We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value; Good Variety” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ponderosa Steakhouse

Ponderosa Steakhouse
Ranked #14 of 116 Restaurants in Rutland
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Value; Good Variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We both had the buffett for dinner and found it to have a fantastic selection of foods for the price which we enjoyed. However, found the staff a little less than friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    25
    13
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BANANA BREAD - worth the price of entire buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Make sure you go early in your trip and keep your receipt for the discount. Why? You will want to return. We asked the person that was constantlyreplenishing the buffet area (right up until closing) for a comment card because we had so many praises about the staff and the food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonniemerc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

First off waitress was excellent. She was prompt & professional even going out of her way to come outside with a CD I accidentally left on the table. Brunch was excellent. It's 2 bad most ponderosa locations are gone including the williston vt location that abruptly closed last month. Rutland in itself sadly is not a nice town & its very apparent ppl take no pride in it but ponderosa is a great place & is extremely reasonable

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jvmburlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Ponderosa is a great value for a family. The Salad bar is huge and excellent. You can fill up on the many salads, vegetables and Chicken wings. The dinners that go along with the Salad Bar is excellent quality. Order fish or Steak. We love this place especially when we are a crowd and the price is unbeatable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank JSZing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Hot Food Bar needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have always liked Ponderosa Steak House but the Hot food Bar needs updating. More vegetables like broccoli, cauliflower or even green beans. to many carbs!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponderosa Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Ponderosa Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing