We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Venue Big Taste”
Review of Tokyo House

Tokyo House
Ranked #28 of 116 Restaurants in Rutland
Price range: $10 - $42
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Rutland, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small Venue Big Taste”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Recently wanted something quick and fresh and Sushi came to mind. We have always enjoyed their menu and their more then friendly staff. One of their major advantage is its small venue so service is quick and you are not overwhelmed by noisy customers. For a quick lunch i do recommend the Tokyo House.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good Sushi place in Rutland!? YES!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I tried this place about 3-4 years ago when we first moved here. At that time we were not impressed at all... We have had many delicious sushi/maki rolls in many different cities and are quite "picky" based on those fantastic experiences. One of our biggest complaints is when places put "Crabmeat" in their special rolls and it ends up being imitation crab meat. That, was one of the things that we disliked among the fact that it was just an unforgettable experience.

That being said, I recently looked at the reviews and was surprised to see so many positive ones. SO we gave it another chance. We are so glad we did. We had the Dynamite Roll and the King Crab Surprise (take out). Both were delicious in their own way. The Dynamite had many different flavors that melded together perfectly. It had the PERFECT amount of spice and sweetness from the sauces and the fish was fresh tasting. The King crab Surprise was REAL crabmeat with a blend of panko and spicy mayo... all of this was blended wonderfully to allow for the flavor of the crab meat to come through but provide some other layers of texture and flavor. Both of the rolls left us desiring more and I will most certainly return. The next test is to see if they are consistent in replicating the rolls on other occasions.

All in all, we are quite excited by the prospect of delicious sushi in Rutland of all places!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craf3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poultney, vt
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty Japanese Lunch”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This Japanese restaurant run by Chinese in Rutland, Vermont never disappoints. The nasu ( miso glazed eggplant) is wonderful and the Beef Negimaki Bento Box was tasty too. The beef negimake was crisp on the outside and juicy inside. The gyoza were good. My husband had salmon steaks which were delicious. Did I mention the sauces were distinct and tasty. Yes, the service is a bit slow but a friendly smile and the wave of an arm quickly brought the waitress to our table. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbkPoultney_Vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummy sushi!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It is a great place to eat sushi and Japanese. We have been enjoying the food for the past few years. There are not too many places for sushi in the area, but fortunately this is an excellent choice. Our friends who don’t eat sushi have been very satisfied with the other Japanese choices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rudy19771982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Clarendon, Vermont, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

First time customer and will be returning very soon. Was curious to see how their sushi was and was pleasantly surprised to find such fresh Sushi in such a small town. They also had a nice menu from their kitchen if you don't care for Sushi. Bento boxes are priced reasonably, the spring rolls and pork dumplings were great as well. Staff was all Japanese and provided excellent service. Guess I don't have to Drive to Lake George or Burlington anymore unless you want hibachi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo House also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing