We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better.”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived around 4pm, the same time as 2 bus groups arrived. The staff handled the chaos calmly and mostly efficiently. The desk clerk, Praveen, advised us that the non-smoking room with one queen bed was not available and she didn't understand why our reservation, made 2 weeks before, was even confirmed, as those rooms had already been booked. She advised all she had left was a smoking roome with 2 queen beds and asked that we check it out to see if it was okay. We went to the room and it didn't have any noticeable cigarette smell, so we told her it would be okay. She offered a scented candle if we needed it. It wasn't until we settled in to sleep that the cigarette smell was noticed in the pillows. Since it was late, we didn't bother to ask for different ones. Our night clothes reeked of the smell the next day. Another issue was a lack of electrical outlets for plugging in our laptop at the table. We had to sit on the bed, since that was the only outlet available. This location appears to be in a transition and needs to be updated in many areas. The carpeting in the hall was stretched out and there were many ripples that could have caused tripping. Not good considering the number of senior citizens that were staying there that night. I work in the hotel industry and understand the problems that can occur, but that was one that should never occur.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank REBECCA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 263 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

First off, all the staff were friendly and pleasant. The hotel however, is in needed of renovation, as the curtains and carpet were very stained, and the room was moldy smelling. The walls are obviously poorly insulated as it was very noisy; you could hear others in their rooms, the hall and even outside. The breakfast was good, with all the basics. Housekeeping was minimal; there was a sticky substance on the end table for the entire week I was there, and one day I spilled some sand in the bathroom- it was still there that evening after the room was "cleaned".

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candlewick44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Don't stay here! What a smelly feces hole! Just gross and filthy,rude employees...sleep in your car really! Stains all over the mattresses and pillows,bugs everywhere,stains all over the carpets ,noises all night...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avrutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Dont come to rutland on columbus day weekend if you are working, ramada was 196 for a queen bed no fridge or microwave and the room was clean ,sheets a little thin ,Breakfast how ever was good eggs weren't microwaved , coffee fresh and had a good selection

Room Tip: room was not worth what we paid but was cheaper than driving another 100 miles to find something els...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Better than we expected. We expected a refrigerator, wifi, and a comfortable bed. In addition we got helpful staff and and better than average breakfast. I'm on a gluten free diet, so I appreciated the fruit and eggs!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Suzham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at this motel because it was getting late and they were looking for a pet friendly option. We haven't brought our dog along with us before and we didn't know what kind of accommodations were available for pets. When I asked the clerk about pets he said it was a $25 additional nonrefundable fee. We asked to see the room and he brought us down the hall, stop, took a phone call, and a few minutes later came back and opened the door so we could see the room. Room was dingy and the rug was filthy. The bathroom counter Had dig marks and scratches, the paint in the bathroom ceilings peeling and the fixtures were rusty. My surprise, my wife said this would be okay for the night. After checking in our small dog was Kept trying to exit into the hallway, where the rug was full of spots and stains and very grungy. I will add that I had checked the trip advisor reviews and although they were fairly poor we decided we'd make the best of it. We slept okay but in the morning we woke up with bug bites from God knows what. I don't know if it was bedbug but we hardly brought any of our possessions in to Minimize the potential for bringing any thing from the hotel with us. Since that they day our small dog has been sick and we had to cut our vacation short. I have no idea if it was due to anything in this room, it could be a Coincidence. We had the dog to the vet today and he cannot diagnose the problem, he says he never saw anything like it. I'm not saying the sickness of my dog is due to this motel, we don't know that. Our dog is also very clean dog, but she was covered in fleas after this night. She has been bathed and deflead since we got home and I don't know whether the fleas came from the room or from the grassy area outside. However, we truly regret this poor decision to stay here on our part which we made in spite of the obvious visual Clues which should have warned us to stay away. There were ants on the bathroom floor as well But we didn't notice them until the morning. I will say the wait staff was friendly and I don't know what conditions they are working under. I worked in a motel many years ago and I know you have to make the best of whatever the management provide you. In short, Stay away. Some of the reviews have a reply from the hotel manager saying that this place is under renovation. We stayed on the first floor and I can assure you that as of this date there is no evidence that any renovation is underway on the first floor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank WAYNE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

When we finally got to our room after being told it was overbooked, the room reeked of cigarette smokeand there were over 20 flies on the ceiling and walls. The tv didn't turn on at all. When I checked the outlet, only one of the two outlets worked.And the door to the patio did not lock unless you used the bar. So I had to unplug the lamp to get the tv to work and vice versa. Since it was a sporting event, all of the other hotels were booked. Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank CHANCE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rutland hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 12 in Rutland
28 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 253 South Main Street, Rt. 4 and Rt. 7, Rutland, VT 05701-4755 (Formerly Ramada Limited of Rutland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range: $82 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn is an inexpensive hotel in Rutland that’s merely minutes away from the Paramount Theatre and Castleton State College. You’ll find plenty of other sites and activities nearby, some of which include: Wilson Castle, Lake Bomoseen, Quechee Gorge Pico & Okemo Mountains, and Green Mountain College. Visitors can easily get to Lake Champlain, and Rutland hotels also provide easy access to several eateries and cocktail lounges throughout the area. Our hotel offers business services, making it a common choice for both vacationing tourists and business travelers alike. Additional amenities at our pet-friendly Rutland quality hotel include: Free deluxe hot breakfast buffet, Free WiFi, and an Indoor heated pool. When you’re ready to settle in for the night, our spacious guest rooms feature standard amenities such as flat-screen TVs, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Your Q Bed features a comfortable, premium mattress and linens, a generous supply of fluffy pillows and a soft, plush blanket – because we know how much you value a good night’s sleep. Get your money’s worth at the Quality Inn. This Rutland, VT hotel offers the best hotel rates and the best amenities, too, so you can focus on the people and travel memories that really matter. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Of Rutland Hotel Rutland
Ramada Limited Rutland
Ramada Rutland
Rutland Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing