We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandwich Shoppe

Sandwich Shoppe
Ranked #11 of 116 Restaurants in Rutland
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Friendly service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went in for breakfast because we needed to have breakfast and because it is #1 in Rutland.

Monday morning at 10:30am ... the place is empty. We are the only customer...found it weird for the #1 restaurant in Rutland because the restaurant right across the street had customer and the little bakery on the corner was full of customer.

Service was good and friendly, very polite and happy guy at the counter, thanked us about 10 times for being his customers ( not annoying at all, he was happy and he made us feel happy ).

As for breakfast sandwich, there is not a large amount of choices....we had one sandwich with egg, cheese and bacon, and the other one was with ham.

Did it taste good ? yes...good, not special or different or excellent. ( personally I find eggs blend if not seasoned with a little salt and pepper )

I liked my sandwich and my girlfriend really liked hers...but I am sorry to say "not #1" food...

Would I go again ? Yes...NOT for breakfast, but I would give them a second chance for lunch.

I do not recommend it for breakfast.


Was my review helpful ? If so, please click the "yes" just bellow !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sebas_030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    5
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
142 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Place in Downtown Rutland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Whether it is breakfast or lunch, this is the place to be. Service with laughter, smiles and you feel like your a part of their family from the moment you walk in. If you have courage, try the Skyscraper, a monster sandwich that will get you on the Wall of Fame if you can finish it. Custom made sandwiches and an entire wall and then some of menu items. Nice day, sit outside and enjoy the lovely downtown.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VermontStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuyvesant, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“go there even if not hungry - the owners are worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was passing through Rutland, stopped by Sandwich Shoppe - and it made my trip. The owners of the place are as friendly and fun as people can be … and the food was very good quality. Lots of options too. If I lived in the area, I'd be a regular.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ken l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Great Family Business!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Really good homecooked food with a friendly environment. The People who own it are very nice and friendly. Overall great experience. Want to and probably will.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Selena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Almost as good as mom's meatloaf.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Overwhelming menu options but the family behind the counter super friendly and allows you to take it all in even during noontime rush. Had the Downtowner: meatloaf, bacon and swiss grilled. Will definitely come back. Many people ahead of me ordered the Reuben.. that might be the next venture. Awesome sandwich shop.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brewtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandwich Shoppe also viewed

 

Been to Sandwich Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing