We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roots

Roots
Reserve with OpenTable
Roots is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 116 Restaurants in Rutland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Center St.
Transit: The Bus provides access from Killington and Castleton. For route information, please visit www.thebus.com.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Weekend getaway with my girlfriend, was recommended this restaurant and it was excellent, food was great n fresh, recommend highly, u will not be disappointed at all.....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwin1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    85
    21
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amherst MA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“All natural and all-tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Roots proves that great food can come from local sources, cooked without preservatives, and in a relaxed but still going-out-to-dinner atmosphere. I was in town on business and was thrilled to discover this gem. Our server was excellent, the menu varied and appealing, and the atmosphere was just right. Price was reasonable, and the wine list offered a considerable number of choices. My only complaint is that I wish they would branch out to other New England towns!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SWhitbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very good for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Awesome offerings with food from local farmers. Friendly staff. Quaint atmosphere. I really emjoyed the strawberry margarita made with fresh strawberries. The goat cheese burger was awesome!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank L E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondack, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious, local food and very accomodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The food was delicious. My son's grilled cheese was the best grilled cheese I have ever had. With local cheese and bread, you cannot beat that.

My husband was planning on meeting his mother there for dinner and my son and I tagged along to surprise my mother-in-law. The staff was very accommodating by giving us a table for 4 after my mother-in-law had been seated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adkgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Real food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Lots of choices for vegetarians. Love that they use fresh, local ingredients. Very creative and imaginative dishes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaygee680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing