We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two beds=Two comfy chairs=a round table rather than a desk for one; overall A-OK!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
1 review
“Two beds=Two comfy chairs=a round table rather than a desk for one; overall A-OK!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our Inn Keeper, Lisa, was absolutely the BEST. We were tired and worn and hassled. She made us feel instantly relaxed and reassured. The next day she looked as refreshed as she did the day before and remembered us as we walked by for breakfast. After moving from across the street, we were in heaven!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlvahAlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear AlvahAlma, thank you kindly for your positive remarks on Lisa. She is a valued member of our team and has been acknowledged for your review. Im pleased to hear your needs were met and felt like you were "in heaven" during your stay. We value you and appreciate you business. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    118
    100
    48
    19
See reviews for
130
88
21
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Dec. 22-25. After staying the first night in room 151, my husband woke up with some red itchy bumps on both of his hands. We have traveled quite a bit, but never experienced bedbug problems before, so we weren’t sure if those were indeed bedbug bites. We informed the front desk, and they just told us that they will let the manager know. We had ski lessons planned for the day already, so we didn’t wait for the manager and nobody followed up with us after we came back at night. We stayed the 2nd night in room 151. The next morning while getting dressed, we saw a bedbug crawling on the comforter. When my husband killed it, it was full of fresh blood (yuck is right). Now we knew for sure there are bedbugs and requested a different room. They moved us to room 264. I don’t know if the hotel still has smoking rooms, but room 264 was absolutely a smoking room at one point. The smell in the hallway is worse than in the room. We again had ski lessons planned for the day, and they told us this was the only room with 2 double beds available at that time, so we had to move everything into room 264. Luckily when we came back that night, there is another non-smoking room available and we were able to move into room 246. This time the front desk person was honest and acknowledged there was a bedbug problem before at the hotel and they take it seriously.
After we came home, we were cautious and left all the luggage in the garage first. We did as the information we found online suggested and ran all clothing in the dryer at the highest temperature. While my husband was vacuuming the suitcase, he found a live bedbug inside. We had to throw away the suitcase immediately. We are still in the process of cleaning up the mess and PRAY this is the end of the bedbug nightmare.
To be fair, there are things I liked about this hotel. The beds were comfortable. The sheets and towels were white enough to show they are relatively new. The water pressure in the shower is good and there is space underneath the sink to put toiletry stuff. The swimming pool temperature is around 85, too hot to really swim, but perfect for kids to play in. There are two hot tubs, one was at 104 and one was at 95 the 1st day we were there. One was perfect for adults and the other good for the kids. Unfortunately both stopped working properly since the 2nd day and they weren’t fixed the rest of the time we stayed there. There is also a sauna room which worked fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LivingForTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear LivingForTravel,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. Unfortunately, your account settings do not allow us to send you a Private Message. You are welcome to reach out to our Guest Relations via email at HI-GuestRelations@ihg.com including reference to your Tripadvisor Account name so we can follow up on your experience.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rutland hotels

Kings Park, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel was probably nice 5 years ago. It needs renovations today. Be aware that this hotel is smoking and pet friendly.. I was not aware and my husband is highly allergic to animals so he was sick the entire time we were there. The way we found out they were animal friendly was the barking dog across the hall !! Hotel and restaurant staff were very hospitable and kind I'm sure they would have changed our room but i unpacked everything and we were in bed it was 11pm when the barking started. Then it started again at 6 am.

Room Tip: Be aware of animal rooms and smoking rooms. Dogs bark.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindao48001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a review for our hotel as its valuable information both for this property and for our future guests. As of December 1st 2012 this hotel completely smoke-free. I apologized for the pet nuisance and relieved to read staff offered a solution; although, i understand why you chose not to take advantage. Please know that we do offer a pet free wing, so in the future should you decide to stay with us, request this wing. Again, thank you for your response and we do hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Years ago this Holiday Inn was state of the art, now it's sad and in need of repair and updating. This was our third and last stay here. First the rooms are accessed through the pool area or back door entrances which on this stay were never locked. Our room smelled musty and the ceiling paint was flaking off. The bed was comfortable and my husband enjoyed the choice of firm or soft pillows but that was the highlight of the stay. The pool area was clean but the pool itself was cloudy and uninviting. Even the dining area with its multiple stained ceiling tiles was outdated. The buffet breakfast consisted of cold toast and eggs and overcooked pancakes with imitation maple syrup, a sin to serve in Vermont. If you are someone traveling on a limited budget and just need a place to sleep you may find this hotel okay. As for us there are enough quaint bed and breakfasts close by that we will not be back.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the first floor near the pool, too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scout11258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Scout11258,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased that the room you have stayed at lived up to your expectations. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the hotel conditions may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster england
Level Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just a one night stopover between places.Loads of traffic in this busy town.
Hotel room very large with comfy beds and all we required.Found it very strange to have to drag our luggage through the hotels swimming pool to get to our rooms.Restaurant had large portions at a reasonable cost with an included salad bar.Didn't like the area but hotel fine for a stopover.
Pleasant staff in all areas.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any rooms in the main block
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulineclifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very welcoming reception by cheerful staff. The room was big clean and comfy. Unfortunately the porter lost my suitcase transferring from the bus to the room and was disappointed that I was told they had checked another room but hadn't as the guest who checked in after me brought it down. Had they checked I would have had the suitcase 10 minutes after and not 1 1/2 hours after. Must say julie on reception was great. In fairness the manager was very apologetic and I was compensated with a free meal and drink. The food was lovely and overall it was a very pleasant stay. I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
267 reviews
246 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is wonderful.
Jackie and Lisa went above and above to take care of me.
The hotel is clean and well appointed. The lounge/restaurant area is nice.
I wish the bathroom counters were a bit bigger ... but, this would not keep me from staying again.
The staff go above and beyond!
Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eulalia_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rutland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
4.0 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Rutland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 12 in Rutland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington

Property: Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington
Address: 476 Holiday Dr, US Route 7 South, Rutland, VT 05701-4887
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington Hotel. Ideally situated on Route 7 in Rutland, Vermont, minutes from downtown, the Holiday Inn affords you the convenience of a short drive to Vermont's most popular attractions such as ski areas Killington, Pico and Okemo, Manchester Center, Adams Farm, Vermont Marble Exhibit, New England Maple Museum, and historic villages like Rutland, Woodstock and Weston, just to name a few. If you are planning a meeting, wedding, motor coach tour, reunion or other gathering, the Conference Center is perfect for groups from 20 to 400. Our hotel banquet and catering staff's outstanding service & attention to detail, makes us a favorite in the Rutland area. For breakfast, lunch or dinner, Paynter's Restaurant offers an extensive menu for any appetite in a casual atmosphere where Kids Eat Free. Centre Stage Lounge serves a variety of fare and boasts 5 TV's so your are guaranteed not to miss a sports game. When you're away from home, you can continue your exercise regime in the Rutland hotel s Fitness Club, complete with Paramount equipment. Unwind in our indoor heated pool, two whirlpools and sauna and enjoy poolside refreshments and light dining or relax by the fireplace in the hotel lobby and take advantage of our complimentary high-speed wireless internet or business center. Businesses near the hotel: GE, OMYA, STO Corp, Carris Reels, Casella, Kalow Technologies, Killington, Okemo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington Hotel Rutland
Rutland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing