We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel -- restaurant needs a boost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice hotel -- restaurant needs a boost”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Rutland, Vermont, two nights over the Labor Day weekend. I selected this hotel because of the location and its proximity to the Vermont State Fair in downtown Rutland, as well as the hotel amenities (particularly the heated indoor pool). The hotel itself is very easy to find and is on the main drag just on the outskirts of town. There is a light at the intersection so it's an easy in/out from the parking lot to the four-lane highway in either direction. It is self-parking and there was plenty of parking all around the hotel -- no worries there (I even saw trucks with trailers attached and there was still plenty of parking available.) Check-in was easy and they greeted me as a preferred member with my point total, although other hotels have also offered a bottle of water and/or a snack at check-in, which this hotel did not do. The room was on the first floor just down the hall from the lobby and it was clean, the A/C worked great, flat screen tv, plenty of towels and washclothes, and there was an unexpected door out to a courtyard with a table and two chairs. It felt a little "exposed" to sit there so we did not use this feature, but it was there if we wanted it (and one of our neighbors had his coffee and read his paper there in the morning. The facility is non-smoking. The room was cleaned adequately the next morning, although the toiletries were not replaced and we ran out of shampoo the third and final day there (we were using the pool in the evening so we showered after the pool and again in the morning -- with only one small shampoo bottle for 2 people over 3 days). We had another bottle that we brought with us, so no big deal and I'm sure if we called housekeeping they would have gladly replaced. We used the pool two of the three days we were there and it was very nice....not a tiny little rectangle like some hotel changes. There were two hot tubs and the pool was genuinely warm/heated and my 6 yr old and I had a great time swimming and splashing around. Definitely a plus.

The downside to this hotel is the restaurant. We were there on a Friday night at 8 pm and we were literally the only people in the restaurant for about 30 minutes until another couple showed up. I ordered the appetizer sampler and it was mediocre at best. The salad bar was fresh and adequate but lacked choice. My 6 yr old had mac-n-cheese that was straight out of the box with a side of overcooked vegetables that consisted mainly of squash with a couple of pieces of broccoli (good thing she ordered a salad also). The "free" breakfast is served from 6:30 - 9:30 am and after 9:30 you can still order breakfast but you have to pay and order off the menu, which seems unusually early for a "free breakfast" hotel. The first morning, we did not eat breakfast from the hotel, but the second morning we did (which made me appreciate that we skipped it the first morning). The "free" breakfast consisted of a pan of scrambled eggs (which were good, hot, fresh) and a pan of pancakes (which were a bit tough and thick, but also fresh -- they had maple syrup but no butter), a "serve yourself" large pot of coffee with to-go lids, cereal and whole/skim milk. That's it. No bacon or sausage, no juices, no toast, no yogurt, no muffins or danish......the standards of every hotel "free" breakfast I have ever seen were completely missing. Many of the patrons mentioned this and the wait staff was clearly frustrated that they were not able to offer the standard items...I'm sure it effected their tips as well, which will in turn impact service, which will turn off customers even more -- a vicious cycle. The food that was in the breakfast buffet was ok/good -- just lacking many elements in what I assume is an attempt in a down economy to save money by the owners. This is a good hotel on many many levels, and I hope they address the restaurant issues before they start a business death spiral. I would give this place another shot because the room and pool were good, the location was just right, and the staff was very friendly (especially front desk -- very helpful with directions and info) ------ but I would likely eat/drink elsewhere unless some significant changes were made. They have the space and set up for a nice restaurant, but for some reason they are not making the most of this. A revamped menu and maybe some entertainment in the bar on a Friday/Saturday night would really help this place in my very humble opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a walk-out patio if that is appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommylonglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    114
    98
    48
    19
See reviews for
125
86
21
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Everything was great! Service, the food, the room, and the help at the front desk was great too! The only complaint I had was the fan in the celing in the bathroom didn't work and no elevators. The buffet breakfast was excellent too! I cant say enough about the limo service guy to and from the town of Rutland.He was on time and very personable and gave us insights to the town in general.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 1st floor because there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our room was clean, extremely large, and the bed was comfortable. We reserved the room through Hotwire, and for the price we paid, we were very happy with what we received. It is not a 4 star hotel, but quite satisfactory for what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSVinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

For a branded hotel, this place was a disappointment! When I got to my room there were 5 or six hairs in the tub like it hadn't been cleaned at all. The second day there was a huge ant in the tub crawling around. The third day a spider on the shower curtains. I would place my used linens on the tub and every day, housekeeping would ignore the growing pile. After about 4 days of piled up towels and washcloths not removed, I put them on the floor and finally they took them away! I've never seen anything quite like it!

Super good breakfast though with big dining room. I never tried the restaurant for dinner, but it's probably decent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johynnyrovno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Johynnyrovno,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced due to the condition in which you found your room. We appreciate the feedback we receive as it is crucial to improve the products and services we offer. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at this property for 1 night while traveling thru Rutland Vt. Very friendly front desk staff and motorcycle friendly property. We were offered to put bikes under front entrance covered area due to possiblity of rain. Restaurant and bar on the property. Restaurant is avg, nice bar area. Clean room, however room did have a small musty odor, so if you have allergy issues be sure to check room before accepting. Reasonable price, fridge and microwave in room. Bed is comfortable. Very good breakfast buffet. There is no elevator, so request 1st floor if you have lots of luggage or mobility issues. Overall, nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nctravelerharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband's father was very ill and passed away at a hospice facility in Rutland. We stayed at this holiday inn for a week. The staff was very nice and the room was stocked with a refrigerator, microwave, and small coffee pot and a sofa that made into another bed. (the coffee in the room was terrible) The room and bed were very comfortable. The cleaning staff very helpful. The coffee and the buffet breakfast (which was included in our rate) very nice. Oh yes, there was a large indoor pool and hot tub and a small patio outside with a nice little garden. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: our room was on the first floor, beware there is no elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janaroo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans,ON
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We again stayed here for a long weekend outing in the summer.
Very friendly personell all around.
Nice clean large room.
Excellent Buffet breakfast.
IF ON THEY HAD AN ELEVATOR.
Hard to get luggage upstairs.
Great driving location.
Super easy check in and out.
Reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Remember the missing elevator. Be a member of the priority club for easy upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchy 1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rutland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Rutland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 12 in Rutland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington

Property: Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington
Address: 476 Holiday Dr, US Route 7 South, Rutland, VT 05701-4887
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington Hotel. Ideally situated on Route 7 in Rutland, Vermont, minutes from downtown, the Holiday Inn affords you the convenience of a short drive to Vermont's most popular attractions such as ski areas Killington, Pico and Okemo, Manchester Center, Adams Farm, Vermont Marble Exhibit, New England Maple Museum, and historic villages like Rutland, Woodstock and Weston, just to name a few. If you are planning a meeting, wedding, motor coach tour, reunion or other gathering, the Conference Center is perfect for groups from 20 to 400. Our hotel banquet and catering staff's outstanding service & attention to detail, makes us a favorite in the Rutland area. For breakfast, lunch or dinner, Paynter's Restaurant offers an extensive menu for any appetite in a casual atmosphere where Kids Eat Free. Centre Stage Lounge serves a variety of fare and boasts 5 TV's so your are guaranteed not to miss a sports game. When you're away from home, you can continue your exercise regime in the Rutland hotel s Fitness Club, complete with Paramount equipment. Unwind in our indoor heated pool, two whirlpools and sauna and enjoy poolside refreshments and light dining or relax by the fireplace in the hotel lobby and take advantage of our complimentary high-speed wireless internet or business center. Businesses near the hotel: GE, OMYA, STO Corp, Carris Reels, Casella, Kalow Technologies, Killington, Okemo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington Hotel Rutland
Rutland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing