We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Red Roof Inn for a cheap night in between ski days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Hamden, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
“Red Roof Inn for a cheap night in between ski days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I booked 2 rooms at this hotel on priceline for the 4 of us. They were running a great special for a holiday weekend. The rooms were very cheap but they were also clean, decent, and comfortable. Killington is only about 35 min away and I would definitely do it again if I can get the same deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI0639, General Manager at Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Very delighted to hear that the room was clean, comfortable and affordable. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    217
    189
    82
    74
See reviews for
233
205
69
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I drove to Rutland for the night to see a show so just needed a clean, comfortable room for the night. The room was fine with a comfortable bed. The price was reasonable. It had all I needed for a short stay. It is a motel so don't expect anything much more.
The woman who checked me in was efficient and helpful when I asked for directions.
I was amused by the guy at check-out - he had his earbuds in and kept them in the whole time I was checking out - I could hear the music so I knew he hadn't bothered to shut if off during the process.
It was 6am so I am guessing he is the night audit guy so I will but him some slack.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtnynvvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI0639, General Manager at Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad to hear that the bed was comfortable and the rate was reasonable. I am sorry to hear that at 6.00am my staff who checked you out was occupied with something else. Please be assured that this will be taken care of, and your comments shared with all my staff. We strive to give each guest the attention they deserve. Hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Trash under bed, hair in bathroom. Traveling companion was moved without notice to a different room due to "plumbing issues" in nearby room. Companion later complained of having been "bitten by bugs" in original room, so draw your own conclusion.

Room Tip: Stay away from the "400" wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahlig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI0639, General Manager at Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. My team & I take feedback very serious, and I apologize that we did not meet up to your expectations. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not a happy stay, as we strive to give our best. I hope you are able to give us another chance to show you that we can provide a clean room, and can meet a guest's need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rutland hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at a few Red Roofs across the country and they are always a great value. We came to Vermont for the weekend to ski in the area and this hotel was perfect. It's about a 15 minute drive to Pico/Killington and everything you would need was nearby. There is a Denny's next door, a Hannaford grocery across the street & a Dunkin Donuts just down the road. The room was your average hotel room but clean and big enough. The free breakfast is not so great but if your just looking to grab a banana and get on the slopes it does the job. We didn't use the pool but we did go check it out and it looked clean and the pool area was also well kept. Check in was fast and easy and all the staff we interacted with we're friendly. We would definitely stay again if we're in the area. Recommend to anyone looking for a clean place to crash after a day of skiing.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBeanKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI0639, General Manager at Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you were happy with your stay, and that the staff you met were able to help you and they were friendly. It is always nice to hear clean, comfortable, great value, for your money. I hope you come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
310 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

It's great for a Red Roof Inn. The rooms were fairly nice, everything was clean and worked properly, and its very convenient to Pico and Killington. There was a breakfast and also a pool, but both were kind of gross. The towels needed to be retired, and our bed wasn't the best, but we made due. If you don't mind a little mileage on your room, and you get a good price, stay here. Don't expect anything extravagant, but it's great for a Red Roof.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jgiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI0639, General Manager at Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I am glad your stay was convenient to the ski slopes, and that your room was clean and all the amenities were in working condition. All feedback is critical, good and also things you would like to see a change in, such as the pool and the towels. I will take your comments back to my team. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
204 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just returned from 4 nights at the Red Roof Inn in Rutland where we stayed while skiing at Killington. We chose this based on the great price plus the fact that it is pet friendly. I think official policy is that you can't leave your dog alone in the room, but if s/he is well behaved and crated while you are out then it should not be a problem. In fact, to avoid any questions we put the "do not disturb" sign on the door during the day and just changed our own towels- it worked out perfectly. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable, plus having a fridge in the room was really convenient. Breakfast (included!) was also very good, the fresh waffles are a highlight.

The hotel is directly on a main road with lots of shops and restaurants which is quite convenient- it was heavily snowing on our last night and we just walked next door to the Denny's for dinner. Our 12-year old loved the pool and sauna, it was nice to be able to stay in for the evening and keep everyone entertained.

Overall a recommended place to stay in the Rutland-Killington area, we saved about $800 staying here versus staying right in Killington for 4 nights. A little less convenient but totally worth it.

Room Tip: If you have a dog the ground floor rooms will be more convenient for taking it out for walks, ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI0639, General Manager at Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic comments. My staff & I are very pleased that your family and pet were able to stay with us. We do allow 1 pet per room, at no extra charge. It was nice to hear you enjoyed alot of the benefits we have, fridge & microwave rooms, fresh waffles, clean room & bathroom, at a great price! We have the indoor pool & dry sauna also, which your daughter loved. It is nice to go away from home and be able to take your pet also, as they are also a part of your family. Looking forward to seeing you again with your pet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Falls, New Hampshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

In August 2012 my husband, 8 year old son and myself stayed here. Our beds were comfortable and room was clean. The pool was fantastic. There were plenty of restaurants/shopping all on the same road but with talking to a pleasant front desk employee we decided on going for dinner downtown. Amazing choice! Breakfast the next morning was hot and delicious. We would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rutland hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Rutland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 12 in Rutland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area

Property: Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
Address: 401 US Route 7 South, Rutland, VT 05701 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Rutland - Killington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Rutland - Killington Hotel Rutland
Red Roof Inn Killington
Rutland Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing