We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Service beyond!”

Johnny Boy's Pancake House
Ranked #8 of 116 Restaurants in Rutland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“WOW! Service beyond!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

As we live right here in Rutland, VT where Johnny Boy's is located, it is super hard to make a review even better. Well, that just happened last weekend. As we usually go here at least 2 times a month, and basically have the samething (his corned beef hash is to die for, as is his Marscapone/Amaretto/fresh strawberry french toast) you cannot go wrong. But this day, my hubby decided he wanted something 'DIFFERENT' from his 2 eggs over easy, hash browns, sausage patties, side of corned beef hash, and toast. So, he asked our waitress...."Can I have an omlette, with bacon, churrico (spl), sausage, 3 cheeses, etc". She said "Sure, I'll let Johnny know". Well, that HUGE omlette was AMAZING!!! As I had my usual 'Amaretto/marscapone/french toast', I did have QUITE a few bites of my hubby's new omlette. Wow, it was amazing. You could taste the applewood smoked bacon, and each of the wonderful flavors Johnny put into that dish. Yet, not one piece of that dish overpowered the other~~they ALL melded into delish!! Johnny later came by to ask how my hubby liked the dish, as he KNOWS his customer's and when someone goes off the 'grid' on something new, he likes to hear. Johnny was proud that my hubby LOVED IT, and especially that I TOO , had quite a few bites as I AM the FRENCH TOAST GIRL!! Again, a great place, incredible food, and wonderful staff who will delight your palete. And, ESPECIALLY a CHEF , who , as Johnny said ....."I WILL MAKE YOU ANYTHING YOU WANT~~NAME IT, I CAN DO IT!" :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBQLuvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    24
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The food here was amazing. On our next trip to VT we will be going back here. I had amaretto strawberry french toast with mascarpone cheese. Need I say more. Fantastic.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Good”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Huge portions, really pretty interior - cozy and unique, friendly service, honest service, very inexpensive! Food was incredible, so fresh and wholesome and good. Tons of variety - will please everyone. Meals were between $4 and $12 maximum. ONLY complaint was slow on coffee, and as a high coffee drinker this was excuciating, they were so kind and polite I didnt want to complain!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelissAnnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Not sure what the other review was talking about. We ate here three out of four mornings that we were skiing at Killington. The portions are huge, and the food quality is good. I took home leftovers, there was so much food. Creative pancake options like cranberry walnut, coconut chocolate chip, etc. We also enjoyed hearty omelets and perfect home fries. We had the same waiter every day; he memorized our drink order. We went to the location closest to Killington resort, not Rultand. Prices were in line with everything else in the area. The decor is pleasant and we were served quickly. It's a good choice; you won't be sorry.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aggy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, VT
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Variety...variety...variety”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I brought my brother and sister-in-law for breakfast on Sunday morning. The parking lot was full. We were greeting by a hostess and given our menus with two sheets of specials. As I said above..."variety." I tried the Mexican scramble. It had just the right spicy kick. The plate was piled high with food that came out promptly after ordering.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VT_Diner871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Boy's Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Johnny Boy's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing