I'll most likely not return

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvmburlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poultney, Vermont, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Parked my truck in the parking lot, instantly had a bad feeling that it was a bad idea. Walls look dirty, weird funky odor coming from the hotel. Got my room and upon entering the bed was stained, unwashed, smoke smell when i have respiratory problems. Bed was very uncomfortable. Bathroom was dirty as all hell. Tiles were cracked, rugs were dirty. Room was small, and when i asked my money back they made me sign forms to void the charge. They didnt even process it correctly and made me call customer service to get my money back. I hope no one goes back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Dont ever sleep here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brink760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I am in the hotel room right now 1/19/13 7:50 pm. Expect to get what you pay for. 76.99 worst hotel/motel. Second night here. So on my first night when we arrived my room smelt like vinegar ok got over it. Rug is so dirty. Don't walk with out shoes. I went into bed and found a large blood stain on the sheet not fresh been washed but still not cool. Started inspecting the bed. Found little spots on the top blanket and another red stain pretty noticeable. I slept with all my clothes on with no blankets last night. Next morning I asked the front desk to change the everything because of what I found. Went skiing came back. Beds
were made and went for inspection. They changed the sheets but not the top blanket. I called and complain and the desk said the don't change the top blanket and if I wanted a different one I would have to and exchange it. I may have used a swear and he instantly threatened to call the police. In a nut shell never Come here. It is dirty it's grimy. I wouldn't be surprised if they gave hourly rates to certain returning customers. I took pictures of the stains. Again I want to say. You get what you pay for but this is unexecptable. Please no one go here save yourself. Stop looking for a cheap hotel. Stay somewhere else and pay a little more. My friends are staying in another room here and they are having the same worst experience I am having. This place is nasty dirty just the pure pits. Almost forgot the mattress and box springs are rapped in plastic so bodily fluids can't get in and every move you make you hear the plastic crinkling. Unhappy disappointed I hope this place never gets any more business nobody deserves that stay in a place like this



I will add the pictures as soon as I can

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dmazz1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton MA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed one night before and early season day of skiing. I thought the room was very clean and the property was well maintained. Yes the decor and bathroom are dated but who cares at that price. I thought the bed was acceptable and the heat worked great, plenty of hot water, no smell. The room was big enough and had all of the basic amenities: cable tv, clock radio, Wifi, desk, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, ironing board. I would bring ear plugs because, as others have commented, the heat is noisy and the so is the traffic from Route 4. Not much for breakfast except waffles. I don't think that this is the house of horror described by others

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kibbabibba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The heater was not quiet. I called to complain about a strange noise and was told that it was the heating system. The hotel was empty, but for us. When I asked for a quiet room, the manager said that all of the rooms had the same noise. Based on the review below, this seems to not be the case as the reviewer had a quiet room!

We were going to leave to eat breakfast and return to check out, but found that our door did not lock from the outside. Inconvenient!

The wifi went offline every two minutes or so and was very slow even to just check email. Don't plan on watching hulu or doing any serious work via wifi.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank azmrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rutland hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 12 in Rutland
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
1.9 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 12 in Rutland
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Rutland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Rutland

Property: Rodeway Inn Rutland
Address: 115 Woodstock Ave, Rutland, VT 05701-3538 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Rutland 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rodeway Inn Rutland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing