We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best grilled salmon i ever tasted”
Review of Roots

Roots
Reserve with OpenTable
Roots is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 116 Restaurants in Rutland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Center St.
Transit: The Bus provides access from Killington and Castleton. For route information, please visit www.thebus.com.
Marly-le-Roi, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best grilled salmon i ever tasted”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wich is weird for a allround restaurant, even a organic-oriented one. But this dish was so tastefull !
Service was nice,
Dessert was just ok though.
Kinda expensive for the neighborhood.

That said, i definitely will go again !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loicbilliau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    90
    21
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Previous Reviews Spot On”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Once again, Tripadvisor comes through. Due to the the good reviews, we tried Roots when we stopped to spend the night in Rutland. Our food was uniformly excellent. We had a calamari appetizer and our meals were the salmon florentine, and the maple pork loin. The local sourcing of ingredients was appealing and the service was friendly. Highly recommend. Limited seating, so reservations recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickT_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had lunch here the other day. The fish tacos were very good! The tempeh sandwich was a little disappointing. Bland and dry.

The beer selection was good and I enjoyed the room! Bright and fun.

I'll be back for sure to try some other items.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Loved the eclectic menu at this small and friendly restaurant. We would stop by any time we pass though Rutland.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KnitNPurl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Roots Resto”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

While waiting to see The New Christy Minstrels in Rutland Vt. last week we were directed by locals to eat at Roots which , we were told, was the best in that town. While we had a great lunch of various salads and pastas the Minstrels themselves came in to eat!!
A very cosy ,clean and modern Resto with a light and reasonable fare for lunch. Would drive to Rutland again for the show which was outstanding as was Roots.
Worth the 530 K round trip.
Andrew Toeman

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roots also viewed

 

Been to Roots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing