We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&B's yet!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rutland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Antique Mansion B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Rutland B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Antiques Mansion two days ago, and it was one of the most spacious and comfortable Bed and Breakfasts we've spent the night in yet! We are wedding photographers, and Sallie was kind enough to let us have a pretty late check-in after a wedding in Manchester. Breakfast was homemade and Sallie was a wonderful host. There's even a room with a pool table! Can't recommend this place enough... can't wait to book again when we have another wedding near Rutland. :)

Room Tip: All rooms looked wonderful. The ceilings are something like 12 feet high, and there's tons of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 78 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Vermont to celebrate both my birthday and our anniversary last week. One of our stops included a three-day stay (June 22, 23, and 24) at the Antique Mansion Bed and Breakfast, which ended up being a highlight of our trip to Rutland!

Upon arrival, Sallie Gill graciously offered us iced tea, tea, or coffee and led us to our room. We found her to be hospitable and accommodating. Ms. Gill gave us a tour of the home after we expressed delight in the architecture. On all three mornings, she prepared a hearty and delicious breakfast of our choosing, asking questions to meet our preferences and dietary needs. Ms. Gill also asked for our preference in music and turned her radio to classical music as we ate our breakfast. She thoughtfully added beverages to the common-area refrigerator after noticing that my husband and I were drinking bottled water and diet soda. In addition, when we returned to the mansion in the evening, we found homemade cookies waiting for us! Ms. Gill was indeed an attentive and thoughtful hostess who would easily converse with us yet respected our privacy.

The Antique Mansion was spacious, clean, warm, inviting, and reasonably priced. Our suite, which included a bedroom with private bath, an alcove (in which we set up our computer), and a sitting room, was spacious and comfortable. We strolled the beautiful grounds and even saw rabbits and a fox or two!

Overall, our experience at the Antique Mansion in Rutland, Vermont was excellent, and I, without hesitation, would encourage travelers to stay there!

Thank you for a wonderful and memorable visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We were in Rutland to visit friends May 20-21. When we arrived Sallie Gill greeted us warmly and offered us our of two suites. Both were very large with queen beds. We chose a suite with a separate sitting room and dressing area. It was really lovely and very nice New England furniture. There was an excellent new big screen tv with Direct TV. While we unpacked Sally brought us a plate of cookies and lemonade.

The weather was unusually warm but Sally told us the rooms would stay cool and she was right! It got to 85 on our second day but the room and the whole house stayed wonderfully cool. The other parts of the house are very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast each morning was excellent. We told Sally when we would like to eat and she then made our breakfast to order and it was fresh and hot and tasty.

The property is more than four acres that you can walk around and it is beautifully maintained. When we visit Rutland again we would absolutely stay at the Antique Mansion again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simnsez8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Per the website, the Antique Mansion is full of history and appears that the "inn keeper" is part of that heritage. It should state that Sallie Gill became the inn keeper and had her first guest in May, as she told us.
The website also states that each morning, one of the "Chefs" prepares breakfast which consists of fruit, French toast, eggs, bacon, or pancakes and ends with yogurt and fresh baked muffins. It also goes on to say that the "Chef" also hosts "afternoon tea" daily with freshly baked cookies. We did not experience either one of the above. Yes, she made cookies but only 1 cookie for each of us! And, there is no "chef." The first day, the bacon was micro waved. That is not something a "Chef" would do. We actually didn't even stay for breakfast our last day--yes, that is how bad it was!
Another thing was the heat. She asked us to turn the heat down because she is concerned about her bills. That made us feel very uncomfortable.
Do yourself a favor and find another B&B!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCMcG, Owner at Antique Mansion B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Breakfast is made to order each morning with fresh ingredients, therefore guests are not offered every choice every day.
Microwave is used for staff coffee/tea only.
Redundant heating elements in house (steam and electric) might not be understood by short stay guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

A Perfect Winter Weekend

North on route 7 in Rutland Vermont. is Antique Mansion Sallie Gill’s charming Bed and Breakfast. Antique Mansion is a beautifully appointed mansion decorated in an authentic style in keeping with its origins.

The comfortable living room, with crackling logs in the fireplacefireplace is the perfect place to relax after skiing the slopes, hiking the snowy trails, or poking about in the nearby antique shops.

Fine dining is available, within walking distance at the Country Club across the road or by driving a short distance to local restaurants. Later in the evening one can play a game of billiards, watch TV or a movie, or enjoy a good conversation and snacks upstairs in the common room before bed. All the bedrooms are have the most comfortable beds with quilts to snuggle under, ensuring a phenomenal night's sleep.

Each morning a full breakfast of - fresh fruits, cereals, eggs, and pancakes with trimmings, and of course, juice, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate, is served in the elegant blue dining room.

I highly recommend Antique Mansions as the perfect place to enjoy a winter weekend in Vermont.
The Bolands

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBolandCrossRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Beautiful historic house with a host of original features in a lovely setting. Welcoming and very helpful host. Very comfortable bed in a charming room. Clean, characterful and pretty bathroom. Good cooked breakfast. Good access to Rutland centre restaurants, and to adjacent country club restaurant. Rural location - be warned that the house is set back with its entrance on Field Avenue right at the junction with Grove Street, and is easy to miss at night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vera cordialità del Vermont. True Vermont cordiality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinafure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallie G, Owner at Antique Mansion B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutland
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
2.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
19.5 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
5.2 mi away
The Vermont Inn
The Vermont Inn
#2 of 3 in Mendon
224 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antique Mansion B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antique Mansion B&B

Address: 85 Field Ave, Rutland, VT 05701-2334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rutland
Price Range: $109 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique Mansion B&B is a classic Bed and Breakfast operating in an Italianate Victorian mansion in the central Vermont city of Rutland, Vermont. Rooms are spacious and offer private bathrooms, WiFi, cable TV. Breakfast and parking are included in the price of an overnight stay. Peaceful, quiet ambiance on 4 scenic acres, yet just 1.4 miles from downtown Rutland which offers restaurants, the Paramount Theater, museums, spas, antiquing and historic attractions. Amtrak train station and Rutland Southern Vermont Regional Airport nearby. Easy walk to Rutland Country Club (restaurant and golf) and Pine Hill Park (mountain biking, hiking, ice skating). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing