We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not your typical sub”

Gill's Delicatessen
Ranked #3 of 116 Restaurants in Rutland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not your typical sub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This sub shop is always busy. Be prepared to stand in line at busy times. The wait is well worth it. The subs are fresh and made in front of you to your specifications. The unique twist to Gills grinders is the finely shredded cabbage! Yum. The quality meats are stacked high along with in-house, freshly baked rolls. The value is very good. The shop is a local favorite, and the atmosphere is early 70's décor. No one cares because they are enjoying those huge grinders.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    36
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was looking for something simple on my last day in Rutland and got a recommendation for Gill's. There was a small line when I got there, but the wait was not too long. I loved the shredded cabbage on the grinders. I've never seen that before. Will definitely make a return to Gill's next time we are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Probably theBest Sub Shop in the Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

They say if you want to know where to go to eat, look for where the locals frequent. Gill's is one of those places. The reputation is well deserved, Fresh bread, and trimmings and excellent quality meat, assembled to order to make a first quality sub.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty good subs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The subs were pretty good, the service wasn't very friendly. They got impatient while we were deciding. The meat was good but the bread tasted a little stale for my taste. I would return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, TX
Level Contributor
231 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best subs in Central VT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great variety of sandwiches and a pleasant staff behind the counter ensures everyone will be satisfied long before they take their first bite of the delicious bread surround all the meat, cheese and other ingredients. We hit it at the right time and were 3rd in line. By the time we ordered there were 15 others waiting. Don't be discouraged as the sandwiches are worth it or, like many do, call in your order.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimNColleyville_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gill's Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Gill's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing