We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll try elsewhere. Too many insects this summer.”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Rutland B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Cheapest place I saw in the area, esp with travel coupon. (off-season) But I had 4 different kinds of flying insects, one in abundance. Had to smush them all before I felt ok to go to sleep. (But I checked and didn't find bed bugs, hooray.)

Otherwise it would have been more or less tolerable. Staff was pleasant. Appliances (esp AC) worked fine. The rest was so-so, just what I'd expect in an older motel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmydahiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

The room was way to small. The beds had the original plastic wrapper on them making sleep noisy and hot. Some weird old guys hanging out. The kids working in the office were great! No breakfast. Rooms just too small for any comfort. The Red Roof down the road is much nicer and about the same price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnwldflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Will never stay at this motel again. On site management ignored unruly guests behavior. I had 2 days with no sleep because of inconsiderate and immature behavior by almost everyone else staying there. I was intimidated by the number of people that were out of line. I felt powerless to do anything about it short of calling the authorities, which I did not do for fear of repercussion. I did not contact the front desk because I had been informed at check in that no one would be available at the front desk after 1030 pm. I was not aware until I checked out that MANAGEMENT LIVED ON THE PROPERTY!!! I am considering no longer using Choice Hotels because of this experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casellem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

I can't even start with a good comment. Started with the AC vibrating, thought it was going to fall out of the wall. Address front office on it and all I got wa s"we've never had this happen before". They did nothing about it. then the pool had something like dog hair in it and the front office again only said " we don't have any dogs here". The room wa not clean, the linens hd holes in the bedsheets the size of quarters. The shower head if moved would fall off. Whatever you do dont' asks for more towels...We had siz people staying in the family room and only had 4 towels. Asked for more and it was a fight, they sid they would give us more in the morning when they cleaned. The list is endless of problems we encountered during out stay here. Needless to say instead of staying the 2-3 nights planned we checked out after 1 night. Management was never around to talk to and never offered anything off the stay. They even had the nerve to send a letter (by the way not on letterhead just plain paper) for a % off our next stay. like that will happen after the horrorible service and accomadations there. Even contacted Rodway headquarters and never heard from them...RODWAY INN not the place to stay!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmt62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

For the money it's fine really. Service was pleasant and breakfast was suggested. Beds covered with a plastic liner so no bed bugs at all. Fridge and microwave both in the room, steambath option in bathroom. Outdated, yes, but sufficient and economical for the night. Bring hair conditioner as the only offer soaps and shampoo. Enjoy some Baliwood soaps too lol :) We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I read a couple of reviews after I had booked and was dreading the stay but it was not as bad as I thought. The room was clean and a little on the small side. Very convenient location and a perfectly acceptable place to stay for one or two nights at a really affordable price. No exactly soundproof and we could hear some road noise but other than that it worked fine.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryambro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

My folks have been going to this motel since the 60s anyway, and i have some nice memories of it from years ago. It never was posh, just a nice, low budget family motel. Habit is a funny thing; it makes you go back a half a dozen times after you decided maybe it is time to move on. We notice how they don't keep it up; how it just gets a little worse each time. I think these foreigners who run it are doing the best they can, but they come from a different culture. The breakfast, which was not done in the old days, is not an improvement. I've seen them set out donuts so old you're afraid to touch them. You can get a good breakfast down the street at Sewards, which unlike this place, is delightfully unchanged. This once comfy little motel in Rutland ain't what it used to be.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutland
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Rutland
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 12 in Rutland
28 reviews
5.0 mi away
Killington-Pico Motor Inn
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 138 N Main St, Rutland, VT 05701-3277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rutland
Price Range: $58 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Rutland
Rodeway Inn Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing