We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and Overpriced Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Stayed here for business as part of my loyalty to the holiday inn priority club. First room had a disgusting bug crawling around. The bathroom floors are dirty, the walls are dirty, the fixtures are dated. Nothing seemed clean, including the towels. Front desk moved me to a second room(had to downsize from a king to a double) and that room was dirty and dated. My guess is that no room in this hotel is clean. I would not recommend this for business travelers or families. It was motel-grade at best.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelProBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 473 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

What a wonderful family run hotel. Professional and experienced. Rooms are clean and a little older but it just doesn't matter here because the staff are truly wonderful. Breakfast buffet great. Located close to Lake Dunmore, covered bridges and ski resorts.

Overall a wonderful experience, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaBelbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

This is my first time in Rutland and will be in town for a few days, although probably not here at the Holiday.

The Holiday Inn is basicly Ok however there are a few issues I am not happy with.

The room smells like dogs. I found the window open upon arrival so i assume that they were trying to air the room out before the next guest.

Also the room phone did not work. No dial tone. I checked the connections but the phone is junk. Probably will not stay here tomorrow. Looking forward to returning home..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertroundabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We just returned from a week skiing in Killington - me, two of my sons and our dog. Stayed at the Holiday Inn in Rutland, about 20 minutes from the hill. From where I sit, a SMART move. Everything on Killington access road is really pricey (stupidly so), and there is little accommodation with as much to offer as the Holiday Inn! The pool/hot tub/fitness area were outstanding. Clean and lovely. The rooms were kept well, and the beds were extremely comfy! We had a little issue with our room, and the staff resolved it immediately, and bent over backwards to ensure we were happy. They were great at giving advice on places to eat (from a local perspective, which is better), and we were directed to two restaurants that were among the best we'd ever eaten at! We'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaraFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boogatz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2010

Marafrom Toronto - Thank you for the wonderful comments, we too enjoyed your company for the week and we look forward to you coming back for another visit. I will be sure to share your review with the rest of the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I have stayed here multiple times on trips to Okemo and Killington (largely because of my discounted rate). That being said, I find the hotel to be perfectly fine. The service has always been pleasant and helpful, the pool area is pretty nice, and the rooms are large and have microwaves and fridges. I've even stayed there when large groups of teen skiers have been there, and never had a problem. It isn't the Four Seasons, but it's the nicest place I've stayed in Rutland.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wondertrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington this past weekend and after reading some of the reviews I was a little hesitant. I found this hotel to not only meet my needs, but exceed them. The room was a good size, housing not only two double beds but a nice desk, small sitting area, mini-fridge, microwave and TV. A nicely thought out selection of goodies was available for a reasonably priced $1.25 each. The basket had everything from Poptarts to popcorn, even bottled water and candy bars. Not bad, and fairly inexpensive considering a bottle of water from the convenience store up the road was $1.45 when all the taxes and deposits were tacked on. The beds were firm, with a nice pillow top, sheets were clean and crisp. Bathroom was good sized and CLEAN! After seeing many hotels with crusty corners around the faucet and around the tub, it was a pleasant change. Free wifi was fantastic for work! The breakfast buffet was a great "free" perk for a business traveller and offered eggs, bacon, sausage, pastries, juices, fruit and coffee. The hostess was friendly and polite, dishes were cleared promptly. The indoor pool/hot tub/sauna and gym were an extra treat. The gym was open early and stayed open until 11 pm, same with the pool and hot tubs. During the day it was like having the whole place to yourself. Pool was clean and not overly chlorinated. Hot tub was just hot enough to soothe tired muscles. Overall, I could not have been happier with my stay from the convenience of the location to the amenties and the cleanliness of my room.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brtngrl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We returned to the Holiday Inn for 4 nights as part of a 2 week self-planned tour of New England. Booking was made through Virgin Holidays, and we had previously visited the hotel in 2000, so new what to expect, and wanted to again use it as a base for day trips around Vermont.

The hotel is located conveniently on the south side of Rutland, just of the highway. Next door is a small mall, including a supermarket for day provisions. The hotel does cater for coach tours, so can be busy at times, and also business conferences. But it is still a good family hotel, with a great indoor pool, 2 small jacuzzis, and a small fitness room ( some machines not working, but enough to burn some calories).

Reception were welcoming and efficient, much needed after a 280 mile drive, with free warm cider and cookies. The room was at the back of the hotel, quiet, with convenient free parking, although no lift to get the second floor. The room itself was very spacious, good bathroom and shower, a fridge, air-con, but no safe (free safe at reception if you want, although the corridors are secure as all external doors needed a pass card).

Wi-fi worked fine in the room.

The hotel's restaurant is friendly with a good selection, a good salad bar - we used it 2 nights, and also 2 breakfasts. Service was efficient, and the food was pretty good.

The pool is very good , just what we needed, about 15 meters in length, so you can swim lengths to keep fit, before relaxing in the jacuzzis.

We would stay again at this hotel, although for winter/skiing, I would suggest looking further east towards Killington.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rilasata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rutland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Rutland
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 12 in Rutland
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area

Address: 476 Holiday Drive, US Route 7 South, Rutland, VT 05701-4887
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range: $106 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Vermont, the Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington is centrally located with easy, scenic access to Vermont's many historical, cultural, shopping and recreational attractions. Our hotel and its friendly, experienced staff consistently earn the area's highest ratings for facilities and guest service. Winner of Rutland Herald's "Reader's Choice" favorite full service hotel, the Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington offers more facilities, services and amenities under one roof than any other local hotel. Plus convenient access to three of the east's best skiing and riding mountains, including Killington, Okemo and Pico. Here in Rutland, we offer the most complete hotel facilities and services in the region, all served up with that good old-fashioned country hospitality that makes you feel right at home. From a warm welcome to assistance with planning itineraries, we’re at your service 24 hours a day. Furthermore, the Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington offers you resort amenities like an indoor heated pool, whirlpools, fitness center, restaurant, lounge and conference center - to make your stay ideal. Whatever draws you to visit Vermont - a piece of history, a slice of Americana or a taste of the great outdoors, we invite you to sample the flavor of the region, with the Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington Hotel Rutland
Rutland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing