We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and tasty food with excellent friendly service”
Review of Roots

Roots
Reserve with OpenTable
Roots is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 116 Restaurants in Rutland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Center St.
Transit: The Bus provides access from Killington and Castleton. For route information, please visit www.thebus.com.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty food with excellent friendly service”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

If you are going on a weekend night, make reservations. This place is small and popular! Our daughter took us there after she had discovered it herself. We cannot wait to go back when we visit again next month.

Dishes are presented in a fun and appealing manner. Everything is fresh and delightful. Our waitress "Kerry"? was energetic and well versed on all of the dishes.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brposada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    88
    21
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great discovery in Rutland VT”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This week we made a great discovery, roots restaurant in rutland vt. my wife and i visited it twice this week and taking also out my friend paul z. who runs a 5 star hotel in mass and he is also a real foody.... all of us were very impressed by the quality of the food, the creative menue and good solid service . they also have a fine selective wine list, and overall really moderately priced. we highly recommend this new spot.

manfred esser, napa valley ca


MANFRED ESSER, NAPA VALLEY CA

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank manfredesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to eat in New England”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Came on recommendation of family. We will return again and again! Turkey, Apple & Cranberry sandwich/wrap is to die for. Risotto cheese appetizer is accompanied by an exquisite tomato basil sauce and sure to please. Come hungry, let the staff dote on you, and leave satisfied everytime.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bpinetop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Ct.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small and Spectacular”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

A newcomer on the Rutland/Killington, Vermont restaurant scene, this is a small (~40 seats, including the bar), locally sourced, "farm-to-table" type restaurant. Absolutely outstanding. Fresh, inventive and great portion sizes, including the appetizers. The chicken dumpling apps. were wonderful. The bread is homemade (most everything is in this restaurant) and the salads were terrific. We had a scallop spinach and grilled ceaser before a stuffed chicken and pan roasted halibut. Yum. All desserts are homemade, too. We sat at the bar and after listening to Carrie, the bartender, proclaim the excellence of the secret-recipe cheesecake, we had to share a slice. Wow. Better than Junior's from NYC! Definitely a worthy visit if you're leaf peeping or skiing in the Central Vermont area.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnFarmingtonCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Locally sourced and delicious food!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This restaurant is relatively new to the scene in Rutalnd. We dined here twice in August and both times enjoyed great conversation with the bar tender, delicious specialty drinks made from fresh fruits, vegetables & herbs (the cucumber basil martini - yum!) and fresh foods well prepared.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CTTraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing